Skip to content
Comparison

Qbits vs Luminous Solar Inverter Comparison

Qbits vs Luminous solar inverters: footprint, product scope, warranty terms, service reach, grid code, and which buyer should pick each brand.

Q
Qbits Editorial
September 23, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 20 min read read

Most brand-versus-brand inverter pages are decided before the first paragraph. This one tries not to be. The honest finding is that Qbits and Luminous are not the same kind of company, and the overlap between them is narrower than the search query suggests. Luminous is a broad consumer energy business with a very large retail network and a range spanning panels, batteries, home inverters and monitoring. Qbits is a grid-tied and hybrid solar inverter specialist selling through dealers and service partners. Both sell solar inverters. Almost everything else about how you buy from them differs.

What follows: who each company is by published footprint, the home UPS versus grid-tied distinction that decides most of these purchases, where the ranges genuinely compete, a specification table with a verification column, warranty compared as terms rather than headline years, service and retail reach, monitoring, Indian grid-code behaviour, a worked string calculation, a fit test naming which buyer should pick Luminous, and the questions to put to each dealer in writing.

Short version. Luminous is the stronger choice when you want a single consumer brand to supply the panels, battery, inverter and installation, with retail and service coverage almost everywhere in India. Qbits is the stronger choice when the inverter is the decision that matters, you need grid-tied or hybrid string inverters from 1.5 kW to 320 kW, and you are already sourcing modules and labour separately.

Who Qbits and Luminous actually are

Footprint is published, so start there rather than with opinion.

Luminous Power Technologies Pvt. Ltd. publishes 38+ years of experience, 41+ countries served, 8 manufacturing units, a 100K+ strong channel network, 100Mn+ customers and 6000+ employees, according to the Luminous India about page (checked 24 September 2026). Head office is at Plot No. 150, Sector 44, Gurgaon, with a registered office in Mayapuri, New Delhi.

Qbits sells through a dealer channel and a published service-partner locator, and this page does not rely on any Qbits footprint figure. The Luminous numbers are brand claims taken from its own about page and have not been independently audited here, so read them as scale indicators rather than performance evidence.

The gap in years and channel count is not small, and it matters commercially. A 38-year consumer brand carries shelf presence, dealer familiarity, financing tie-ups and name recognition that a younger specialist does not. If your decision weight sits on brand recognition and retail reach, Luminous leads on both and the comparison can stop here.

Home UPS, PCU, or grid-tied string inverter: which one you need

Answer capsule: These are three different machines. A home UPS converts battery DC to AC for backup and harvests no solar on its own. A PCU, or power conditioning unit, combines a solar charge controller, a battery charger and an inverter in one off-grid box. A grid-tied string inverter converts array DC to grid-synchronised AC and exports surplus under net metering. Buying the wrong category is the most expensive mistake on this page.

Luminous heritage sits in the first two. The consumer business grew from home inverters and inverter batteries, and the solar range extended outward from that base. The current catalogue shows it.

On the Luminous solar inverters page (checked 24 September 2026), the off-grid block lists Solar NXE at 5 kVA, Solar NXE Pro at 15 kVA, Solarverter Pro PCU from 2 kVA to 10.1 kVA, Solarverter PCU from 2 kVA to 5 kVA, NXP Pro 3500 and NXP 3500 at 3 kVA, plus NXG Pro and NXG solar inverters. Separately, Luminous sells home inverters, high capacity inverters and batteries as their own categories.

Qbits has no off-grid PCU line and no home UPS line at all. The range is grid-tied string inverters and battery hybrids, nothing else.

The practical test is simple. To export surplus and cut import units on your bill, you need a grid-tied inverter and a net metering approval. To keep lights and fans on during a cut, a home UPS with a battery is cheaper and does that job. For both, you need a hybrid. Work through the on-grid, hybrid and off-grid decision guide before shortlisting a model, and read the solar inverter versus UPS distinction if a salesperson has used the two terms interchangeably.

Where the ranges overlap, and what the datasheets publish

Answer capsule: Real competition sits in two bands. Grid-tied residential and small commercial, roughly 3 kW to 100 kW, where Luminous NXI and NXI T meet the Qbits TLS, TLD and TLC families. And single-phase residential hybrid at 3 kVA to 5 kVA, where the Luminous Single Phase Hybrid TX meets the Qbits QBH range. Outside those bands, one brand usually has no comparable product.

On the Luminous solar inverters page (checked 24 September 2026), the grid-tie block lists NXI “available in capacities from 2kW-100 kW” in single and three phase, NXI A at 250 kW and 350 kW in three phase, noted as suited to utility scale and the KUSUM scheme, and NXI T at 3 kW, 5 kW and 10 kW. The hybrid block lists Single Phase Hybrid TX in 3, 4 and 5 kVA, three-phase Hybrid TX up to 250 kVA, and Hybrid TX Max in three phase.

Only published values appear below. The last column names what you still have to check on the current datasheet, because a table on any vendor site goes stale.

Qbits vs Luminous published specifications, with what to verify on the current datasheet
SpecificationQbits (published)Luminous (published)Verify on the current datasheet
Single-phase on-gridQB 1.5 to 4.0KTLS and QB 4.2 to 6KTLS, 1.5 kW to 6 kWNXI T at 3, 5, 10 kW; NXI from 2 kW upwardExact kW steps stocked in your state
Three-phase top endQB 225/320K-EHV, 99.02% maximum efficiency, 12 MPPTs standardNXI A at 250 kW and 350 kWWeighted efficiency, not only peak
Peak efficiency, on-grid98% to 99.02% by model, per the current Qbits product recordsNot stated on the category pageThe figure for your exact SKU
DC window, single phase40 to 600 V MPPT, 600 V maximum DC on QB 4.2 to 6KTLSNot stated on the category pageMaximum system voltage and MPPT window
Grid AC window90 to 290 Vac adjustable on QB 4.2 to 6KTLSNot stated on the category pageFactory default versus DISCOM-mandated setting
Hybrid rangeQBH 3KS to 6KS48P and QBH 7KS to 8KS48P single phase; QBH 5 to 12KS48P3 three phaseSingle Phase Hybrid TX at 3, 4, 5 kVA; three phase up to 250 kVAkVA versus kW rating and the power factor assumed
Hybrid battery bus48 V nominal class, 75 A to 250 A battery current by model48 V on the Single Phase Hybrid TXBMS protocol and the approved battery model list
Hybrid DC window150 to 450 V MPPT, 500 V maximum DC on QBH 3KS to 6KS48PNot stated on the category pageMaximum modules per string at your design temperature
Enclosure ratingIP66 on every series in the current Qbits product records, including all three QBH hybrid entriesNot stated on the pages checkedIP rating for the exact SKU and the mounting position
Transfer to backupUPS switching within 10 secondsNot stated on the category pageTransfer time, and whether your loads tolerate it
Monitoring hardwareWi-Fi standard, optional RS485 or GPRSConnectX app plus a separate Data Logger lineWhether a logger or SIM is a separate purchase

Two honest reads of that table. First, Qbits publishes more electrical detail at SKU level, because a specialist has fewer SKUs and its buyer is usually a designer. Second, “not stated on the category page” is not a product deficiency. Luminous publishes at series level there, and the model detail sits in the datasheet behind it. Request it and the column fills in.

If the topology vocabulary is new, start with the string inverter definition.

Warranty: read the terms, not the years

Answer capsule: A warranty is a contract, not a number. Two products with the same headline year count can differ on remedy, freight liability, labour, registration deadline and exclusions. A longer term with a repair-only remedy and buyer-paid transport can settle worse than a shorter one with replacement and courier included.

Qbits publishes an expandable warranty. The note carried on every Qbits product page states that the public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, the remedy, the registration deadline or the exclusions. So there is no published Qbits duration to set against the Luminous figures, and the comparison has to wait until you obtain the current written warranty for the exact quoted model.

On claims, no current written Qbits service term sets a dispatch time, so ask for the committed action after approval in writing. Note also that approval and dispatch are two separate conditions, and neither is a delivery date.

Luminous lists a 2-year base warranty in its general warranty material. Individual store listings have shown longer terms on specific models, including 36 months on a Solar Hybrid TX 3 kVA listing captured on 24 September 2026. Treat that as a documentation question rather than an inconsistency worth accusing anyone of. Base warranty and model-specific warranty are commonly different figures, and promotional extensions are normal in Indian retail. Ask which document governs your invoice, and get the version number into the quotation.

Warranty terms to compare between brands, and why each decides a claim
Warranty term to compareWhy it decides the claim
RemedyRepair, replacement, credit, or seller discretion
Registration deadlineA missed window can void an otherwise valid claim
Freight and removalWho pays to get the unit off the roof and to the service point
LabourReplacement units are often free while labour is not
TransferabilityMatters on resale and on tenanted commercial roofs
ExclusionsLightning, surge, water ingress, rodent damage, unauthorised work
Governing document versionThe number on the quotation, not the number on the website

For the mechanics of assembling that document set, work through the 12-year solar inverter warranty explainer and apply the identical checklist to both brands.

Service, spares, and retail availability in India

Answer capsule: This is where Luminous genuinely leads, and it is not close. A 100K+ channel network built over 38+ years means a dealer in most district towns, familiar stock, and a public service centre locator. A specialist inverter brand cannot match that density, and pretending otherwise would not survive a phone call from a reader in a tier-3 town.

Luminous publishes a service centre locator and references annual care packages on its hybrid solar solution page, with support on +91-9999933039, WhatsApp on +91-7042833939 and care@luminousindia.com (checked 24 September 2026). The same page describes a five-step process including on-site or remote site analysis, financing through partner banks and NBFCs, installation by certified engineers, and assistance with residential subsidies, net metering and regulatory approvals. That is a full consumer fulfilment chain, not just a product.

Retail pricing follows from that model. Because Luminous retails online, you can read a list price directly. Its store has listed the Solar Hybrid TX 3 kVA at ₹73,800 against an MRP of ₹82,000, the TX 4 kVA at ₹58,998 against ₹98,000, and the TX 5 kVA at ₹63,899 against ₹1,10,000, per Luminous India online store listings captured on 24 September 2026.

Note the oddity, because it teaches something useful: the 3 kVA lists above the 5 kVA. Discount depth differs by model, so a listed price does not track capacity. Never rank capacity by price, and re-check the live listing, since store prices move week to week.

The specialist model works differently and deserves judging on its own terms. Sales and service run through dealers and authorised service partners. That means narrower geographic density but a named partner with product-specific training. Ask for the service entity responsible for your pin code, in writing, before buying from either brand, and check the current authorised service partner coverage against your actual site address rather than your state.

Monitoring and who owns the plant account

Answer capsule: Both brands ship app monitoring, so the feature list is not the differentiator. Account ownership is. Ask who holds the plant account, whether a logger or SIM costs extra, how often data refreshes, which faults raise alerts, how long history is retained, and how access transfers if you change installers.

Luminous runs ConnectX as its monitoring app and sells a Data Logger product line as a separate category, per the Luminous India products navigation (checked 24 September 2026). The hybrid solution page names ConnectX as the monitoring path for its systems.

Qbits ships Wi-Fi monitoring as standard on every series in its current product records, with optional RS485 or GPRS, and publishes live iOS and Android app listings. The larger utility-scale units add a Bluetooth app alongside the LED display. What those records do not confirm is that every monitoring feature exists on every model, so verify per SKU.

The question that actually causes disputes is ownership. If the installer creates the plant under their own account, you can lose visibility when the relationship ends. Get the account transferred to you at handover. The guide to solar inverter app monitoring lists the fields worth checking before commissioning.

Grid-code behaviour and CEA Regulation 11(6)

Answer capsule: For a grid-connected system in India, both brands must satisfy the same statutory baseline, so this is not a brand differentiator. It is a commissioning checklist. What varies is the settings your DISCOM demands, because the regulation lets it prescribe a narrower range than the national default.

The controlling text is the Central Electricity Authority (Technical Standards for Connectivity of the Distributed Generation Resources) Regulations, 2013, notification 12/X/STD(CONN)/GM/CEA dated 30.09.2013, first amendment dated 06.02.2019, Regulation 11(6). It requires:

  1. Voltage tripping above 110% or below 80% of nominal, with clearing up to 2 seconds.
  2. Frequency tripping at 50.5 Hz and above, or 47.5 Hz and below, with clearing up to 0.2 seconds.
  3. Ceasing to energise within 2 seconds of an unintended island forming.
  4. 60 seconds of stable grid conditions before reconnection.
  5. DC injection no more than 0.5% of full rated output current.

That same regulation states a DISCOM may prescribe a narrower range. A factory default is therefore a starting point, not a compliance certificate.

Anti-islanding test method is separate: IS 16169:2019 is the Indian adoption of IEC 62116 Edition 2.0 (2014-02), brought in under the MNRE Solar Systems, Devices and Components Goods Order, 2025, notified 27 January 2025. Inverter safety sits under IS 16221 (Part 2):2015, which adopts IEC 62109-2:2011. Keep the two apart when reading a certificate.

For the protection mechanism itself, see how anti-islanding protection works.

The limitations neither brand’s marketing leads with

Answer capsule: Both brands carry real constraints, and a comparison listing only one side’s is marketing. Both appear below, stated as scope facts and contract terms rather than judgements about build quality.

The Qbits limitation is scope, and it is significant. Qbits sells inverters only. There are no Qbits solar panels, no Qbits battery or BESS SKUs, no Qbits installation or EPC service, and no Qbits design software. Against a brand that supplies panels, battery, monitoring, financing and certified installers under one name, that is a genuine disadvantage for any buyer who wants a single point of accountability. If your panel supplier and your inverter supplier disagree about a fault, you are the one holding both warranty documents. Qbits also carries a documented warranty caveat: the public datasheets do not define the base term, so written terms have to be requested per quote rather than read off a web page.

The Luminous constraint is not a quality question either. The breadth that makes the brand convenient also makes its solar inverter page harder to read. A buyer scanning for a grid-tied unit sees PCU, off-grid, home inverter and hybrid product in one visual field, and those categories behave very differently on a net-metered connection. The published base warranty is 2 years, shorter than several Indian competitors publish, and model-specific terms vary, so document version matters more than usual. Series-level publication also means the electrical detail a designer needs is one request away rather than on the page.

The myth worth retiring is that a longer headline warranty is automatically the safer purchase. It is not. A long headline term still depends on the exclusion list, the registration window and who pays freight. A 2-year term with a service centre 6 km away and a dealer who has held stock for a decade can settle faster. Service proximity is a real variable and specialists lose on it more often than they admit.

Read what to capture in a solar quotation so these terms land in writing before money moves.

Worked example: one 5 kW roof, two topologies

This is arithmetic from published datasheets, not field data from an installation.

Inputs: Adani ASB-M10-144-580 modules at 580 Wp, Voc 52.50 V, temperature coefficient of Voc at -0.24% per degree C, per the Adani datasheet. Minimum design cell temperature 5 degrees C.

Step 1, correct Voc to the cold design temperature: Voc at 5 C = 52.50 × (1 + (-0.24 / 100) × (5 - 25)) = 52.50 × 1.048 = 55.02 V per module.

Step 2, apply the published Qbits DC ceilings from the current product records. The QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS single-phase on-grid unit publishes a 600 V maximum DC and a 40 to 600 V MPPT window. 10 modules give 550.2 V and fit. 11 modules give 605.2 V and do not. So 10 modules, 5.8 kWp, on a 5 kW AC unit, a 1.16 DC to AC ratio.

Step 3, run the same arithmetic on the hybrid. The QBH 3KS to 6KS48P hybrid publishes a 500 V maximum DC and a 150 to 450 V MPPT window. 8 modules give 440.2 V and sit inside the MPPT window. 9 modules give 495.2 V, which stays under the 500 V ceiling but sits above the top of the window. So 8 modules, 4.64 kWp, per string.

The lesson generalises past brand choice. Choosing hybrid over on-grid cost about 1.16 kWp of array on this string, because the hybrid DC ceiling is 100 V lower. That is a topology constraint, not a brand weakness, and the equivalent Luminous number can be computed the same way once you hold the Hybrid TX datasheet, which does not publish its MPPT window on the category page.

Run both through the string sizing calculator with your own module and your own site minimum temperature before accepting any dealer’s module count.

The fit test: which buyer should pick which

Answer capsule: Match the brand to how you are buying, not to a score. The deciding variable is whether you want one accountable supplier for the whole system, or the best inverter for an array you are sourcing yourself.

Which buyer should pick Luminous and which should pick Qbits
Your situationLikely better fitWhy
You want one brand for panels, battery, inverter, monitoring and installationLuminousIt sells all of it, with financing and certified installers in the same chain
You are in a tier-3 town or a district with thin solar serviceLuminousA 100K+ channel network and a public service centre locator beat specialist density
You want backup only, no export, no net meteringLuminousHome inverter and PCU product exists there; Qbits has no equivalent
You want a walk-in dealer you can physically visit tomorrowLuminousRetail presence is the point of a 38-year consumer brand
System below about 3 kWLuminousIts range starts lower; the Qbits range is designed around grid-tie
Grid-tied residential where the inverter is the decisionEither, compare SKUsBoth have product; decide on published specs, warranty terms and local service
You already have a module supplier and an installer you trustQbitsComponent-level choice is the advantage, so the scope limit stops mattering
You need dense MPPT counts, 1500 V DC or a 200 kW-plus C&I arrayQbitsPublished 12 MPPTs and 99.02% maximum efficiency at the utility-scale end
You want IP66 documented across the whole range in one placeQbitsthe current product records show IP66 on every series, verified 24 September 2026
You are a dealer or EPC wanting a specialist line and partner termsQbitsThe dealer and service-partner model is the business, not a side channel

Luminous wins five rows outright. That is the honest output of this comparison, not a concession. Most Indian rooftop buyers are buying a system, not an inverter, and a full-range consumer brand with a district-town dealer serves that buyer better. The buyer who should choose a specialist is the one for whom the inverter is a separately evaluated component.

What to ask each dealer in writing

Put the identical questions to both. An answer that cannot go into a quotation is not an answer.

Any brand answering all 10 in writing has earned a shortlist place. Any brand that will not has told you something useful.

For a cross-check on how a different full-range consumer brand compares against Luminous on these axes, see the Luminous versus Havells comparison.

The Bottom Line

Qbits and Luminous compete for the same buyer less often than the search query implies. Luminous is a 38-year consumer energy brand with a 100K+ channel network, a full product range, and a fulfilment chain that includes installation and financing. Qbits is a younger grid-tied and hybrid inverter specialist selling inverters only, through dealers and service partners, with an expandable warranty whose base term is not defined in public material and a documented instruction to obtain written terms per quote. Both must satisfy CEA Regulation 11(6) to connect. Neither wins on brand-level argument, and this page does not claim Qbits does.

Three actions:

  • Decide your topology first, grid-tied, hybrid or backup-only, before comparing any two brands. That single choice eliminates most of both catalogues and prevents the most expensive mistake on this page.
  • Run your own module and your own minimum site temperature through the sizing arithmetic above, then check the result against the maximum DC voltage on the exact datasheet rather than the series page.
  • If a specialist inverter is the right fit, request the current model documents and written warranty terms from Qbits and review the hybrid inverter range against the specification checklist above. If a single-brand full system is the right fit, take the same 10 questions to a Luminous dealer instead.
FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better, Qbits or Luminous?
Neither brand wins universally, because the two companies sell different product scopes. Luminous sells a full consumer energy range including panels, batteries, home inverters, charge controllers and monitoring, backed by a very large retail and service network. Qbits sells grid-tied and hybrid solar inverters only, through dealers and service partners. Pick Luminous if you want one brand and one retail counter for the whole system, and pick a specialist if the inverter itself is the load-bearing decision.
Is a Luminous home inverter the same thing as a solar inverter?
No. A home inverter, also called a home UPS, converts battery DC to AC to run loads during an outage. It does not harvest solar power on its own. Luminous sells both categories and also sells PCU and hybrid products that combine the two functions. Confirm from the model datasheet whether the unit has an MPPT solar input and whether it can export to the grid under net metering.
Does Qbits sell solar panels and batteries?
No. Qbits sells solar inverters only. There are no Qbits panels, no Qbits battery SKUs, and no Qbits installation or EPC service. That is a genuine limitation against a full-range brand, because you will source modules, batteries, structure and labour separately. Some buyers prefer that, because it lets them choose each component on its own merits.
What is the Qbits warranty and what is the Luminous warranty?
Qbits publishes an expandable warranty, and its public datasheets do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions, so request the current written terms for the exact quoted model. Luminous lists a 2-year base warranty in its general warranty material, while individual store listings have shown longer periods such as 36 months on one hybrid model. Ask each seller which document version governs your invoice.
Does ALMM list solar inverters?
No. MNRE publishes ALMM List-I for solar PV modules and List-II for solar cells. There is no MNRE inverter list, so the widely repeated claim that an inverter must appear on ALMM List-II for PM Surya Ghar is false. For an inverter, ask the seller for the exact model's BIS registration and current certificates, and verify what your scheme, tender or DISCOM actually asks for.
Which brand is easier to service in a small town?
Luminous has the wider consumer footprint. Its own site publishes a 100K+ channel network built over 38+ years, and it operates a public service centre locator plus annual care packages. A specialist inverter brand works through a narrower dealer and service-partner list. Before you buy either one, get the responsible service entity, the ticket channel and the parts route named in writing for your pin code.
Can I compare the two brands on price?
Only partly. Luminous publishes online store prices for some solar hybrid models, so you can read a list price directly. Qbits sells quote-based through dealers and publishes no list prices, so you have to request a written quotation for the exact SKU. Compare like for like by pricing the complete delivered scope, including accessories, commissioning, freight, taxes and the warranty document version.
What grid protection settings should both inverters meet in India?
For grid-connected distributed generation, the Central Electricity Authority (Technical Standards for Connectivity of the Distributed Generation Resources) Regulations, 2013, Regulation 11(6), as amended in 2019, sets the baseline. It requires tripping above 110% or below 80% of nominal voltage with clearing up to 2 seconds, tripping at 50.5 Hz and above or 47.5 Hz and below with clearing up to 0.2 seconds, ceasing to energise within 2 seconds of an unintended island, 60 seconds of stability before reconnection, and DC injection no more than 0.5% of full rated output current. The same regulation allows a DISCOM to prescribe a narrower range, so confirm local settings.
Q
Written by

Qbits Editorial

The Qbits Energy editorial team writes about solar inverters, battery storage, and the hardware powering India's energy transition.

Related Reading
Comparison 7 min read

Qbits vs Deye Solar Inverter Comparison

Compare Qbits and Deye solar inverters with a model-level checklist for electrical limits, battery support, monitoring, warranty and pricing.

Comparison 7 min read

Qbits vs Growatt Solar Inverter Comparison

Compare Qbits and Growatt solar inverters using current model sheets, operating limits, monitoring, warranty documents and local support checks.

Get Started

Continue researching your solar decision

Use the related guides and definitions to check the assumptions and requirements relevant to your project.