Skip to content
Comparison

Best Indian Solar Inverter Brands: 8 Brands Compared

Eight Indian-market solar inverter brands compared by company identity, product type and manufacturing evidence, with the documents that settle origin.

Nirav Dhanani
Nirav Dhanani CEO
June 5, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 17 min read

An Indian name on an inverter box does not answer the question buyers think it answers. It may identify the brand, the seller, the importer, the assembler or the legal manufacturer. Those can be five different parties.

This guide looks at eight Indian-market solar inverter routes: Havells, Luminous, Microtek, Polycab, Qbits, Su-Kam, UTL and Waaree. For each, it records the company behind the brand, what its own pages say about product range and manufacturing, and what you still have to ask the seller. It also gives an inverter company name list you can scan quickly, and a method to check BIS registration before you buy.

Qbits publishes this article and sells solar inverters. It is included under the same rules as every other brand, listed in alphabetical order and not ranked first. No brand here receives a score.

Short answer. Start with the operating type your home needs, then shortlist brands. For each finalist, match the model code across the nameplate, datasheet, invoice, compliance record and warranty. That process tells you more than an Indian flag on a brochure.

Why Indian solar inverter brands matter in 2026

Buyers ask about Indian brands for four practical reasons. They want a company that can be served legal notice and is registered here. They hope for spares and service close by. They want firmware and documents that suit Indian grid codes and DISCOM forms. And some want local manufacturing for supply-chain reasons.

None of these is guaranteed by nationality. A foreign company can have an Indian subsidiary, a service desk and a plant. An Indian company can import a finished inverter and put its brand on it. What helps a buyer is evidence for the exact unit: who is named on the nameplate, who issues the invoice and warranty, which standard marks apply, and who will answer a service call at your PIN code.

Two policy facts are worth knowing, because dealers often blur them.

Inverters now sit under a BIS order. The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy’s Solar Systems, Devices and Components Goods Order, 2025 brought PV inverters, among other products, under compulsory BIS registration, so notified inverters must carry the BIS Standard Mark under licence. BIS’s list of notified products names IS 16221 (Part 2) for the safety of PV inverters and IS 16169 for islanding prevention in utility-interconnected inverters. See the BIS notified-products annexure and BIS’s changeover guideline for IS 16169, read October 2026. Transition dates and capacity thresholds changed after the order, so confirm the current position for your inverter size.

PLI covers modules, not inverters. MNRE’s Production Linked Incentive scheme page is titled the National Programme on High Efficiency Solar PV Modules. It does not mention inverters. Do not accept “PLI-backed inverter” as a selling point.

What makes a brand genuinely Indian, and what does not

These phrases answer different questions:

Origin and ownership terms, what each tells you and what it does not
TermWhat it tells youWhat it does not tell you
Indian brandThe brand is positioned for or associated with IndiaWho built the quoted unit
India-registered sellerThe invoice may come from an Indian legal entityIndian ownership or Indian manufacture
Legal manufacturerThe entity accepts manufacturing responsibility on the product recordWhere every component came from
Manufacturer or importerThe entity named for sale and compliance in IndiaWhether it designed the inverter
Assembled in IndiaFinal assembly took place in IndiaDomestic component depth or brand ownership
Country of originThe declared origin of the exact supplied unitReliability, service quality or suitability

A brand may be honest in calling itself Indian while selling a model made elsewhere. A global company may manufacture a model here. Neither arrangement is automatically good or bad.

The problem starts when a seller turns one true statement into four unsupported ones. A company having Indian factories does not mean your inverter came from one. An Indian office does not mean Indian manufacture. A domestic-sounding model name tells you nothing at all.

How these brands were selected

This is a documented consideration set, not a sales-volume or reliability ranking. A brand qualified when, on 14 October 2026:

  1. It had a current official India-facing solar inverter or solar hybrid route.
  2. Its public material identified a legal entity clearly enough to check.
  3. Its offer included a home-relevant on-grid, hybrid, grid-tied, solar PCU or backup product.
  4. The public information allowed a conditional use case without inventing price, warranty, service reach or reliability.

The entries are alphabetical. Their order is not a performance score. We found no current public dataset that tests these brands on the same residential models, sites and failure definitions.

The broader top solar inverter brands guide covers Indian and global choices, and the best solar inverter comparison compares exact models. The Made in India inverter guide owns the deeper manufacturing question. This page helps a homeowner identify which company and origin documents to demand from an Indian-market brand.

Inverter company name list

A quick reference for the company behind each brand, as stated on its own pages. “Plant” means a location named by the company in the cited document. A company-level plant says nothing about a particular model.

Company behind each brand as stated on its own pages, with named plants and published inverter range (read October 2026)
BrandLegal entity namedOffice or HQ city namedPlant locations named by the companySolar inverter range published
HavellsHavells India LtdNoida (corporate office)16 manufacturing units stated; no inverter plant location in the brochureEnviro GTi grid-tie, 1 to 350 kW
LuminousLuminous Power Technologies Pvt. Ltd.Gurugram (head office)Baddi (Solan) and Gagret (Una), Himachal Pradesh, named on product pages; “8 manufacturing units” on the About pageGrid-tie NXI series, solar PCUs, hybrids
MicrotekMicrotek International Pvt. Ltd.Delhi (corporate office)“New Plant in Baddi” mentioned; no addressGrid-tied GTI series
PolycabPolycab India LimitedMumbai (corporate); Halol, Gujarat (registered)No inverter plant statedSingle-phase grid-tie, 1 to 5 kW models
QbitsQbits Energy (legal entity name not given in the sources used here)See the company pageNot stated per SKU in public materialOn-grid TLS, TLD, TLC families; QBH hybrids
Su-KamSu-Kam Power Systems Ltd.Gurugram or Baddi (the site gives both)None namedBrainy+ Solar Hybrid UPS; no grid-tie product found
UTLFujiyama Power Systems Ltd. (UTL Solar brand)Delhi (registered); Greater Noida (marketing)Parwanoo (HP), Greater Noida (UP), Bawal (Haryana) in the datasheetOn-grid F series, hybrid, PCU
WaareeWaaree Energies Ltd.MumbaiFour Gujarat units listed, without saying which make inverters; a Jan 2026 filing mentions 3.05 GW of inverter capacity at Sarodhi, GujaratSingle-phase and three-phase string inverters

Sources: Havells brochure, Luminous About page and NXI 150 page, Microtek About page, Polycab grid-tie page, Su-Kam site, UTL F series datasheet, Waaree manufacturing page, all read October 2026.

Comparison at a glance

“Confirm per SKU” means the official pages do not state where every exact inverter model is made. It does not mean the product is imported.

Brands in alphabetical order with the evidence checked, exact-unit manufacturing position and conditional best fit
Brand routeProduct evidence checkedExact-unit manufacturingConditional best fit
HavellsEnviro GTi grid-tie range; GREEHA Solar kitGREEHA kit page makes an in-house claim for each kit component; other SKUs need separate proofPackaged on-grid route with matching product documents
LuminousNXI T150 5 kW on-grid, plus solar PCU and hybrid catalogueFactory sites named on product pages; confirm the origin of each SKUBackup-first home, once the exact unit’s type is confirmed
MicrotekGTI 5KW-M12 and grid-tied category; service-centre locatorCompany-level plant mention; confirm per SKUGrid-connected home where the service route can be verified
PolycabPSIS single-phase grid-tie modelsNot stated; confirm per SKUSmall single-phase system where exact documents match
QbitsPer-model datasheets for on-grid and QBH hybridLegal manufacturer and country of origin: confirm per SKUHome wanting exact current model documents
Su-KamBrainy+ Solar Hybrid UPS rangeNot statedBackup-led buyer who accepts a hybrid UPS architecture
UTLF series on-grid, hybrid and PCU categoriesDatasheet lists plants; confirm per SKUBuyer comparing grid export with battery backup
Waaree5 kW single-phase and 10 kW three-phase string invertersDatasheet lists China for the 3 to 6 kW single-phase series; brochure describes Indian manufacture; confirm per SKUBuyer wanting a documented string inverter, with origin checked per SKU

Havells: the clearest product-bound manufacturing statement

Havells’ official solar solutions page names Havells India Limited as the manufacturer or importer. The same page says every component in its GREEHA Solar kit is manufactured in-house by Havells India Limited. The Enviro GTi grid-tie range is documented in a separate brochure, for example the single-phase Enviro GTi 5000 D-NG (5 kW, two MPPTs, 80 to 550 V, IP65).

The GREEHA statement is stronger than a general “we have factories” claim because it is tied to a named kit. It still needs a boundary. The wording should not be transferred to a different Havells inverter, an older product or a dealer-created bundle.

Havells also presents the inverter inside a broader system route, so a homeowner can evaluate a packaged proposal rather than an isolated appliance.

Conditional verdict: compare Havells when the quote is for a named GREEHA Solar configuration and the model documents match the equipment delivered. If the dealer substitutes a different inverter, restart the origin check for that model.

Luminous: an Indian operating company with a broad backup catalogue

The official Luminous site identifies the organisation as Luminous Power Technologies Pvt. Ltd. and reports eight manufacturing units. Its solar inverter catalogue includes multiple household solar and backup products, including the 5 kW NXI T150 grid-tie model. Its product pages name Baddi and Gagret in Himachal Pradesh as manufacturing sites.

The useful strength is choice for homes where outages matter. The risk is comparing unlike products. A solar UPS or off-grid inverter is not automatically a grid-tied inverter that exports energy through a bidirectional meter.

The eight-unit statement is company-wide. It does not say which factory or country of origin applies to every catalogue item. That remains an exact-model question.

Conditional verdict: shortlist Luminous for a backup-led home after the seller writes down the operating type, battery requirement, output rating and grid-export function. Ask for the exact unit’s manufacturer and origin rather than inferring them from the company profile.

Microtek: a clear grid-tied route and a public service locator

Microtek’s official grid-tied solar solutions page separates grid-connected products from generic backup equipment. The About page mentions a new plant in Baddi, and the grid-tied page states that the brand has four manufacturing units across India. Microtek also provides an official service-centre locator.

Those are useful discovery tools. They do not confirm that a particular service centre repairs the quoted solar model, holds spares or performs warranty work. Nor does the company-level factory count tell you the origin of every model in the category.

Conditional verdict: compare Microtek for a grid-connected home when the exact model suits the proposed strings and the nearest listed centre confirms its solar-inverter scope. Keep that confirmation with the quotation.

Polycab: single-phase grid-tie models

Polycab India Limited publishes a grid-tie inverter category with single-phase models. The 4 kW single-phase, single-MPPT model PSIS-4K0 lists a maximum efficiency of up to 97.2% and an IP66 enclosure, and the spec sheet covers PSIS-1K0 to 4K0 with an MPPT range of 40 to 540 V. Polycab’s 5 kW dual-MPPT page lists up to 97%. An older brochure on the same site shows different figures, so use only the current pages.

The corporate pages name an Indian registered office and corporate office but do not name an inverter plant. That does not mean the inverter is imported. It means the buyer must ask.

Conditional verdict: compare Polycab for a small single-phase system where the exact model’s datasheet matches the array and the seller supplies the nameplate manufacturer and origin declaration.

Qbits: current model documents, and what to confirm

Qbits’ current product record separates TLS and TLD single-phase on-grid families, TLC, Pro and Plus three-phase families, and QBH hybrid families. The Qbits datasheet library provides model-family documents that can be matched to a quotation, and the on-grid inverter range and hybrid inverter range show the families by phase and capacity.

That document access is a real strength. It lets a buyer compare phase, MPPT layout, voltage limits and enclosure rating at model level. For example, the QB 4/5/6 KTLD family is single-phase and dual-MPPT with 20 A per input and IP66, while the QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS family is single-MPPT, so the family name alone does not settle fit.

The limits matter just as much. Qbits’ public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions. Its public material also does not state the legal manufacturer and country of origin for every model. The guide to whether Qbits is a good solar inverter turns those gaps into a pre-purchase document checklist.

Conditional verdict: compare Qbits when its exact datasheet fits the array and backup requirement, and the seller provides the current warranty, applicable compliance documents, nameplate details and origin declaration. Do not select Qbits merely because it publishes this comparison.

Su-Kam: honourable mention, with a different product class

Su-Kam Power Systems Ltd. is an Indian power-backup company. Its site lists a Brainy+ Solar Hybrid UPS range with models named 1250, 2100, 2500, 3500 and 5000, using battery configurations from 12 V to 48 V. The product pages we read give features only: no phase, MPPT or efficiency table, and we found no grid-tie string inverter on the site. The site names a Gurugram head office in one place and Baddi as a head office in another, and names no plant.

A solar hybrid UPS is a battery-backup product. It is not interchangeable with a net-metered string inverter, and a homeowner who wants net metering needs a grid-tie model.

Conditional verdict: consider Su-Kam only for a backup-led design, and ask for the exact unit’s documents. Do not compare it with the string inverters on a grid-export spec sheet.

UTL: a brand route operated by Fujiyama Power Systems Limited

UTL’s official solar inverter catalogue identifies Fujiyama Power Systems Limited as the legal organisation behind the site. That is a useful brand-to-company relationship that many dealer listings omit. The F-series on-grid datasheet lists manufacturing plants at Parwanoo, Greater Noida and Bawal.

The catalogue separates on-grid, hybrid and solar inverter or PCU categories. That matters because those architectures answer different needs. A backup-focused PCU should not be compared with a grid-tied string inverter only because both display a similar headline rating.

The plant list does not settle the country of origin for every unit. The buyer still needs the exact manufacturer or importer details and model documents.

Conditional verdict: compare UTL when the first decision is between grid export and battery backup. Have the seller state the operating mode, battery requirement, phase and grid-export function before discussing brand preference.

Waaree: string inverters, with origin to check per model

Waaree Energies Ltd. publishes an inverter brochure covering single-phase and three-phase string inverters from 0.7 kW to 350 kW. The brochure has a page titled “Inverters Manufactured in India”, and a Waaree filing dated 21 January 2026 mentions 3.05 GW of inverter capacity at Sarodhi, Gujarat. The same brochure’s 3 kW to 6 kW single-phase datasheet table, however, lists “Country of Manufacture: China”.

Both statements can be true of different product series or different dates. The point for a buyer is that the answer sits at model level. If you are quoted a Waaree inverter, ask for the exact model code, the nameplate manufacturer and the country-of-origin declaration for that unit.

Conditional verdict: compare Waaree for a documented string inverter, with the origin check done per SKU. The brochure labels models by rating (for example “5000”) without a longer code, so write the code on the quote.

What most “Made in India” lists get wrong

They score the strength of a claim instead of checking its scope.

A company says it has four factories. The list changes that into “this inverter is manufactured in India”. A catalogue says “manufacturer or importer”. The list quietly drops “or importer”. A brand displays a certification logo. The list applies it to every SKU.

Each edit makes the answer sound cleaner and the evidence worse.

There is also no basis for assuming that local origin means higher reliability. Reliability needs comparable failure data, defined operating conditions and enough time in the field. None of these brands publishes a common dataset that supports such a ranking. See the reliability and service guide.

Treat manufacturing location as one procurement field. It can affect supply-chain preference, documentation and accountability. It cannot replace electrical fit, warranty terms or local service verification.

How to check BIS registration before you buy

BIS registration is the Indian compliance document for the exact model, so check it yourself.

  1. Get the model code and the R-number. Ask for the BIS registration number (the “R-” number) and the licensee named for the exact model on the quote.
  2. Match the standard. For a grid-connected inverter, the record should map to IS 16221 (Part 2) for safety and IS 16169 for islanding prevention, per BIS’s notified list. Brochures often print the standard mark for some families and only “IEC certified” for others, so ask for the record of the exact variant on your quote.
  3. Look it up. BIS’s Manak Online registration report has a field for the registration number and a search by Indian Standard. The BIS Care mobile app, listed on BIS’s apps page, is another route.
  4. Match the entity. The licensee, the model and the nameplate should agree. A certificate for one family does not cover a different variant.
  5. Keep the evidence with the invoice and warranty.

If the seller cannot give a number or the record does not match, treat the compliance claim as unverified and escalate before paying.

ALMM does not answer the inverter-origin question

MNRE’s Approved List of Models and Manufacturers page publishes List-I for solar PV modules and List-II for solar PV cells. It is not a universal solar inverter list. Some vendor blogs claim List-II covers inverters, and that contradicts the MNRE page.

The same caution applies to subsidy eligibility. A brand’s nationality does not create approval. Scheme rules, the registered-vendor route, module and cell requirements, technical feasibility and DISCOM verification all matter, and they change by date and jurisdiction. See the PM Surya Ghar subsidy guide.

Indian brands versus imported brands: questions, not slogans

Questions to ask about any inverter brand, Indian or imported, and how to get each answer
QuestionWhy it mattersHow to answer it
Who issues the warranty in India?An India-registered issuer is easier to hold to a claimWritten warranty naming the legal entity
Who services my PIN code?Time without generation is the real cost of a faultNamed party in writing, plus scope for the exact model
Which firmware and grid settings are loaded?DISCOM acceptance depends on the settingsCommissioning record
Are spares held locally?Delay is usually a spares problemSeller’s written spares route
Where is monitoring data hosted?You should know who can access your generation dataWritten statement from the maker

An imported or rebadged inverter is not automatically worse, and an Indian brand is not automatically better. A correctly documented imported model can be the better fit. The concern is an undisclosed supply chain, because then the buyer cannot tell who supports the product or which documents apply.

Choose the use case before the nationality

The practical shortlist is conditional:

  • On-grid home without backup: start with exact grid-tied or on-grid models from Havells, Microtek, Polycab, Qbits, UTL or Waaree, then compare input limits, phase and written service responsibility. Availability still needs confirmation.
  • Home where battery backup is the main requirement: start with the relevant Luminous, Qbits, Su-Kam or UTL hybrid, solar UPS or PCU category. Confirm what powers loads during a cut and which battery is supported.
  • Buyer prioritising a product-bound Indian manufacturing statement: the Havells GREEHA Solar kit has the clearest official statement here. Verify the delivered configuration is the named kit.
  • Buyer prioritising transparent model documents: use datasheet libraries, then close the warranty, legal-manufacturer, origin and service gaps in writing.
  • Buyer unsure about on-grid versus hybrid: pause the brand comparison. A brand cannot fix the wrong system architecture. See the on-grid versus hybrid guide.

For EPC or bulk procurement, this homeowner comparison is too narrow. The solar inverter manufacturer evaluation guide covers supplier identity, documents and commercial diligence at project level.

Sizing the right capacity before you decide

Brand choice comes after size. A PIB release dated 5 December 2024 on the PM Surya Ghar scheme gives this guide to suitable capacity by monthly consumption:

Suitable rooftop capacity by average monthly consumption, PIB release of 5 December 2024
Average monthly unitsSuitable rooftop capacity (PIB, Dec 2024)
0 to 1501 to 2 kW
150 to 3002 to 3 kW
More than 300Above 3 kW

This is a scheme planning guide, not a design. The final size depends on roof area, shade, phase and DISCOM limits. For typical ranges by home type see the home inverter size guide, and use the string sizing calculator once you have a module.

Common mistakes when choosing an Indian brand

  • Believing a factory count applies to the exact model. Ask for the nameplate and declaration.
  • Treating a BIS logo as a certificate. Get the R-number and look it up.
  • Using ALMM as an inverter test. It covers modules and cells.
  • Comparing a hybrid UPS with a grid-tie inverter. They answer different needs.
  • Trusting a dealer’s “Indian brand” label for an unbranded import.
  • Skipping the service check. Confirm the party for your PIN code before you pay.

Your final comparison sheet

Put two exact models side by side and complete every field:

Leave a blank as “unknown”. Do not let the salesperson fill it with a brand-wide promise.

The best Indian solar inverter brand is the one whose exact model fits your home and whose paperwork remains clear after the brochure is closed. If Qbits is one of your finalists, compare its current product families against one exact competing model and apply the same document standard to both.

Qbits models

Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.

Browse all on-grid inverters →

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the best Indian solar inverter brand?
There is no universal winner. Havells has a documented in-house claim for its GREEHA Solar kit components. Luminous and UTL publish broad backup-led solar categories. Microtek publishes a grid-tied category and service-centre locator. Qbits publishes on-grid and hybrid model documents. Compare exact models, written warranty terms and a named local service route before choosing.
Is an Indian brand always made in India?
No. Brand location, company registration, final assembly and country of origin are different facts. An Indian company may use imported products or sub-assemblies, while a foreign-owned company may manufacture in India. Check the manufacturer or importer on the nameplate, the invoice entity and the country-of-origin declaration for the exact model.
How can I verify who manufactured a solar inverter?
Match the full model code across the quotation, nameplate, datasheet, invoice, applicable BIS record and written warranty. Ask for the manufacturer or importer name and a country-of-origin declaration. A company-level factory claim does not tell you where every inverter model was built.
Does ALMM list solar inverter manufacturers?
No. MNRE publishes ALMM List-I for solar PV modules and List-II for solar PV cells, and no list for inverters. For an inverter, ask the seller for the exact model's BIS registration and current certificates, and confirm the scheme and DISCOM requirements separately.
Are imported or rebadged solar inverters necessarily worse?
No. Origin alone says nothing certain about efficiency, reliability or service quality. A correctly documented imported model can be a better fit than a locally assembled model. The concern is an undisclosed supply chain, because the buyer then cannot identify who supports the product or which documents apply.
Does Qbits manufacture its inverters in India?
Qbits presents itself as an Indian solar inverter brand and publishes current on-grid and hybrid product records. Qbits' public material does not state the legal manufacturer and country of origin for every exact SKU. Ask the seller for the nameplate, invoice entity, applicable compliance documents and country-of-origin declaration for the quoted unit.
How do I check BIS registration on a solar inverter?
Ask the seller for the BIS registration number (the R-number) and licensee for the exact model on the quote. BIS lists IS 16221 (Part 2) for PV inverter safety and IS 16169 for islanding prevention. Look the number up through BIS's Manak Online registration report or the BIS Care app, and confirm the licensee, model and nameplate agree. A logo alone is not a certificate.
Does the PLI scheme cover solar inverters?
No. MNRE's Production Linked Incentive scheme page is titled the National Programme on High Efficiency Solar PV Modules and does not mention inverters. A dealer who describes an inverter as PLI-backed should show the document that says so. Treat the claim as unverified until they do.
Are Indian solar inverter brands cheaper than imported ones?
There is no safe general answer. Inverter prices depend on rating, features, taxes, monitoring hardware and the dealer's margin, and public prices rarely cover the same scope. Compare complete dated quotes with the same inverter model details, protection, installation and commissioning on separate lines. Qbits pricing is quote-based through dealers.
Nirav Dhanani
Written by

Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy

Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.

Related Reading
Comparison 16 min

10 Solar Inverter Brands to Compare in India

Compare 10 solar inverter brands using current official product evidence, system type, model documents and the questions each seller still needs to answer.

Comparison 18 min

Made-in-India Solar Inverters: Why Local Wins

What "Made in India" really covers for a solar inverter: three manufacturing tiers, India-grid firmware, subsidy rules and the service route to ask for in writing.

Get Started

Compare inverters for your application

Shortlist the right inverter type and phase, then request current documents and an exact-model quotation.