Skip to content
Comparison

Luminous vs Havells Solar Inverter 2026: Honest Comparison for Indian Homes

Luminous vs Havells solar inverter compared on range, efficiency, warranty, service, and 2026 prices. Honest verdict for Indian homes, plus a third option.

Nirav Dhanani
Nirav Dhanani CEO
July 23, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 17 min read

Qbits warranty and service terms: Qbits’ public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline, service response time, or exclusions. Obtain the current written terms for the exact model and sale before relying on a headline claim.

Luminous and Havells are two of the most trusted names in Indian electricals. Both sit in millions of Indian homes already, one through home inverters and batteries, the other through switchgear, fans, and wiring. So when a family in Jaipur or Coimbatore shortlists a solar inverter, these two brands come up almost automatically. Often the same electrician who wired the house suggests them.

But brand trust in one category does not transfer cleanly to another. Solar inverters are not switchgear. They are power electronics that sit on your roof for many years and handle Indian summers. They also sit inside the process that releases your PM Surya Ghar subsidy. The right question is not which brand you recognise. It is which product line, warranty, and service model fits your specific home.

If you are still deciding between on-grid, hybrid, and off-grid topologies, read the on-grid vs hybrid vs off-grid decision guide first. This post assumes you have shortlisted these two brands and want the documents side by side. Every figure below is copied from a Luminous or Havells page or datasheet that was open on 14 October 2026, with the source named. Where a page does not state a figure, the table says so.

Two brands, two backgrounds

Luminous built its name on home inverters and batteries. Its inverters are made by Luminous Power Technologies Pvt. Ltd., which its product pages name as manufacturer and marketer, with plants in Himachal Pradesh. Havells built its name on switchgear, wiring, fans and appliances. Its solar grid-tie catalogue (Havells Solar Grid-Tie Inverter, 1 kW to 350 kW) is a grid-tie range, and the catalogue reviewed lists no battery or hybrid inverter.

That difference explains why the two lines are comparable only on grid-tie. If battery backup is on your list, the grid-tie models below do not provide it, and the comparison moves to hybrid models from whichever brand you shortlist. The hybrid buying guide covers the framework.

Product ranges as published

Luminous. The Luminous India site lists the NXI 150 (5 kW, single phase, on-grid) and the NXI T150 (5 kW, single phase, on-grid), with 3 kW and 10 kW variants shown on the NXI T150 page and a capacity selector that also lists three-phase variants. Both pages describe MPPT technology and remote monitoring.

Havells. The Havells grid-tie catalogue covers the Enviro GTi NG single-phase single-MPPT models (1.1, 2.2, 3.0 and 3.3 kW), the Enviro GTi D dual-MPPT single-phase models (4, 5 and 6 kW), D-NG variants, three-phase TX models from 5 kW, and larger commercial models up to 350 kW. Havells’ solar page also lists packaged GREEHA residential kits at 3.3 kW and 5 kW.

Matched 5 kW specification comparison

Matched 5 kW grid-tie specifications as published by Luminous and Havells, read 14 October 2026
ItemLuminous NXI 150Luminous NXI T150Havells Enviro GTi 5000 D-NG
Rated output / phase5 kW, single phase5 kW, single phase5,000 W, single phase
MPPT trackersNot stated on the pageNot stated on the page2, one input each
DC voltage range / maximum DCNot statedNot statedMPPT 80 to 550 V; maximum 600 V; start-up 90 V
Current per trackerNot statedNot stated15 A (short-circuit 22.5 A)
Maximum apparent powerNot statedNot stated5,500 VA
Grid voltage rangeNot statedNot stated180 to 276 Vac (according to local standard)
Current THDNot statedNot statedbelow 3%
Maximum efficiencyThe page states both “up to 98.6%” and “up to 97.6%“up to 98.4%98.4% (European 97.5%)
MPPT efficiency99.5%above 99.9%above 99.9%
EnclosureIP66IP65IP65
Weight8.9 kg7 kg10 kg
Operating temperature-25 to 60 °C-25 to 60 °C-30 to +60 °C
MonitoringDisplay; optional RS485, GSM or Wi-FiDisplay; Wi-Fi, RS485, GPRS; ConnectX appLCD; RS485 and USB, optional Wi-Fi or GPRS
Export limitingNot statedNot statedZero export or adjustable limit listed on the single-phase D series
Warranty on the page”8 years standard + 2 years extended”10 years10 years
Certification printedNone listed on the pageNone listed on the pageIS 16221 (Part 2), IS 16169 and IEC 62109/62116 lines; BIS registration number printed in the catalogue

Sources: Luminous NXI 150 product page and NXI T150 product page; Havells Solar Grid-Tie Inverter catalogue and the Havells solar page. Havells’ printed catalogue can lag its website, so ask for the current datasheet revision for your model.

Reading the table

What is missing matters. The Havells catalogue publishes the electrical window and current limits you need to check a string. The Luminous product pages reviewed do not. That does not mean the Luminous model lacks them. It means a buyer cannot design a string from the web page alone, and should ask the supplier for the datasheet for the exact variant before comparing voltage windows. Resellers list different figures for the NXI 150, and some describe other versions of the product, so use the manufacturer’s document, not a reseller’s.

Efficiency. The Luminous NXI 150 page contradicts itself on maximum efficiency (98.6% in the description, 97.6% in a bullet). Ask which figure belongs to the unit supplied, and under which test conditions. A difference of a few tenths of a percentage point is small compared with string design, shading and clipping.

Enclosure. The Luminous NXI 150 page lists IP66, and the NXI T150 and the Havells D-NG list IP65. IP66 withstands powerful water jets. For a covered wall mount it may not matter. For an exposed or coastal roof, read the exact model’s rating. The IP65 vs IP66 guide explains the difference.

Warranty. The Havells catalogue prints 10 years on the Enviro GTi datasheets reviewed. The Luminous NXI 150 page states “8 years standard + 2 years extended”, and the NXI T150 page states 10 years. Several resellers describe other terms, so treat the written warranty for your SKU as the only binding figure.

Printed MRP is not a price

A printed MRP on a manufacturer’s page says little about what you pay.

A listed price on an online page can change, and neither it nor an MRP is an installed quote. The Havells pages reviewed show no inverter price.

For a real comparison, ask two installers for itemised quotes on identical scope: the same array, mounting, cabling, protection, monitoring, DISCOM application and commissioning, with exclusions written out. The inverter is one line item in a full system, and the full system price guide explains the rest of the bill of materials. GST on solar equipment moved to 5% for the specified items from 22 September 2025, so confirm how your installer has classified a composite supply.

Warranty and service

A solar inverter is a long-life asset and the warranty is your recourse, so read the terms and not just the years. Neither the Luminous pages nor the Havells catalogue states, in the documents reviewed, the remedy (repair or replacement), who pays freight and labour, the registration deadline or the exclusions. Ask each seller for the document that names them.

On service, this page makes no claim about which brand reaches smaller towns faster, because no published document supports a ranking. What you can do is ask each seller for the named service partner for your pincode, call that partner, and ask what they stock and what their recent turnaround on the exact model has been. A brand’s wider electrical or battery business is not the same thing as a solar service route. Whichever brand you pick, put the model, serial number, invoice, commissioning date and the first month’s generation record in one handover file, because the warranty claim guide shows these are the documents a claim asks for first.

Hybrid and backup

The grid-tie models above shut down in a grid outage. If you want outage backup, you need a hybrid inverter or a separate backup arrangement, and the right choice depends on the battery. Hybrid models differ in battery voltage class and in backup rating, for example a low-voltage 48 V class battery against a high-voltage battery with a 600 V class window, so decide the battery first. The battery sizing guide starts from your loads. For hybrid datasheets from other brands, see the Growatt review and the Sungrow vs Growatt comparison.

ALMM and subsidy

MNRE’s ALMM page lists PV modules and cells, not inverters, so “ALMM-listed inverter” is not a valid claim for either brand. For the subsidy, use the current official portal and DISCOM process for the applicant, verify the module and cell requirements, and check the exact inverter’s BIS registration and certificates separately. The PM Surya Ghar subsidy guide explains what to confirm before relying on an amount.

Which to choose when

These are starting points. The documents for your exact model and the service route for your pincode override them.

  • You want the full electrical datasheet before you decide. Havells publishes it in its grid-tie catalogue. For Luminous, ask for the datasheet for the exact variant first.
  • A long printed warranty line matters to you. Havells prints 10 years on the datasheets reviewed, and Luminous prints 10 years on the NXI T150 page and “8 plus 2” on the NXI 150 page. Compare the written terms for remedy and start date before the years.
  • An exposed or coastal roof. The Luminous NXI 150 page lists IP66, and the other two models list IP65. Check the exact model and its corrosion protection.
  • A split-orientation roof. The Havells D-NG model lists two independent trackers. Confirm the tracker count of the Luminous model in writing.
  • Battery backup now or soon. Neither brand’s grid-tie model gives it. Compare hybrid models, with the battery first.
  • A small town with no obvious solar installer. Settle the named service partner before you pick any brand.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing warranty years and ignoring the remedy, start date and exclusions.
  • Reading a printed MRP as a price.
  • Choosing a topology by brand. A grid-tie unit in a district with long daily outages saves nothing at night.
  • Taking a reseller’s figures for a model instead of the manufacturer’s datasheet.
  • Assuming an inverter is ALMM listed.

For other pairings see Luminous vs Microtek and UTL vs Luminous, and for the wider Indian brand field the best Indian solar inverter brands guide.

Where Qbits fits as a third datasheet

Qbits is the brand that publishes this page, so read this section with that in mind. The facts are checkable. For the same 5 kW single-phase class, the Qbits QB-5KTLD datasheet lists two MPPTs with one string each, an 80 to 550 V MPPT range, 550 V maximum DC input, 20 A per tracker, 5,000 W rated output with 5.5 kVA maximum, a 160 to 270 Vac adjustable grid range, current THD below 2% at rated power, 98.1% maximum efficiency and IP66. Qbits’ public datasheets do not define a base warranty term, so obtain the written warranty for the exact model, as you would for any brand.

  • On-grid inverters: the Qbits grid-tie families from 1.5 kW upward, with datasheets in the download library.
  • Hybrid inverters: review current QBH model documents and confirm the exact battery, firmware, PV, backup-output, transfer, communication, warranty and project requirements in writing.
  • Service: obtain the current written warranty, claim route, response process and local responsibility for the exact model and sale.

Your next steps

Qbits models

Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.

Browse all on-grid inverters →

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better, Luminous or Havells solar inverter?
Neither brand is universally better, and the answer depends on the exact model and your site. In the 5 kW grid-tie class the Havells catalogue publishes the full electrical datasheet (two MPPTs, 80 to 550 V window, 15 A per tracker, 10-year warranty line), while the Luminous product pages state the warranty, enclosure and efficiency claims but not the MPPT count or DC voltage range. Ask for the datasheet for the exact Luminous variant before comparing.
What warranty do Luminous and Havells offer on solar inverters?
Havells prints 10 years on its Enviro GTi grid-tie datasheets. The Luminous NXI 150 page states 8 years standard plus 2 years extended, and the NXI T150 page states 10 years. Resellers quote other terms, so treat the written warranty for your exact model as binding. The years are only one clause: ask whether the remedy is repair or replacement, when the clock starts, and who pays freight and labour.
What is the price of a Havells or Luminous 5 kW solar inverter in India in 2026?
A printed MRP is not a price. On 14 October 2026 the Luminous pages showed an MRP of Rs 1,12,000 against a listed price of Rs 36,599 for the NXI 150, and the Havells pages reviewed showed no inverter price. These are inverter-only figures and neither is an installed quote. Get itemised quotes from two installers on identical scope.
Do Luminous and Havells make hybrid solar inverters?
The Havells grid-tie catalogue reviewed lists no battery or hybrid inverter, and the two Luminous NXI pages reviewed are grid-tie models. If you want outage backup, compare hybrid models from whichever brand you shortlist, deciding the battery voltage class first, and obtain the written battery compatibility document for the exact inverter and battery.
Are Luminous and Havells solar inverters ALMM listed?
No inverter is, because ALMM publishes module (List-I) and cell (List-II) lists only. Neither brand's inverter pages reviewed claim an ALMM listing. For your quote, check the proposed module and cell models against the MNRE lists, and separately ask for each inverter model's BIS registration and the DISCOM's conditions.
Which brand has a better service network in India, Luminous or Havells?
No published document supports a ranking, and service varies by district. Ask each seller for the named service partner covering your pincode, call that partner, and ask what spares they hold and how long recent claims on the exact model took. A brand's wider electrical or battery business is not the same thing as a solar service route.
Is the Luminous NXI 150 IP66 or IP65?
The Luminous NXI 150 product page lists IP66, while the newer NXI T150 page lists IP65, and some reseller listings for the NXI 150 show IP65. Ask Luminous for the datasheet of the exact unit you are quoted and check the enclosure rating on the nameplate.
Nirav Dhanani
Written by

Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy

Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.

Related Reading
Comparison 16 min

UTL vs Luminous, Indian Brand Showdown 2026

UTL vs Luminous for Indian homes in 2026: product range, published warranty terms, service questions and how to compare two Indian brands model by model, without scores.

Get Started

Compare inverters for your application

Shortlist the right inverter type and phase, then request current documents and an exact-model quotation.