Short version. Start with the circuits you need during a power cut and the battery you intend to use. Then compare only exact inverter models that document both. Every specification below comes from the manufacturer’s own datasheet as of October 2026, linked beside each figure. The datasheets are global documents, so confirm that the variant sold in India matches the column you read.
If the main reason for buying is repeated outages, the power-cut buying guide applies a stricter backup and transfer-time test to these models. If you are still deciding between inverter types, the on-grid vs hybrid vs off-grid decision guide comes first.
Battery compatibility comes first
Most best lists rank hybrids by efficiency, MPPT count or app polish. Those matter, but a hybrid exists to charge and use a battery. If the inverter cannot manage your battery correctly, the battery charges slowly, wears early or does not deliver backup at all.
Three battery chemistry tiers you will meet
- Lithium iron phosphate (LFP). The usual choice for new installs. Typical cycle ratings are in the thousands at 80 percent depth of discharge. For example, Victron states 2,500 cycles to 80 percent depth of discharge at 25 degrees C for its LFP batteries, against 600 cycles at 50 percent for its AGM battery. Other makers publish different figures, so read each battery’s own datasheet. LFP normally talks to the inverter through a BMS.
- Other lithium chemistries (NMC and similar). Higher energy density, different voltage curves and different thermal behaviour. Many hybrid inverters list them under “Li-ion”, so check the exact chemistry the supplier has approved, not just the word lithium.
- Lead-acid (VRLA, AGM, tubular). Lower upfront cost per kWh, shallower usable depth of discharge, and no data link needed. Several of the five datasheets list lead-acid, but one lists lithium-ion only and GoodWe’s sheet notes that lead-acid is not available in all markets, so check the variant.
CAN, RS485 and voltage-only charging
A BMS tells the inverter the state of charge, cell temperature and allowed charge and discharge current. Three arrangements are common:
- CAN bus. A fast protocol used by many lithium battery makers. GoodWe’s ES G2 datasheet lists CAN for communication with the BMS.
- RS485 (Modbus or a vendor protocol). Widely supported, but the message set differs between makers. RS485 on both devices does not prove they understand each other.
- Voltage-only (“dumb”) mode. The inverter charges to a set voltage profile and has no cell-level data. It works for lead-acid. With lithium it removes a layer of supervision.
CAN or RS485 labels on both products do not prove they exchange the same messages. A safe pairing needs six checks for the exact inverter and battery:
If the approved pairing is only verbal, treat compatibility as unresolved. For a battery-brand view, see the battery brands guide.
Battery match matrix: backup hours, charge rate and depth of discharge
Three questions, asked in order, turn a pile of datasheets into a battery decision.
Variable 1: backup hours and the battery size they need
List the circuits you want during an outage, add their running watts, and decide how many hours you need. Then:
The worked tables below assume 80 percent usable DoD for LFP and 90 percent battery-to-AC efficiency, so the combined factor is 0.8 x 0.9 = 0.72. Both are planning assumptions. Datasheets print peak efficiency, which real use rarely reaches, so a lower working figure is the cautious choice.
| Critical load | Battery (nominal) | Usable x efficiency | Backup hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.5 kW | 5 kWh | 5 x 0.72 = 3.6 kWh | 3.6 / 1.5 = 2.4 h |
| 2.0 kW | 10 kWh | 10 x 0.72 = 7.2 kWh | 7.2 / 2.0 = 3.6 h |
| 2.5 kW | 10 kWh | 10 x 0.72 = 7.2 kWh | 7.2 / 2.5 = 2.9 h |
| 2.0 kW | 15 kWh | 15 x 0.72 = 10.8 kWh | 10.8 / 2.0 = 5.4 h |
| 3.0 kW | 15 kWh | 15 x 0.72 = 10.8 kWh | 10.8 / 3.0 = 3.6 h |
Read the other way, a 2 kW load for a 4-hour outage needs 2 x 4 / 0.72 = 11.1 kWh of nominal battery. The inverter’s kW rating is a separate limit. It caps the load, not the hours.
Variable 2: charge rate against the solar window
A battery that cannot refill between outages gives less backup each time. Recharge time is:
Two limits set the charging power: the inverter’s battery current, and the solar surplus after daytime loads. Take a 10 kWh battery used down to 80 percent DoD, so 8 kWh must be replaced, and assume 95 percent charge efficiency:
- With 4 kW of average charging power: 8 / (4 x 0.95) = 8 / 3.8 = 2.1 hours.
- With an inverter limited to 30 A at 48 V, which is 1.44 kW: 8 / (1.44 x 0.95) = 8 / 1.368 = 5.8 hours.
Current alone is not comparable across models. At 48 V, 120 A is 5.76 kW. At a 200 V high-voltage battery, 50 A is already 10 kW, which is why Sungrow prints a separate 6,600 W maximum charge power for its 50 A sheet. Always compare current at the battery voltage, and compare it with the PV surplus you can actually expect in the monsoon, not summer noon.
Variable 3: depth of discharge and cycle life
Depth of discharge is the share of the battery’s rated capacity drawn each cycle. Ranges vary by maker, and the maker’s datasheet is the only figure that binds the warranty. As a typical planning range, LFP is often rated for 80 to 90 percent usable DoD, and lead-acid for around 50 percent. Victron’s own comparison above uses 80 percent for LFP and 50 percent for AGM. Deeper discharge shortens life.
To size with a DoD buffer, divide the energy you need by the DoD. If you need 8 kWh usable from an 80 percent DoD battery, specify 8 / 0.8 = 10 kWh nominal. The C-rate glossary explains how charge and discharge speed also affects life. For the full sizing method with a worksheet, use the battery sizing guide.
Five hybrid inverters compared
These are five exact single-phase, 5 kW class hybrid inverters with a clear public datasheet for each. They are listed alphabetically by brand. Specifications are quoted from each manufacturer’s document as of October 2026, in the manufacturer’s own units. Watts and volt-amperes are not treated as interchangeable.
Battery side
| Exact model | Battery window | Max charge and discharge current | Max charge power printed | BMS communication |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | 40 to 60 V | 120 A | Not printed | Self-adaption to BMS; interfaces list Wi-Fi, RS485, CAN |
| GoodWe GW5000-ES-20 | 40 to 60 V (48 V nominal) | 120 A | 5,000 W | CAN |
| Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP | 42 to 59 V | 85 A | 4,000 W (3,000 W if charging from AC only) | Interfaces list RS485, CAN, USB; the protocol is not stated |
| Qbits QBH-5KS48P | 48 V rated; charging voltage configurable up to 60 V | 120 A | Not printed | Not printed in the public datasheet; check the compatibility list with Qbits |
| Sungrow SH5.0RS-20 | 80 to 460 V, Li-ion | 50 A | 6,600 W charge, 5,000 W discharge | Interfaces list RS485, Ethernet, WLAN, CAN |
PV, backup and enclosure side
| Exact model | PV tracking | MPPT window and max PV input | Backup or off-grid output | Peak efficiency | IP | Warranty as printed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 | 2 MPPTs, 18+18 A | 150 to 425 V; 8,000 W max PV input | 5,000 W rated output; peak 2 times rated for 10 s | 97.6% | IP65 | 5 or 10 years, depending on installation site |
| GoodWe GW5000-ES-20 | 2 MPPTs, 16 A each | 60 to 550 V; 7,500 W | 5,000 VA nominal; 10,000 VA for 10 s | 97.6% | IP65 | Not in the datasheet |
| Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP | 2 MPPTs, 13.5 A each | 120 to 550 V; 9,500 W recommended | 4,000 W maximum | 97.5% | IP65 | 5 years standard, 10 years optional |
| Qbits QBH-5KS48P | 2 MPPTs, 18/18 A | 150 to 450 V; 10,000 W max DC input | 5,000 W rated off-grid apparent; above 200% for 15 s | 97.6% | IP66 | Base term not defined in the public datasheet |
| Sungrow SH5.0RS-20 | 2 MPPTs, 16 A each | 40 to 560 V; 7,500 Wp recommended | 5,000 W and 5,000 VA rated off-grid; 8,400 VA for 10 s | 97.7% | IP65 | Not in the datasheet |
Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2
The April 2026 Deye datasheet covers the 3 to 6 kW family, and the 5 kW column gives a 40 to 60 V battery window with 120 A charge and discharge current. Its BMS line reads “Self-adaption to BMS” for lithium-ion, and the interface list includes CAN and RS485. The 5 kW model has two MPPTs at 18+18 A, which suits modern high-current modules, with a narrower 150 to 425 V MPPT window than GoodWe or Growatt.
The sheet gives rated AC output of 5,000 W, maximum apparent power of 5,500 VA and an off-grid peak of twice rated power for 10 seconds. It does not print a separate “backup output” row, so ask the seller what the backup port is rated for.
Conditional reading: keep it under consideration when the battery you want is on a written approved list for this inverter, and when a seller can state which warranty period (5 or 10 years) applies at your site.
GoodWe GW5000-ES-20 (ES G2 family)
GoodWe’s ES G2 datasheet is one of the clearest in this group. It prints the 40 to 60 V window, 120 A charge and discharge current, 5,000 W maximum charge power, CAN communication with the BMS, and a 5,000 VA nominal backup rating with 10,000 VA for 10 seconds. The same sheet shows the GW5000M-ES-20 variant at only 60 A, so read the column for the exact suffix on your quote. The datasheet says the inverter is compatible with low-voltage batteries such as the GoodWe Lynx Home U, and the product page links a separate battery list.
Conditional reading: keep it under consideration when the seller provides the current approved battery list, the India-market unit details and a written warranty and service route. The datasheet does not print a warranty term.
Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP
Growatt’s April 2026 datasheet stops a common sizing mistake. The SPH 5000TL BL-UP is a 5,000 W grid-side model whose maximum backup output is 4,000 W. Its battery window is 42 to 59 V with 85 A maximum charge and discharge current, and continuous charge power is printed as 4,000 W, or 3,000 W when charging from AC alone.
That lower backup figure is not automatically a weakness. A home with a measured essential-load list below 4 kW may not need more. The question is whether the model supports the actual circuits and starting surges assigned to backup.
Conditional reading: keep it under consideration when 4 kW of published backup output covers the designed load and the installer proves the exact battery and India-market model pairing in writing.
Qbits QBH-5KS48P
The Qbits single-phase QBH datasheet lists 48 V rated battery input, charging voltage configurable up to 60 V, 120 A maximum charge and discharge current for the 5KS model, two MPPTs at 18/18 A, a 150 to 450 V MPPT range and 10,000 W maximum DC input. Rated off-grid apparent output is 5,000 W, with an overload above 200 percent for 15 seconds, and maximum efficiency is printed as 97.6 percent in an IP66 enclosure.
The datasheet says “Lithium or lead acid battery” but does not print a BMS protocol or an approved battery list, and Qbits’ public datasheets do not define the base warranty term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions. The single-phase QBH families are on the QBH 3 to 6 kW page and the 7 to 8 kW page.
Conditional reading: keep it under consideration when the quote names the exact battery model, the BMS cable and firmware, and the written warranty terms, after Qbits confirms the pairing from its compatibility list. Those documents matter more than a brand-level promise.
Sungrow SH5.0RS-20
Sungrow’s SH5.0/6.0RS-20 datasheet is a different design. The battery window is 80 to 460 V for Li-ion batteries, so it is built for high-voltage battery stacks, not 48 V banks. Maximum charge current is 50 A, with 6,600 W maximum charge power and 5,000 W discharge power. The earlier SH5.0RS sheet printed 30 A, so confirm which variant your quote names.
Backup rated output is 5,000 W and 5,000 VA, with an 8,400 VA peak for 10 seconds. The sheet prints a backup switch time of under 10 ms and a two-MPPT, 16 A per tracker layout. A footnote gives a higher maximum PV figure than the table, so ask the installer which one applies to the array.
Conditional reading: keep it under consideration when you plan a high-voltage battery from a supplier that has confirmed the pairing in writing. If you already own a 48 V battery, this model is not a candidate.
How we compared
Qbits Energy publishes this article and sells the QBH hybrid range. That commercial interest is why Qbits receives the same checks as every other brand and no special place. Models are listed alphabetically, not ranked.
We checked each manufacturer’s current datasheet in October 2026 and chose five exact single-phase models in the 5 kW class that publish a battery window, battery current, MPPT count and an AC output rating. We did not score price, warranty, service, reliability, certification or battery compatibility. Comparable, current Indian data was not available for all five.
This is not a census of the market. Other models from other makers may meet the same criteria, and omission is not disqualification. A column left as “not printed” means the public document does not state it, not that the product lacks it.
Choose the capacity segment before the brand
A hybrid inverter has two sizing jobs. Its power rating must handle loads that run together. The battery must supply the energy those loads need over time. A monthly bill answers neither.
3 to 4.6 kW, single phase
This fits homes with a limited backup board, such as lights, fans, a refrigerator, a router and selected sockets. The Qbits catalogue covers QBH-3KS through QBH-4K6S48P with battery current from 75 A to 110 A by model. Do not assume models are interchangeable because the kW range overlaps. Their charge-current limits and backup outputs change by variant, so mark the exact column used for the design.
5 to 6 kW, single phase
This is the segment compared above. It leaves room for more simultaneous loads, but it does not create whole-home backup. Air conditioners, pumps and refrigerators add starting surges that running-watt totals hide. The hybrid inverter selection guide turns a load list into seller questions.
7 to 8 kW, single phase
The Qbits QBH 7 to 8 kW page covers QBH-7KS, 7K6S and 8KS48P with two MPPTs. The 8 kW comparison checks Qbits against exact GoodWe and Deye models, including a conflicting battery-current statement to resolve before design approval.
5 to 12 kW, three phase
The three-phase QBH page spans 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 and 12 kW with a 48 V rated battery input and 120 A to 250 A battery current by model. A three-phase grid connection does not decide how backup circuits are distributed, so the single-line diagram should show the phase arrangement. We do not rank this segment because we could not find a comparable current competitor table.
PM Surya Ghar with a hybrid inverter
The central scheme pays on solar module capacity, not on the inverter or the battery. In the MNRE operational guidelines for the residential component (guideline text read in October 2026; later clarifications may apply):
- Assistance is 30,000 rupees per kWp for the first 2 kWp and 18,000 rupees per kWp for the third, with no additional assistance beyond 3 kWp. Special-category states have higher rates.
- The guideline says an installation “may include additional technology components such as small wind hybrids, battery storage”, but the assistance is calculated on module capacity only. A battery therefore adds cost but no central subsidy.
- Assistance does not depend on inverter size. It follows the rated DC capacity of the modules.
- Off-grid installations are not eligible. For systems that connect to the grid without exporting, such as battery hybrid systems, the guideline says eligibility is “subject to approval by the respective Electricity Regulatory Commissions”.
- Modules must be manufactured in India, and modules and inverters must meet the standards MNRE prescribes.
Rules change by order and by state, so verify at pmsuryaghar.gov.in and with your DISCOM. The PM Surya Ghar guide walks through the application. Never treat a slab as a guaranteed amount for a given household.
Battery sizing for outage scenarios
Outage patterns vary far more by feeder than by state. Ministry of Power replies to Parliament give national average supply for FY 2024-25 of 22.6 hours a day in rural areas and 23.4 hours in urban areas (Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question 1746, 4 August 2025). Those are state-reported averages, so short cuts and local faults hide inside them. Use your own outage log, not a regional average, to size storage.
Using the formula above (required nominal kWh = load x hours / 0.72), these are the nominal LFP batteries that cover each load and outage length, before rounding up to the next available module size:
| Critical load | 2-hour outage | 4-hour outage | 6-hour outage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.5 kW | 3 / 0.72 = 4.2 kWh | 6 / 0.72 = 8.3 kWh | 9 / 0.72 = 12.5 kWh |
| 2.0 kW | 4 / 0.72 = 5.6 kWh | 8 / 0.72 = 11.1 kWh | 12 / 0.72 = 16.7 kWh |
| 2.5 kW | 5 / 0.72 = 6.9 kWh | 10 / 0.72 = 13.9 kWh | 15 / 0.72 = 20.8 kWh |
A larger battery is only useful if the inverter can charge it. A 16.7 kWh battery on a model limited to 85 A at 48 V (about 4.1 kW) needs several sunny hours to refill. The battery sizing guide adds a loads worksheet, runtime checks and a combined PV and battery example.
Common mistakes when buying a hybrid inverter
Choosing the inverter before the battery. If your preferred battery is not on the inverter’s approved list, you either change the battery or return the inverter. Decide chemistry, brand and capacity in parallel with the inverter.
Treating the inverter kW as battery capacity. A 5 kW hybrid does not contain 5 kWh of storage. With a 5 kWh battery and a 2 kW load, the planning figure is 5 x 0.72 / 2 = 1.8 hours, not the 2.5 hours that 5 / 2 suggests and certainly not five hours.
Ignoring charge limits in the monsoon. Cloudy months cut the solar surplus, so a large bank with a modest charge limit can refill only partly between outages. Size the charge path for the weaker season.
Assuming “LFP compatible” means every LFP battery. BMS protocols are not fully standardised, and each maker approves specific battery models. Ask for the approved pairing by model number.
Buying on peak efficiency. The difference across the five sheets is 97.5 to 97.7 percent. That gap is smaller than the effect of choosing the wrong backup rating.
Verifying subsidy treatment after signing. Confirm with the DISCOM, before the deposit, how a hybrid system will be treated, using the guideline wording above.
Check the hybrid is the right size
Before calling an installer, run a three-step check.
Step 1: load audit. List what must run during a cut and multiply watts by hours. For a 3 BHK with these circuits:
- 4 ceiling fans x 75 W x 8 h = 2,400 Wh
- 8 LED lights x 10 W x 5 h = 400 Wh
- 1 refrigerator x 150 W x 24 h x 50% compressor duty = 1,800 Wh
- Phones and Wi-Fi router = 200 Wh
- Total: 4,800 Wh (4.8 kWh)
Step 2: battery. Divide by usable DoD and efficiency: 4.8 / 0.72 = 6.7 kWh nominal. Round up to the next module size your battery supplier offers.
Step 3: inverter. The inverter must carry the load that runs together, not the daily total. Running watts add up to about 300 (fans) + 80 (lights) + 150 (refrigerator) + 50 (router and chargers) = 580 W, plus the refrigerator compressor’s starting surge, which is on its nameplate. Even a 3 kW inverter has large headroom here, so a bigger model is justified by what you may add later, such as a water pump or air conditioner, and not by this list.
Then confirm string compatibility with the string sizing calculator before the DC wiring is finalised.
For installers: sizing PV and battery together
Array and battery should be sized together, not in sequence. On a new install, sizing the battery first and the array second tends to produce a battery that the array cannot refill after a long outage, or an array that exports at a low rate while the battery sits full. Check three numbers together: the peak sun the array delivers in your worst month, the inverter’s maximum charge power at the battery voltage, and the load that must still run in the evening. The Qbits QBH models list 1 or 2 MPPTs and per-tracker current limits by model, so check the exact column for the string layout.
What most best lists get wrong
Efficiency is easy to rank because every datasheet prints a percentage. It is rarely the binding constraint in a hybrid purchase. An inverter with the highest peak efficiency can still be wrong if its backup output is too low or the battery pairing is unsupported. Peak efficiency also says nothing about field reliability or service quality.
The same applies to warranty years. A headline term does not tell you the remedy, exclusions, registration deadline, labour cover or who handles the claim. Get the current written terms for the exact model.
The document pack to request with both final quotes
Give each seller the same request. The replies are more useful than another brand score.
| Document or answer | What it must identify |
|---|---|
| Exact inverter datasheet | Full model number, phase, MPPT limits, grid output and backup output |
| Approved battery document | Battery make, model, voltage, firmware and communication protocol |
| Single-line diagram | PV, grid, battery, backup board, protection, metering and isolation |
| Backup load schedule | Running load, starting surge and the circuit assigned to backup |
| Written warranty | Term, remedy, exclusions, registration, labour and claim route |
| Compliance documents | Exact model, issuing body, document number, validity and project relevance |
| Commercial quote | Inverter, battery, accessories, protection, wiring, commissioning and exclusions |
| Local service route | Named entity responsible for commissioning and after-sales support |
For price comparison, keep inverter-only offers separate from battery-inclusive and fully installed offers. The hybrid inverter price guide shows how unlike scopes create a false bargain. Qbits pricing is quote-based, so use the datasheet library to attach exact model documents to your request.
Final decision
The five documented models show the pattern. Deye, GoodWe and Qbits publish 5,000 W or 5,000 VA class output with a 48 V-class battery window. Growatt limits backup to 4,000 W. Sungrow’s sheet is built for high-voltage batteries, which changes the whole battery decision. None wins every home, and models outside this table deserve the same checks.
Remove any model that cannot prove the exact battery pairing or backup duty. Compare the survivors on written commercial and service terms. That sequence is slower than picking the first brand on a list, but it protects the part of the system you need during an outage.
Review the current Qbits hybrid inverter families and exact model documents before requesting a model-specific quote.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QBH 3KS/3K6S/4KS/4K6S/5KS/6KS48P
- Power
- 3–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- 1 or 2 MPPTs by model
QBH 7KS/7K6S/8KS48P
- Power
- 7–8 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
QBH 5/6/7/8/10/12KS48P3
- Power
- 5–12 kW
- Phase
- Three-phase
- MPPT
- 1 or 2 MPPTs by model
Frequently Asked Questions
Which hybrid solar inverter is best for a home in India?
Can I use any battery with a hybrid solar inverter?
How many hours of backup can a 5 kW hybrid inverter provide?
Is a hybrid inverter better than an on-grid inverter for Indian homes?
Does PM Surya Ghar cover hybrid solar inverters?
What is the difference between LFP and lead-acid battery compatibility in hybrid inverters?
Can I add a battery to a hybrid inverter later if I buy it without one today?
What is the charge rate limit and why does it matter for backup?
How do I check hybrid inverter service coverage near me?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.