The best solar battery brand in India depends on the exact battery and inverter pairing, not the logo on the case. From the manufacturer documents compared here, Pylontech US5000 has the most complete datasheet for a roughly 5 kWh lithium quote. For a 150 Ah tubular quote, the Luminous LPTT 12150H and Livguard LS15060PTT pages both print capacity, cycle life and warranty. These are documentation verdicts, not claims about reliability, price, service or compatibility.
Qbits publishes this guide and sells hybrid inverters. Qbits does not sell batteries. A battery brand mentioned here is not approved for a Qbits inverter unless the exact pairing is confirmed in current written evidence.
How the shortlist was chosen
We checked six brands that Indian homeowners are likely to meet: Pylontech, Luminous, Livguard, Loom Solar, Exide and Amaron. Product pages and datasheets were read between 26 September and 14 October 2026. Each figure below is as printed by the manufacturer on that date, and manufacturers revise these documents, so check the revision date before you buy.
The method has five rules:
- Compare within a battery class. A 12 V, 150 Ah tubular battery is not compared with a rack-mounted lithium module as if they were interchangeable.
- Use exact-product documents. Brand reputation, marketplace reviews and unsourced dealer tables do not tell you whether a product fits.
- Mark missing fields as unknown. We do not estimate voltage, usable energy, current limits, warranty coverage or service reach. Where a brand’s own site blocked us or did not publish a field, the review says so.
- Do not score reliability. No comparable independent field-failure data exists for these products, so there are no scores or rankings here.
- Make compatibility a separate gate. Matching voltage or communication-port labels do not mean two devices can operate together.
This approach favours transparent documentation. It does not mean the first product in a table will perform better at your home.
Evidence-led verdicts by use case
| Your situation | Product to investigate first | Why it leads this comparison | What the verdict does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| New roughly 5 kWh lithium quote | Pylontech US5000 | Its datasheet prints nominal and usable energy, depth of discharge, current limits, communication ports, temperature limits, design life and enclosure rating | India availability, price, local service, India warranty, inverter compatibility or site life |
| Existing 12 V, 150 Ah tubular system | Luminous LPTT 12150H | Its page prints 12 V, 150 Ah at C10, up to 1,500 cycles at 80% DoD, a 72 month warranty and the filled weight | Fit with the existing charger, bank layout, warranty remedy after the free period, cycle life at your site or backup time |
| Second 150 Ah tubular quote | Livguard LS15060PTT | Its page prints 12 V, 150 Ah at C10, 2,000 cycles at 80% DoD and 36 months free replacement then pro rata to 60 months | Complete charging profile, service outcome or interchangeability with the Luminous model |
| India-storefront lithium alternative | Loom Solar CAML-10051 Rack-Mount | The page prints voltage, charge and discharge current, communication and a 5 year warranty | The page title says 5.12 kWh while its technical table says 4.92 kWh at 0.2C, and it prints no cycle count. Resolve both before selection |
Exide and Amaron are covered in the brand-by-brand section below. Their public pages we could read are warranty and range pages rather than full datasheets, so they sit in the quote set without a documentation verdict.
Lithium comparison: Pylontech US5000 vs Loom Solar CAML-10051
The table below reports manufacturer-published specifications. It does not say the two products are compatible with the same inverter.
| Decision field | Pylontech US5000 | Loom Solar CAML-10051 Rack-Mount |
|---|---|---|
| Published chemistry | LFP | LiFePO4 |
| Published nominal voltage | 48 VDC | 51.2 V |
| Published nominal energy | 4.8 kWh | Product title: 5.12 kWh; technical table: 4.92 kWh at 0.2C |
| Published usable energy | 4.56 kWh (95% depth of discharge) | Not stated on the product page |
| Published cycle life | More than 6,000 cycles at 25 °C | Not stated on the product page |
| Published normal or standard current | 100 A charge and discharge | Standard charge and discharge below 50 A |
| Published maximum current | 101 to 120 A for 15 minutes; 121 to 200 A for 15 seconds | 70 A maximum charge; 100 A maximum discharge when initial temperature is below 30°C; higher short-duration values are separately listed |
| Published communication | RS485 and CAN | RS485 and CAN |
| Published installation constraint | IP20; the datasheet prints charge and discharge from -10°C to 55°C, while the product page has shown 0°C to 55°C for charging | No enclosure rating stated on the product page; charge and discharge temperature ranges are published |
| Open issues before purchase | India distributor, India warranty and exact inverter pairing remain unverified | Resolve the 5.12 kWh versus 4.92 kWh conflict, ask for the cycle rating and obtain written confirmation of the exact inverter pairing |
Pylontech leads this narrow lithium review because its datasheet is clearer on energy, depth of discharge, current and environment. That is a documentation advantage. It is not evidence of lower failure rates, better India service or lower ownership cost. The datasheet also prints its nominal-voltage cell as a stray “8”, so confirm the 48 V figure from the product page or the distributor.
The Loom Solar page provides useful current and communication fields, but the energy conflict matters. Ask the seller to identify the controlling datasheet revision and state nominal and usable energy in writing before comparing the quote.
Tubular comparison: Luminous LPTT 12150H vs Livguard LS15060PTT vs Amaron AM150TT42
All three are presented by their manufacturers as 12 V, 150 Ah tubular batteries. The Amaron page rates capacity at C20 rather than C10, so its Ah figure is not directly comparable with the other two.
| Decision field | Luminous LPTT 12150H | Livguard LS15060PTT | Amaron AM150TT42 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published technology | Tubular battery | Tubular plates, C10 deep-cycle solar battery | Tall tubular, flooded |
| Published voltage and capacity | 12 V; 150 Ah at C10 | 12 V; 150 Ah at C10 | 12 V; 150 Ah at C20 |
| Published cycle life | Up to 1,500 cycles at 80% DoD | 2,000 cycles at 80% DoD | Not stated on the page we read |
| Published warranty | 72 months (split between free and pro rata not stated) | 36 months free replacement, then pro rata to 60 months | 54 months total: 36 free, 18 pro rata |
| Published size and weight | 50.2 x 19.1 x 44 cm; 60 kg filled | 505 x 188 x 410 mm; 53.2 kg with acid | Not collected |
| Maintenance printed | Top up once every 8 to 10 months | Initial top up every 8 to 10 months | Not collected |
| Complete charging profile | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the page we read |
| Conditional verdict | Investigate first when replacing a documented 12 V, 150 Ah C10 tubular battery | A valid second quote, with the charging document requested | Compare after confirming the C20 rating against your load and the solar-duty rating |
Brand-by-brand review
Each entry lists what the brand’s own document says as of October 2026. Where a field was not available to us, it is marked as such.
Pylontech US5000
Chemistry and size. LFP, 4.8 kWh nominal, 4.56 kWh usable at 95% depth of discharge, in a 442 x 420 x 161 mm module weighing 39.7 kg. Life. More than 6,000 cycles and a 15 year design life, both stated at 25 °C. Warranty as printed. The Pylontech warranty document we found is for Australia and New Zealand. It states ten years from the earlier of installation or six months after manufacture, and it covers repair or replacement of a defective product. It applies only when the product is bought from an authorised reseller in that territory, so it does not establish an India term.
Suits: a lithium quote where a full datasheet matters and the system can use RS485 or CAN. Check: India distributor, India warranty in writing, and the inverter pairing. The datasheet is dated by its document code EN-SD-250424.
Livguard
Tubular line. The LS15060PTT is 12 V, 150 Ah at C10 with 2,000 cycles at 80% DoD. The product page prints 36 months of free replacement followed by pro rata cover from 37 to 60 months. Lithium line. Livguard’s Lithium X 1500 is a 12.8 V, 100 Ah, 1.28 kWh lithium unit sold as an inverter and battery in one cabinet, with an 8 year warranty on the page. It is not a stand-alone 48 V module for a hybrid inverter, and the page gives no cycle count. We did not find a Livguard 48 V home storage module on its solar pages.
Suits: a second tubular quote for an existing 12 V bank. Check: the complete charging profile, and the remedy after the 36 free months.
Exide
Exide’s 12 V SolaTubular warranty page lists 6LMS and 6SBZ tubular models with 36 months from the date of sale (42 months from manufacture, whichever is earlier), and the “L” models with 60 months from sale (66 from manufacture). It publishes charging setpoints for flooded batteries at 25 to 30 °C: charging current of 10 to 20 percent of the Ah rating, 2.60 V per cell for bulk and 2.30 V per cell for float. It also says a battery connected without a charge controller or inverter is treated as wilful abuse. Exide’s solar pages list tubular flooded, gel and AGM VRLA products, and we found no Exide lithium home storage module to cite. The page also says warranty is lost for non-solar use or for additives in the electrolyte.
Suits: a replacement in an existing tubular system where a 60 month “L” model is offered. Check: the exact model suffix (for example 6LMS150 versus 6LMS150L) because the term differs. We found no cycle rating on an Exide page we could read, so ask for the datasheet.
Amaron
Amaron’s AM150TT42 page lists a 12 V, 150 Ah (C20) tall tubular flooded battery with 54 months of warranty: 36 free and 18 pro rata. Amaron’s warranty terms page asks for the original invoice and warranty card. The pages we found carry this battery in the “inverter batteries” range, and we did not find an Amaron page labelled as a solar battery range. If a seller offers an Amaron model for daily solar cycling, ask Amaron in writing that the model is rated for that duty.
Suits: a tubular replacement quote where the 36 free months are acceptable. Check: solar-duty rating, and that the C20 capacity matches the load you plan.
Loom Solar
The CAML-10051 Rack-Mount is LiFePO4 at 51.2 V with a 44.8 to 57.6 V range, a 56.0 V charge voltage and a 54.6 V float voltage. It weighs 46 kg and measures 482 x 460 x 133.5 mm. The page prints a “5-year manufacturing and performance warranty”. It prints no cycle count and no usable-energy figure, and its energy values conflict (5.12 kWh in the title, 4.92 kWh in the table). The listed price on 14 October 2026 was Rs 1,08,000, down from Rs 1,30,000, with no tax statement.
Suits: a lithium quote from an India storefront, once the datasheet gaps are closed. Check: controlling datasheet revision, cycle rating, usable energy, and inverter pairing.
Luminous
The LPTT 12150H is a 12 V, 150 Ah (C10) tubular battery. The page prints “up to 1500 cycles @ 80% DOD”, a 72 month warranty and a listed price of Rs 17,999 including taxes (shown against a Rs 21,200 MRP). It weighs 60 kg filled and needs topping up once every 8 to 10 months.
Suits: replacing a documented 12 V tubular battery in an existing bank. Check: the split between free and pro rata warranty months, and the maximum charge current.
How India’s heat affects batteries
Datasheet cycle ratings are set at a stated temperature, usually 25 °C. Pylontech prints its cycle life and design life “at 25 °C”. Indian rooms, battery cupboards and covered terraces often run warmer than that during summer, and the effect is not small.
- Sealed lead-acid: Battery University gives a guideline that each 8 °C rise cuts the life of a sealed lead-acid battery in half. A battery rated for 10 years at 25 °C would last about 5 years at 33 °C. Flooded tubular batteries cope with heat better, but they lose water faster, which is why Luminous and Livguard print top-up intervals.
- Cycle life at temperature: Battery University’s discharge temperature article says cycle life falls by about 20 percent at 30 °C and 40 percent at 40 °C, relative to a moderate room temperature.
- Lithium: Battery University says environmental conditions, and especially a full battery kept hot, drive lithium-ion ageing as much as cycling does. LFP tolerates heat better than other lithium chemistries, but a cool, ventilated indoor location still helps.
Battery sizing: how much capacity do you need?
Choose the chemistry and brand after you know the energy you need. The full method is in the hybrid battery-sizing guide. In short:
- Load energy (Wh) = running load (W) x backup hours.
- Usable battery energy needed = load energy / inverter efficiency.
- Nominal battery energy = usable energy / depth of discharge.
- Battery Ah = nominal Wh / system voltage.
Efficiency of 0.95 and the depth of discharge are assumptions for illustration. Use the values your datasheets print.
| Case | Load energy | Usable energy at 0.95 efficiency | Nominal energy | Ah at 48 V |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 W for 4 h, lithium at 80% DoD | 2,000 Wh | 2,105 Wh | 2,632 Wh | 54.8 Ah |
| 1,000 W for 6 h, lithium at 80% DoD | 6,000 Wh | 6,316 Wh | 7,895 Wh | 164.5 Ah |
For the second case, the Pylontech US5000 prints 4.56 kWh usable per module, so 6.316 / 4.56 is 1.39 and you need two modules. A single 48 V string of four 12 V, 150 Ah tubular batteries holds 7.2 kWh nominal, or 5.76 kWh at the 80% DoD the Luminous and Livguard pages rate their cycle life at, which is below 6.316 kWh, so that case needs a second string.
Check that the battery’s own charge and discharge current limits agree with the inverter. Qbits QBH datasheets print a maximum charge and discharge current of 75 to 120 A for the 3 to 6 kW single-phase family, 175 to 190 A for 7 to 8 kW, and 120 to 250 A for the three-phase family, by model. A battery rated for 70 A maximum charge, like the Loom Solar page lists, needs the inverter’s charge current limit set to the battery’s limit. For pairing on a QBH inverter, ask Qbits to confirm the exact model, as the datasheets do not print a communication protocol or approved battery list. Datasheets are on the Qbits datasheet page, and the QBH 3 to 6 kW model page lists the single-phase family.
Lithium vs VRLA: 10-year cost of ownership
Price per kWh is the wrong comparison, because the two chemistries are usable to different depths and last for different numbers of cycles. Use this formula:
where units bought = round up of (cycles used in 10 years / rated cycles), and cycles used in 10 years is about 3,650 at one full cycle a day.
This is an illustration using two listed prices from 14 October 2026. It excludes discounting, price changes, labour, the charger or inverter differences, and capacity fade. It also assumes the datasheet cycle rating holds at your room temperature, which the heat section above shows is optimistic.
| Item | Luminous LPTT 12150H (tubular) | Loom Solar CAML-10051 (lithium) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed price | Rs 17,999 incl. taxes | Rs 1,08,000, tax treatment not stated |
| Nominal energy | 12 V x 150 Ah = 1.8 kWh | 4.92 kWh (technical table) |
| Assumed depth of discharge | 80% (as the cycle rating is printed) | 80% (our assumption; the page prints none) |
| Usable energy | 1.8 x 0.80 = 1.44 kWh | 4.92 x 0.80 = 3.94 kWh |
| Rated cycles | Up to 1,500 | Not printed; assume 3,650 or more |
| Units bought in 10 years | 3,650 / 1,500 = 2.43, so 3 | 1 |
| 10-year spend | 3 x 17,999 = Rs 53,997 | Rs 1,08,000 |
| 10-year cost per usable kWh | 53,997 / 1.44 = about Rs 37,500 | 1,08,000 / 3.936 = about Rs 27,400 |
On these inputs, the lithium unit costs less per usable kWh over 10 years only if its datasheet confirms at least 3,650 cycles at the depth you will use. If the real rating were 2,000 cycles you would buy it twice. Change the inputs to your own quotes. If outages are rare, cycles used in 10 years can be far below 3,650 and the tubular option may need fewer replacements. As cycling approaches daily, the lithium option gains.
Which brand for which buyer
| Buyer situation | Start the quote conversation with | Check first |
|---|---|---|
| New lithium system, full datasheet needed | Pylontech US5000 | India distributor, India warranty, written inverter pairing |
| Lithium from an India storefront | Loom Solar CAML-10051 | Energy conflict (5.12 vs 4.92 kWh), cycle rating, warranty conditions |
| Replacing a documented 12 V, 150 Ah tubular battery | Luminous LPTT 12150H or Livguard LS15060PTT | Free versus pro rata months, charging profile |
| Tubular replacement with a long free-replacement period | Exide 6LMS-L (60 months from sale), Amaron AM150TT42 (36 months free) | Exact model suffix, solar-duty rating, C10 versus C20 capacity |
| Hybrid inverter already chosen | Any of the above after pairing is confirmed | Inverter model, firmware, charge current limit and charging setpoints |
What we did not use to choose a winner
Price
No price ranking is published. A displayed unit price can exclude the number of batteries required, rack or cabinet, cables, protection, communications hardware, installation, transport and tax treatment. Compare written quotes only after the battery architecture and scope match.
Warranty and service
A headline warranty duration does not reveal the remedy, capacity threshold, registration deadline, transport responsibility, labour coverage, pro-rata treatment or exclusions. Request the current warranty document for the exact model and confirm the claim route in writing.
Cycle life and expected life
Cycle claims are not comparable unless depth of discharge, temperature, charge and discharge rate, end-of-life capacity and test method are aligned.
Safety certification
A standard number on a product page is not enough to establish that the unit offered to you is covered by a current certificate. Ask for the certificate, model schedule, issuing body and validity details for the exact SKU.
Compatibility is the purchase gate
For lithium, check nominal and operating voltage, charge and discharge current, CAN or RS485 protocol, cable pinout, firmware, approved module count and inverter settings. A shared connector name does not guarantee protocol support.
For tubular lead-acid batteries, check the charging profile, bank voltage, current limit, low-voltage cutoff, equalisation requirements, ventilation and maintenance instructions. As one example, Exide prints a bulk setpoint of 2.60 V per cell for its flooded tubular range. A 48 V bank has 24 cells, so that is 24 x 2.60 = 62.4 V, while Qbits QBH datasheets print a maximum charging voltage of 60 V or below, configurable. Ask the seller and Qbits to confirm which bulk voltage the bank will use. The battery connection guide explains why the power path and communications path need separate checks.
Final shortlist
- Pylontech US5000: first product to investigate for a roughly 5 kWh lithium quote when datasheet detail matters. India warranty and inverter pairing still need proof.
- Luminous LPTT 12150H and Livguard LS15060PTT: the two 150 Ah tubular pages with printed cycle life and warranty. Compare the warranty remedy after the free period.
- Amaron AM150TT42 and Exide 6LMS150L: tubular quotes to request datasheets for, with the solar-duty rating confirmed.
- Loom Solar CAML-10051 Rack-Mount: consider after the seller resolves the energy conflict and supplies a cycle rating and exact pairing evidence.
If you are choosing between chemistries, read the lithium versus lead-acid guide. Then use the QBH hybrid inverter family page to identify the inverter model you are evaluating, and request current written battery-pairing evidence before choosing a battery.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QBH 3KS/3K6S/4KS/4K6S/5KS/6KS48P
- Power
- 3–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- 1 or 2 MPPTs by model
QBH 7KS/7K6S/8KS48P
- Power
- 7–8 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
QBH 5/6/7/8/10/12KS48P3
- Power
- 5–12 kW
- Phase
- Three-phase
- MPPT
- 1 or 2 MPPTs by model
Frequently Asked Questions
Which solar battery brand is best in India?
Is lithium or VRLA better for an Indian home?
What is the price range of solar batteries in India in 2026?
How long do solar batteries last in India?
Is Pylontech available in India with local service?
Which solar battery brand has the best warranty in India?
Can I use a VRLA or tubular battery with a hybrid inverter?
Which BMS protocol do lithium solar batteries use?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.