The best 6 kW solar inverter in India is the exact model that fits your roof layout, module string, grid connection, and documentation requirements. A brand name or a 6 kW label cannot settle that decision.
For this comparison, GoodWe GW6000-DNS-30 and Sungrow SG6.0RS-L are the more flexible documented choices for two independently designed PV strings because both publish two MPPTs. Qbits QB-6KTLS is the lightest of the three and publishes the highest maximum efficiency, but it has one MPPT and one string input. That makes it a conditional fit for a simpler array, not a universal winner.
Qbits publishes this article and sells the QB-6KTLS. That commercial interest is disclosed before the comparison. We did not laboratory-test these products, inspect installations, collect failure data, or verify local stock, prices, service outcomes, warranty remedies, certificates, or DISCOM acceptance.
The shortlist and verdict in one table
All three products below are current manufacturer-documented, 6 kW rated, single-phase, on-grid inverters. They are not hybrid inverters and should not be bought for battery backup.
| Exact model | Conditional best fit | Main reason | Important limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| GoodWe GW6000-DNS-30 | Two roof planes where IP66 is required in the specification | Two MPPTs, one string per tracker, IP66 | 16 A maximum input per MPPT; confirm India stock and commercial terms with the seller |
| Sungrow SG6.0RS-L | Two roof planes where a published 9 kWp recommended PV input is useful | Two MPPTs, one string per tracker, 9 kWp recommended maximum PV input | IP65; rated and maximum apparent output are both 6,000 VA in the datasheet |
| Qbits QB-6KTLS | One simple array where one tracker and one string are sufficient | 20 A maximum DC input, 98.1% maximum efficiency, IP66, 9 kg | One MPPT and one string; public written warranty terms remain incomplete |
This table shows design fit, not reliability or any order of merit. A product’s position changes when the roof, module current, string voltage, connection type, or document requirement changes.
How we selected and compared the models
A useful best list needs rules that can disqualify a convenient answer. We used five:
- Same operating class. Every compared model must be rated at 6 kW, single phase, grid connected, and intended for PV string input.
- Exact current manufacturer documents. The model must have a current manufacturer product page or family datasheet with a model-specific column.
- Same decision fields. We compare MPPT count, strings, voltage, current, AC output, efficiency, enclosure, cooling, size, weight, and communication for all three.
- Unknowns remain unknown. A missing warranty remedy, certificate file, price, service result, or approval is not inferred from a logo or series page.
- Conditional verdicts only. Published specifications can show design fit. They cannot show lifetime reliability, annual yield, service quality, or ownership cost without additional data.
GoodWe and Sungrow appear before Qbits so the publisher does not receive automatic first position. No placement is based on payment, sales volume, search popularity, or a private commercial arrangement.
Exact 6 kW specification comparison
The values below come from the current GoodWe DNS G3 datasheet, Sungrow SG4.0/5.0/6.0RS-L datasheet, and Qbits QB-4.6/5/6KTLS datasheet. They are manufacturer declarations, not independent test results.
| Published field | GoodWe GW6000-DNS-30 | Sungrow SG6.0RS-L | Qbits QB-6KTLS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating class | On-grid, single phase | On-grid, single phase | On-grid, single phase |
| Rated AC output | 6,000 W | 6,000 W | 6,000 W |
| Maximum AC apparent output | 6,600 VA | 6,000 VA | 6,600 VA |
| Independent MPPTs | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Strings per MPPT | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Maximum DC voltage | 600 V | 600 V | 600 V |
| MPPT operating range | 40 to 560 V | 40 to 560 V | 40 to 600 V |
| Starting voltage | 50 V | 50 V | 50 V |
| Maximum PV input current | 16 A per MPPT | 16 A per MPPT | 20 A total on one MPPT |
| Maximum short-circuit current | 23 A per MPPT | 20 A per MPPT | Not separately stated in the datasheet |
| Published PV input ceiling | Technical table does not state one; page copy says 150% DC oversizing | 9 kWp recommended maximum | 7,500 W maximum DC input |
| Maximum efficiency | 97.9% | 97.9% | 98.1% |
| European efficiency | 97.4% | 97.5% | 97.5% |
| Enclosure label | IP66 | IP65 | IP66 |
| Cooling | Natural convection | Natural cooling | Natural cooling |
| Dimensions | 350 x 410 x 143 mm | 445 x 325 x 150 mm | 347 x 368 x 167 mm |
| Weight | 13.4 kg | 10.5 kg | 9 kg |
| Published communication | Wi-Fi; RS485, LAN, or 4G options | WLAN | Wi-Fi; optional RS485 or GPRS |
| Complete governing warranty terms published | No | No | No |
A documented fit for two roof directions: GoodWe or Sungrow
A roof split east and west, or two planes with different tilt or shade conditions, often benefits from separate trackers. GoodWe and Sungrow both publish two independent MPPTs with one string per tracker. The Qbits QB-6KTLS publishes one MPPT and one string.
That makes GoodWe and Sungrow the defensible shortlist when two independently operating strings are required. The public datasheets give no basis for breaking the tie on reliability, service, or warranty.
GoodWe publishes IP66, 16 A maximum input and 23 A short-circuit current per MPPT, a 40 to 560 V MPPT range, and 97.9% maximum efficiency. Its technical table does not give a model-specific maximum PV input-power row. The product copy says the DNS G3 family permits 150% DC oversizing, but a buyer should still request the exact user-manual conditions and full-load MPPT window before fixing the array size.
Sungrow publishes IP65, 16 A maximum input and 20 A short-circuit current per MPPT, the same 40 to 560 V MPPT range, and 97.9% maximum efficiency. Its 6 kW column states a 9 kWp recommended maximum PV input. That is a clearer public DC ceiling, but it is not permission to install any 9 kWp array. Voltage, current, module temperature, clipping objectives, and local connection limits still control the design.
A documented fit for one simple string: Qbits QB-6KTLS
The QB-6KTLS can make sense when the proposed array is one electrically consistent string on one roof plane and the exact module string remains within its published limits. Its sheet states one MPPT, one string, 20 A maximum DC input, 600 V maximum DC voltage, a 40 to 600 V MPPT range, and 50 V starting voltage.
The model also publishes 6,000 W rated output, 6.6 kVA maximum output, 98.1% maximum efficiency, 97.5% European efficiency, IP66, natural cooling, and a 9 kg weight. Within this three-model document comparison, it is the lightest and its maximum-efficiency label is 0.2 percentage points higher than the other two.
Neither point proves more annual energy or longer life. Weight can affect handling and mounting, but it is not a quality score. Maximum efficiency is one operating point, not a site-yield model. The European-efficiency value is tied with Sungrow and only 0.1 percentage points above GoodWe.
Qbits also has a separate QB-6KTLD on-grid family with two MPPTs, and a separate QB-6KTLC three-phase family. Those are not suffix variations that can be mixed into this comparison. The assigned QB-6KTLS route and datasheet are specifically the single-phase, single-MPPT product family.
If that architecture matches the design, review the Qbits QB-4.6/5/6KTLS product family and request the exact current warranty, certificate, installation, and commercial documents for the quoted QB-6KTLS. The product page and datasheet do not by themselves establish compatibility with your modules or approval for your connection.
A 6 kW label does not mean backup
Every inverter in this comparison is on-grid. An on-grid inverter synchronises with the utility supply and normally stops energising the circuit when the grid is absent. That anti-islanding behaviour protects people working on the network.
The on-grid, hybrid, and off-grid decision guide should be resolved before comparing brands. Buying the wrong topology is a larger mistake than choosing between a 97.9% and 98.1% maximum-efficiency label.
Single phase, three phase, and the connection check
GoodWe GW6000-DNS-30, Sungrow SG6.0RS-L, and Qbits QB-6KTLS are all published as single-phase models. That does not mean a 6 kW single-phase installation will be accepted at every address.
Check the electricity bill, sanctioned load, service phase, current state regulation, DISCOM procedure, and installer design. If the property has a three-phase connection or the local route requires balanced three-phase export at this capacity, compare exact three-phase models instead of forcing a single-phase shortlist.
Our single-phase versus three-phase inverter guide explains the electrical distinction. The final connection decision must use current local documents, not a nationwide rule inferred from an article.
How to match the module string
Start with the exact module datasheet and the site’s design temperatures. The installer should show at least four checks:
- Cold open-circuit voltage. The string Voc after the temperature correction must remain below the inverter’s maximum DC voltage.
- Operating voltage. The string’s expected operating voltage must remain inside the useful MPPT window, including temperature effects.
- Operating current. The module-string current must remain within the input-current limit for the specific tracker.
- Short-circuit current. The corrected string Isc must remain within the published short-circuit-current limit. The Qbits KTLS datasheet does not state a separate Isc limit, so request it in writing before design approval.
One MPPT cannot independently optimise two mismatched strings. Two strings placed on different orientations should not be paralleled onto one tracker merely because the connector arrangement can be improvised. Use the published input architecture.
The solar inverter sizing guide covers the calculation sequence. Do not copy a string count from a different 6 kW model.
What the efficiency figures do and do not tell you
The three maximum-efficiency labels are close: 97.9% for GoodWe, 97.9% for Sungrow, and 98.1% for Qbits. The European-efficiency labels are 97.4%, 97.5%, and 97.5%, respectively.
Those figures are useful only when kept in their named rows. Maximum efficiency reports the highest declared conversion point. European efficiency weights several operating points. Neither figure includes the roof’s shade, temperature, soiling, module mismatch, cable losses, clipping, grid outages, curtailment, or inverter availability.
A 0.2 percentage-point headline difference is too small to rescue a poor string layout. Give MPPT architecture and electrical compatibility priority over a decimal that may occur at one favourable operating point.
Warranty, service, approvals, and price remain open
Warranty and service cannot be ranked like for like from the public datasheets. For all three exact models, ask for the current product-warranty term, remedy, registration deadline, labour coverage, freight responsibility, exclusions, and claim route in writing. Qbits’ public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions.
The same restraint applies to approvals. A standards list or registration number printed on a datasheet is not a substitute for the current certificate file whose scope includes the exact supplied model. A global product datasheet also does not confirm current India stock, local service capacity, or acceptance by a specific DISCOM.
Price is omitted because a fair comparison needs three quotes with the same GST treatment, logger, meter, protection, commissioning, warranty extension, freight, and installation scope. A bare inverter price beside an installed price is not a ranking.
Ask every supplier for:
Final recommendation
Choose GoodWe GW6000-DNS-30 or Sungrow SG6.0RS-L when the roof needs two independent trackers. Their current sheets show a dual-MPPT architecture, but they do not point to a winner on reliability, service, warranty, or price.
Choose Qbits QB-6KTLS when one MPPT and one string are appropriate, its 20 A input and voltage limits fit the exact module design, and the supplier closes the warranty, certificate, and installation-document gaps before payment.
Choose none of these yet if the quote does not identify the exact suffix, mixes KTLS and KTLD specifications, promises backup from an on-grid model, or omits the string calculation. The best 6 kW solar inverter is not the product with the longest feature list. It is the exact, documented model that fits the system you are actually building.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS
- Power
- 4.2–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 4/5/6 KTLD
- Power
- 4–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
QBH 3KS/3K6S/4KS/4K6S/5KS/6KS48P
- Power
- 3–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- 1 or 2 MPPTs by model
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is the best 6 kW solar inverter in India?
Is a 6 kW on-grid inverter suitable for power cuts?
Does a 6 kW inverter need three-phase electricity?
Is dual MPPT always better than single MPPT?
Can a 6 kW inverter run a 6 kW home during an outage?
What is the difference between Qbits QB-6KTLS and QB-6KTLD?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.