Which is the best solar inverter in India? It depends on the use case, and no single model wins every one. For a grid-connected home without backup, compare exact 5 kW single-phase on-grid models. For frequent power cuts, compare hybrids with a named, compatible battery. For a three-phase site, compare three-phase models. This guide compares ten brands, each by one exact current model from its own datasheet or product page, checked in October 2026, then shows how to choose for a home, a power-cut zone, a three-phase connection and an installer’s portfolio.
This page is about which model to compare. If you want a plain list of solar inverter companies in India, read the 10-brand company guide. If you want to know which makers manufacture in India, read the Indian solar inverter brands guide. If you want typical sizes by home type, read the best solar inverter for home guide.
Disclosure: Qbits publishes this guide and sells solar inverters. Qbits appears as one of the ten entries, in alphabetical order, described only with its own datasheet figures and under the same rules as every other brand. There are no scores or ranks on this page.
How we compared
This is a document comparison, not a lab test. We did not install, load or time any inverter, and nothing here is a measured performance result.
For each brand we picked one exact current model from the brand’s own published datasheet, brochure or product page, and recorded the same fields: phase, rated AC output, MPPT count and voltage window, maximum DC input voltage and current per MPPT where published, maximum efficiency, enclosure rating and monitoring route. Each entry cites the page or PDF it came from. Facts were read in October 2026 and will change; always confirm the datasheet version attached to your quote.
Selection rules:
- The brand publishes a grid-connected residential or small-commercial solar inverter for the Indian market, or a global model it markets in India.
- We chose a model in the 5 kW single-phase class where the brand publishes one, because it is the most common home size and allows a like-for-like table. Where a brand’s own pages emphasise another class we say so, and UTL appears with a 10 kW three-phase model to cover that case.
- Competitor facts come only from the competitor’s own pages. Where a field is not published, the table says so instead of guessing.
- Brands are listed alphabetically. Order is not a ranking.
This is not an exhaustive market list. Other makers publish comparable models, and leaving a brand out does not mean it failed any test. Prices are excluded: public prices rarely cover the same taxes, monitoring hardware, protection, installation and commissioning, and Qbits sells through quote-based dealer pricing.
Quick-pick table by use case
The table shows what to look for and which entries in this guide publish it. It does not pick a winner, because that would need field data nobody has published.
| Use case | What to look for on the datasheet | Entries that publish it |
|---|---|---|
| Single-phase home, grid-connected, no backup | Phase, AC rating, MPPT window, per-MPPT current, IP rating | Growatt, Havells, Microtek, Qbits, Solis, Sungrow, Waaree (all 5 kW, two MPPTs). Luminous and Fronius are also 5 kW single-phase; see their entries for what they do and do not publish |
| East-west or two-plane roof | Two independent MPPTs and a string design for each plane | Entries with two MPPTs: Fronius, Growatt, Havells, Microtek, Qbits, Solis, Sungrow, Waaree. Luminous does not state its count on the product page |
| Short strings or low-voltage start | Low MPPT lower bound and start-up voltage | Sungrow publishes 40 V; Growatt, Havells, Microtek, Qbits and Waaree publish 80 V; Solis 90 V |
| High-current modules | Maximum input current per MPPT | Qbits publishes 20 A per MPPT; Sungrow, Solis publish 16 A; Havells, Microtek 15 A; Waaree 14 A; Growatt 13.5 A on its latest version |
| Battery now or later | A named hybrid or battery-ready product and compatible battery list | Fronius Primo GEN24 is documented as battery-ready. For Qbits hybrids see the QBH range. On-grid entries have no battery port |
| Three-phase connection, 10 kW | Phase, per-MPPT current, DC voltage window | UTL (10 kW entry here). Havells and Waaree publish 10 kW three-phase models too, in the same documents |
| Documented service contact in India | India-specific phone, email or locator | See each entry’s support line and the service comparison |
What makes an inverter suit Indian conditions
Eight factors matter more than a headline efficiency number.
Grid voltage window. Distribution voltage varies by feeder and time of day. An inverter’s published AC operating range and protection settings decide when it disconnects. The range differs by model, even within one brand, so read it per datasheet and compare it with a measurement at your meter. See the weak-grid inverter comparison.
Temperature and derating. Terrace and wall-mounted units see high ambient heat in many regions. Check the published operating range and where derating starts. Shade and airflow around the unit matter as much as the rating; see inverter overheating.
Ingress rating. IP65 and IP66 are both dust-tight. IP66 is tested against stronger water jets. Neither covers heat, condensation or a bad cable gland. For coastal sites read the coastal inverter guide and the IP65 versus IP66 guide.
MPPT layout. Count the roof planes, then match inputs and strings. Voltage window and current per input matter more than the headline count. See MPPT explained and dual versus single MPPT.
Monitoring. A Wi-Fi dongle or app that is not set up, or not owned by you, does not monitor anything. Test it at handover. See the monitoring guide.
Surge and earthing. Check whether surge protection is built in or must be added, and what earthing the installer will do. See choosing inverters with surge protection.
Written warranty. Ask for the document for the exact model. Years alone say nothing about the remedy, the issuing entity or who pays for labour and freight. See the warranty guide.
Ten solar inverters compared: one exact model each
Each entry lists the exact model, the figures from the source, who it may suit, what to check before buying and where to start a service query. “Not stated” means the cited page does not publish the field.
1. Fronius: Primo GEN24 5.0
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5000 W rated AC
- MPPT: 2 trackers, MPP voltage range 230–530 V, DC input range 65–600 V, max input current 22 A / 12 A
- Max efficiency: 97.6%. Enclosure: IP66
- Monitoring: integrated WLAN and Ethernet, Fronius Solar.web
- Source: Fronius India product page, accessed October 2026. Support: Fronius India contact.
May suit: a single-phase home that wants a battery-ready inverter. Fronius documents an integrated backup socket (PV Point) on this platform. Check before buying: the two inputs are asymmetric (22 A and 12 A), so the string layout must fit each input. Confirm you are being quoted the Primo GEN24 and not the Primo GEN24 Plus, and ask for the India-market datasheet and warranty document.
2. Growatt: MIN 5000TL-X
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5000 W rated AC
- MPPT: 2 trackers, MPP voltage range 80–550 V, max DC input 550 V, max input current 13.5 A per tracker (datasheet notes this applies to the latest version only)
- Max efficiency: 98.4%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: WiFi optional (ShineWiFi-X and other modules), Growatt Monitoring Platform
- Source: Growatt MIN 2500–6000TL-X datasheet and product page, accessed October 2026. Support: Growatt contact.
May suit: a home or small shop with panels on two roof faces. Check before buying: the current-limit footnote means the hardware version matters. Get the version, the India grid-code certification and the warranty document in writing from the seller.
3. Havells: Enviro GTi 5000 D-NG
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5000 W rated AC, 5500 VA max
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 80–550 V operating range, max input 600 V, 15 A / 15 A per MPPT
- Max efficiency: 98.4%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: RS485 and USB as standard, WiFi or GPRS optional
- Source: Havells GTi inverter brochure, 1 kW to 350 kW NG series (document code LP/ZHLLE00187/SEPT25), accessed October 2026. Support: Havells service request.
May suit: a single-phase home where the buyer wants an established Indian electrical brand and a built-in zero-export feature, which the brochure lists for the D-NG range. Check before buying: the same brochure carries older single-MPPT G3 models and three-phase TX-NG models under similar names. Make sure the quote names the D-NG variant, and confirm the warranty document and local service route for solar inverters.
4. Luminous: NXI T150
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5 kW, on-grid
- MPPT and DC input: not stated on the product page
- Max efficiency: up to 98.4%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: remote monitoring with Wi-Fi, RS485 or GPRS options
- Source: Luminous NXI T150 product page, accessed October 2026. Support: Luminous support.
May suit: a buyer who wants an Indian-market brand with a public service-centre locator and no battery. Check before buying: because the product page does not publish MPPT count, voltage window or per-input current, ask for the datasheet and revision of the quoted unit before any string design. Older NXI 150 pages list different figures, so do not mix revisions.
5. Microtek: GTI 5KW-M12
- Phase and rating: 5000 W rated AC, 5500 VA max. The page lists a single-phase connection (L/N/PE, 220–240 V)
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 80–550 V, max input 600 V, 15 A / 15 A per MPPT
- Max efficiency: 98.40%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: RS485 standard, WiFi or GPRS optional
- Source: Microtek GTI 5KW-M12 listing, accessed October 2026. Support: Microtek service-centre locator.
May suit: a grid-connected single-phase home with a 5 kW array. Check before buying: the listing showed the model as out of stock when we read it, and we found no datasheet PDF link on the listing. Confirm availability, the datasheet version and the warranty terms before relying on the page.
6. Qbits: QB 4/5/6 KTLD (5 kW rating)
- Phase and rating: single-phase; 4, 5 and 6 kW ratings in the family, 5KTLD is 5000 W
- MPPT: 2 independent trackers, 80–550 V window, 550 V maximum DC, 20 A / 20 A per MPPT
- Max efficiency: 98.1%. Enclosure: IP66. Grid voltage range printed: 160–270 Vac (adjustable)
- Monitoring: Wi-Fi; optional RS485 or GPRS
- Source: Qbits QB-4-6KTLD product record and its datasheet PDF, from the Qbits repository data checked October 2026. Support: Qbits authorised service partner directory.
May suit: a single-phase home with a two-plane roof, or a design that needs 20 A input per string. Check before buying: the public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions, so request the current written terms for the quoted model. The single-MPPT QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS family has different figures, so do not mix the two. Qbits quotes through dealers; there is no public price. Other families are in the on-grid range and the datasheet library.
7. Solis: S6-GR1P5K-S
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5 kW, on-grid string
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 90–550 V, max DC input 550 V, 16 A / 16 A
- Max efficiency: 97.7%. Enclosure: IP66
- Monitoring: Bluetooth and app, RS485 and USB standard, optional Wi-Fi or GPRS modules, SolisCloud
- Source: Solis India product page for S6-GR1P(4-5)K-S and the India flyer PDF, accessed October 2026. Support: Solis India service page.
May suit: a single-phase home with strings on two roof faces. Check before buying: the 5 kW unit uses an internal fan while the 4 kW variant does not, and AFCI and the DC switch are optional. Ask which options are in the quote. The India warranty terms are in an appendix, so request the written document.
8. Sungrow: SG5.0RS-L
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5000 W rated AC (India-specific variant of the RS family)
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 40–560 V operating range (full-load range in the manual), max DC 600 V, 16 A / 16 A
- Max efficiency: 97.9%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: WLAN, iSolarCloud
- Source: Sungrow India product page and datasheet V14, accessed October 2026. Support: Sungrow India contact.
May suit: a single-phase home with a short string or a wish for a low MPPT start window. Check before buying: the datasheet lists BIS and other grid standards, so confirm the BIS registration and grid-code settings for the unit delivered. The global SG5.0RS is a different model.
9. UTL: F-series 10 kW three-phase (SKU GT-10P0-GX-T2)
- Phase and rating: three-phase, 10 kW rated AC, 11 kW max active power
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 200–1000 V, max DC 1100 V, 20 A per MPPT
- Max efficiency: 98.3%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: UTL SOLAR App; RS485, RS232, Wi-Fi and LAN interfaces
- Source: UTL On-Grid F Series datasheet and 10 kW product page, accessed October 2026. Support: UTL contacts.
May suit: a three-phase home, a shop or a small commercial roof. Check before buying: the older 2019 grid-tie PDF on the same site has different figures, so confirm the datasheet date. Ask for the warranty document and the named local service party.
10. Waaree: Single Phase Inverter, 5000 (5 kW)
- Phase and rating: single-phase, 5000 W rated AC, 5500 VA max
- MPPT: 2 trackers, 80–550 V, max input 600 V, 14 A per input
- Max efficiency: 97.4%. Enclosure: IP65
- Monitoring: optional LAN, Wi-Fi, GPRS or 4G module; app and website listed
- Source: Waaree inverter brochure, Oct 2025, “3kW to 6kW” single-phase table, accessed October 2026. Support: Waaree inverter support.
May suit: a single-phase home where the buyer already deals with Waaree for other equipment. Check before buying: Waaree labels the column “5000” without a longer model code, so write the exact quoted code into the contract. The datasheet table for this series lists the country of manufacture as China, while the brochure’s company pages describe inverters manufactured in India, so ask which factory built the exact unit you are quoted. Confirm the warranty document.
Master comparison table
| Brand and exact model | Phase and AC rating | MPPTs and window | Max efficiency | IP | Monitoring route as published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fronius Primo GEN24 5.0 | Single, 5 kW | 2; 230–530 V | 97.6% | IP66 | WLAN, Ethernet, Solar.web |
| Growatt MIN 5000TL-X | Single, 5 kW | 2; 80–550 V | 98.4% | IP65 | WiFi (optional), Growatt platform |
| Havells Enviro GTi 5000 D-NG | Single, 5 kW | 2; 80–550 V | 98.4% | IP65 | RS485/USB; WiFi or GPRS optional |
| Luminous NXI T150 | Single, 5 kW | Not stated on page | Up to 98.4% | IP65 | Remote monitoring; Wi-Fi/RS485/GPRS options |
| Microtek GTI 5KW-M12 | Single (listed L/N/PE), 5 kW | 2; 80–550 V | 98.40% | IP65 | RS485; WiFi/GPRS optional |
| Qbits QB 4/5/6 KTLD (5 kW) | Single, 5 kW | 2; 80–550 V | 98.1% | IP66 | Wi-Fi; optional RS485/GPRS |
| Solis S6-GR1P5K-S | Single, 5 kW | 2; 90–550 V | 97.7% | IP66 | Bluetooth app; SolisCloud |
| Sungrow SG5.0RS-L | Single, 5 kW | 2; 40–560 V | 97.9% | IP65 | WLAN; iSolarCloud |
| UTL F-series 10 kW (GT-10P0-GX-T2) | Three, 10 kW | 2; 200–1000 V | 98.3% | IP65 | UTL SOLAR App; RS485/RS232/Wi-Fi/LAN |
| Waaree Single Phase 5000 | Single, 5 kW | 2; 80–550 V | 97.4% | IP65 | Optional LAN/WiFi/GPRS/4G |
Per-MPPT current limits: Fronius 22/12 A, Growatt 13.5 A, Havells 15/15 A, Microtek 15/15 A, Qbits 20/20 A, Solis 16/16 A, Sungrow 16/16 A, UTL 20 A, Waaree 14 A. Luminous does not state it on the page.
Worked example: like-for-like 5 kW single-phase on-grid
Nine entries share the same class: 5 kW and single phase. Eight of them state two MPPTs. Reading across them shows what a datasheet comparison can and cannot support.
Two roof planes. Eight of the nine single-phase entries publish two independent MPPTs. That suits a roof where the installer puts one orientation on each tracker. Dual MPPT does not fix shade inside a string: a water tank shading three modules can still pull that string down. Ask for each string’s module count, orientation, open-circuit voltage and operating current.
Current headroom. The published per-input current limit runs from 13.5 A to 22 A across entries. Modern high-power modules can have operating currents near or above the lower figures, so compare the proposed module’s current and short-circuit current against each limit and the design margin. A higher number does not prove more yield.
Voltage window. Sungrow publishes a 40 V lower bound, Growatt, Havells, Microtek, Qbits and Waaree 80 V, Solis 90 V, Fronius a 230–530 V MPP range. A lower bound gives layout freedom for short strings, but the string must also stay below the maximum DC voltage on the coldest morning. A normal 5 kW array may work comfortably in any of them.
Enclosure. Fronius, Qbits and Solis publish IP66; the others IP65. That is a laboratory ingress class, not field reliability.
If your quote specifies 6 kW, use the exact 6 kW on-grid comparison; different families apply. For other sizes see 3 kW, 5 kW and 10 kW.
What this table cannot tell you
Official datasheets are strong evidence for model specifications and weak evidence for customer outcomes. None of these entries establishes field failure rates in Indian homes, local stock or spare availability, response time in your district, the warranty remedy attached to your sale, the installed price on an equal scope, or acceptance for your scheme, state or DISCOM process.
Compare hybrid inverters on hybrid dimensions
Do not put a hybrid beside the on-grid table and call it better because it has a battery port. It does a different job. Compare these fields:
| Hybrid comparison field | What to obtain in writing |
|---|---|
| Battery pairing | Exact supported battery make, model, voltage and communication method |
| Backup output | Continuous watts or VA, surge limit and duration |
| Protected loads | The circuits that remain energised during an outage |
| Transfer behaviour | Model-specific specification, and whether sensitive equipment needs a separate UPS |
| Charging limits | Maximum charge and discharge current for the proposed battery |
| Operating modes | Behaviour with grid present, grid absent, battery empty and solar unavailable |
“Compatible” is not enough. See the hybrid inverter range, the on-grid versus hybrid guide and the battery sizing guide.
Buyer-profile recommendations: what to compare, not who wins
Budget-minded homeowner with a single-phase, grid-only home. Start from the exact 5 kW or smaller single-phase on-grid models in the table. Equalise the scope across quotes: inverter model, protection, monitoring, installation and commissioning. A low inverter-only line can become the higher project cost once missing items are added. Ask for dated written quotes.
Premium buyer. If you want the option of storage or a backup socket, a battery-ready architecture such as the Fronius entry may be worth comparing. Ask for the India-market datasheet and a named service route, and check how the battery would be warranted.
Power-cut zone. The design should be hybrid, not on-grid. Compare supported batteries, backup output and transfer behaviour, then see the Qbits hybrid range and the power-cut backup guide. Backup is a system design with a battery, not just an inverter label.
Three-phase home or small commercial site. Compare 10 kW three-phase models on DC voltage window, per-MPPT current, protection and the service plan, and check the phase and capacity rules your DISCOM sets. See single-phase versus three-phase.
EPC installer. Standardise on documents: one datasheet per model, one warranty template and one named service route per district. See the inverter procurement guide and the warranty and service checklist for bulk buyers.
Common mistakes buyers make
- Comparing a hybrid and an on-grid model as if they did the same job.
- Reading peak efficiency as annual yield. It is one operating point.
- Accepting a family brochure instead of the datasheet for the exact variant. Brochures often carry several similar names, as the Havells and Solis entries show.
- Choosing by warranty years alone. Read the issuing entity, remedy and exclusions.
- Ignoring the service route until after a fault. Confirm a named party for your PIN code before you pay.
- Treating “ALMM listed” as an inverter certificate. ALMM covers modules and cells.
- Skipping the string calculation. A model can be good and the string design wrong.
- Mixing revisions. Several entries above carry notes about versions; always match the datasheet to the unit on the quote.
Indian and international brands: what to ask for
The Indian-versus-international question is mostly about documents and service, not nationality. Whichever you consider, ask for four things. First, the legal entity that issues the warranty and sells the unit in India. Second, the India-market model code and datasheet. Third, a named service party for your PIN code and the spares route. Fourth, the applicable BIS registration and, for grid connection, the DISCOM’s accepted documents. An international brand with an India subsidiary and a clear service desk can be a sound choice. An Indian brand that cannot show the exact model’s documents is not. For a deeper read, see Indian versus international solar inverters and the Made in India inverter guide.
Essential versus nice-to-have checklist
Essential for every installation
Important, depending on the roof and budget
- Two MPPTs when the roof has two planes
- IP66 for exposed walls, heavy monsoon or coastal air
- Monitoring with fault alerts and an account in your name
- Export-limit or zero-export function when the DISCOM requires it
- Built-in or installer-supplied surge protection and sound earthing
Nice to have
- Arc-fault detection (an option on several models above)
- Remote firmware updates
- A battery-ready path if outages may become a problem
How to choose from here
- Decide whether outage backup is required.
- Confirm the connection phase and proposed AC rating.
- Get the exact module and a string layout.
- Compare two or three exact models using the same fields as the table.
- Ask for current compliance, warranty and service documents for each.
- Compare complete dated quotes, not inverter-only prices.
If your home needs grid-connected generation without a battery, review the Qbits on-grid range by phase and capacity, and take the exact datasheet, written warranty and a named local service route into the final comparison. Use the string sizing calculator to cross-check a proposed string against an inverter’s published limits. The best choice is the one that survives that check, even when it is not the first brand on a list.
Sources checked October 2026: the brand pages and datasheets linked in each entry; MNRE’s Approved List of Models and Manufacturers page; current Qbits product records and datasheets.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QB 1.5/2.0/2.7/3.0/3.3/3.6/4.0KTLS
- Power
- 1.5–4 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS
- Power
- 4.2–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 5/6/8/10/12/15/17KTLC
- Power
- 5–17 kW
- Phase
- Three-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
Frequently Asked Questions
Which solar inverter is best for a home in India?
Is a hybrid inverter better than an on-grid inverter?
Is dual MPPT always better?
Does ALMM list solar inverters?
Can maximum efficiency decide the best inverter?
How long does a solar inverter last?
What warranty should I ask for on a solar inverter?
Which brands make solar inverters in India?
Should I choose a string inverter or a hybrid inverter?
Which solar inverter company has the best after-sales service?
How big an inverter do I need for a 5 kW solar array?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.