Short version. Get two exact model numbers intended for the same job, put their datasheets side by side against your design, then compare written India warranty terms and two installed quotes on identical scope. That process decides it. The brand names do not.
Disclosure. This is a buyer’s comparison published by Qbits, which also sells inverters. It does not claim independent field testing or an audited service ranking for either competitor, and it does not rank them against each other. Every figure below is copied from a Sungrow or Growatt document that was open on 14 October 2026, with the document linked.
Why the brand level question does not work
Both Sungrow and Growatt sell multiple inverter families in India, spanning residential and commercial capacities, on-grid and hybrid architectures, single and three phase.
That means a statement like “Sungrow is premium and Growatt is mid market” compares positioning rather than products, and positioning tells you nothing about whether a specific model has the MPPT count your roof needs or supports the battery you intend to buy.
It also means the comparison changes entirely depending on what you are buying. Two models can be close on one project and not comparable at all on the next.
So the useful question is never which brand. It is which of these two specific models better fits this specific design, and are both quotes covering the same work. The Qbits vs Sungrow vs Growatt comparison adds a third brand to the same exercise, and the Growatt review and Sungrow review cover each line separately.
Single-phase on-grid: SG5.0RS-L against MIN 5000TL-X2
The Sungrow SG5.0RS-L is the 5 kW member of the residential family that Sungrow’s India site lists for India. Its datasheet is the India version (version 14, 2025). The Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2 is the 5 kW member of Growatt’s residential on-grid family. Both are single-phase, dual-MPPT, transformerless string inverters.
| Item | Sungrow SG5.0RS-L | Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2 |
|---|---|---|
| MPPT trackers / strings per tracker | 2 / 1 | 2 / 1 |
| MPPT voltage range | 40 to 560 V | 40 to 550 V |
| Start-up voltage | 50 V | 50 V |
| Maximum DC voltage | 600 V | 550 V |
| Maximum input current per tracker | 16 A (short-circuit 20 A) | 16 A (short-circuit 24 A) |
| Recommended maximum PV power | 7.5 kWp | 7,500 W |
| Rated AC output / maximum apparent power | 5,000 W / 5,000 VA | 5,000 W / 5,000 VA |
| AC voltage range | 154 to 276 V | 160 to 300 V |
| Current THD at rated power | below 3% | below 3% |
| Power factor | above 0.99 at rated power; 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging | 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging |
| Maximum / European efficiency | 97.9% / 97.3% | 98.4% / 97.5% |
| Enclosure | IP65 | IP66 |
| Weight | 10.5 kg | 10.8 kg |
| Operating temperature | -25 to 60 °C | -30 to +60 °C |
| Surge protection | DC Type II, AC Type II | DC Type II, AC Type III |
| AFCI (arc-fault protection) | Not listed on this datasheet | Optional |
| Warranty line on the datasheet | None; warranty terms are on a separate page | 5 years standard, 10 years optional |
Sources: Sungrow SG4.0/5.0/6.0RS-L India datasheet, version 14, 2025 and the India product page; Growatt MIN 2500~6000TL-X2 datasheet. Sungrow’s India site also lists a newer SG3.0/3.3/4.0/5.0/6.0RS-L2 family, so confirm which generation your dealer is supplying.
Reading the single-phase table
The two datasheets are close on almost every row: rated output, tracker count, one string per tracker, 16 A per tracker, THD and power factor. The rows that do differ are these.
Maximum DC voltage and window. The Sungrow accepts up to 600 V at the input and lists a 40 to 560 V MPPT window. The Growatt accepts up to 550 V with a 40 to 550 V window. A longer string on a cold morning is where the extra 50 V of headroom matters. Check your module’s open-circuit voltage, corrected for the coldest expected temperature, against the maximum, and its maximum-power voltage on a hot day against the lower window edge. The MPPT entry explains both checks.
Enclosure. The Growatt datasheet lists IP66, and the Sungrow lists IP65. The difference is the protection against powerful water jets. For a covered wall mount it may not matter, and for an exposed or coastal roof it is one more reason to check the corrosion protection for the exact model.
Efficiency. The Growatt lists 98.4% maximum and 97.5% European efficiency, and the Sungrow lists 97.9% and 97.3%. The gap in weighted efficiency is two tenths of a percentage point. It is small beside the effect of string design, shading and clipping.
Grid voltage window. The Growatt lists 160 to 300 V and the Sungrow lists 154 to 276 V. Neither tells you what your DISCOM’s connection conditions allow, and the setting applied at commissioning is what counts.
Three-phase on-grid: SG20RT-P2 against MID 20KTL3-X2
For commercial work the comparable pair at 20 kW is the Sungrow SG20RT-P2 and the Growatt MID 20KTL3-X2. Sungrow’s India site lists the SG15/20RT-P2 family, and the datasheet below is Sungrow’s version 2 (2023) for the SG15/17/20RT-P2, which is a global datasheet, so check the India version for your supply.
| Item | Sungrow SG20RT-P2 | Growatt MID 20KTL3-X2 |
|---|---|---|
| MPPT trackers / strings per tracker | 2 / 2 | 2 / 2 |
| MPPT voltage range | 160 to 1,000 V | 200 to 1,000 V |
| Start-up voltage | 180 V | 200 V |
| Maximum DC voltage | 1,100 V | 1,100 V |
| Maximum input current per tracker | 32 A (short-circuit 40 A) | 32 A (short-circuit 40 A) |
| Rated AC output / maximum apparent power | 20,000 W / 22,000 VA | 20,000 W / 22,000 VA |
| AC voltage range | 304 to 478 V (three-phase) | 340 to 440 V |
| Current THD / power factor | below 3% / above 0.99, 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging | below 3% / 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging |
| Maximum / European efficiency | 98.3% / 97.9% | 98.75% / 98.6% |
| Enclosure | IP65 | IP66 |
| Weight / cooling | 22 kg / smart forced air | 22 kg / smart air cooling |
| AFCI | Listed | Optional |
| Warranty line on the datasheet | None | 5 years standard, 10 years optional |
Sources: Sungrow SG15/17/20RT-P2 datasheet, version 2, 2023; Growatt MID 17~30KTL3-X2 datasheet, May 2026 update.
At this size the two are even closer. They match on tracker count, input limits and apparent power. The Sungrow lists a lower window and start-up voltage (160 V and 180 V against 200 V), and the Growatt lists the higher efficiency figures and the IP66 enclosure. For a commercial roof the decision usually rests on string layout, the service route for the site and the warranty remedy, not on these rows.
Hybrid: different battery classes
If a battery is part of the purchase, the datasheets show why a brand comparison is not enough. The table compares the Sungrow SH5.0RS-20 with the Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP. Note that Sungrow’s India site currently lists the MG5/6RL as its single-phase residential hybrid, and the SH5.0RS-20 is a global datasheet, so confirm the model your dealer would supply.
| Item | Sungrow SH5.0RS-20 | Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP |
|---|---|---|
| Battery type / voltage range | Lithium-ion, 80 to 460 V (high voltage) | Lithium or lead-acid, 42 to 59 V (low voltage) |
| Maximum charge / discharge current | 50 A / 50 A | 85 A (continuous power 4,000 W) |
| MPPT trackers / range | 2 / 40 to 560 V | 2 / 120 to 550 V |
| Rated AC output | 5,000 W | 5,000 W |
| Backup output / switch time | 5,000 VA rated; below 10 ms | 4,000 W; below 10 ms |
| Peak backup output | 8,400 VA for 10 s | Not listed |
| Maximum / European efficiency | 97.7% / 97.3% | 97.5% / 97.2% |
| Enclosure / weight | IP65 / 18.5 kg | IP65 / 27 kg |
Sources: Sungrow SH5.0/6.0RS-20 datasheet, 2024; Growatt SPH 3000-6000TL BL-UP datasheet, April 2026. For the Sungrow MG5/6RL listed on its India site, the product page lists a 500 V maximum PV voltage, 97.6% maximum efficiency, switchover of 4 ms or less, IP65/C5 and 200% overload output for 10 seconds, and the full datasheet is linked on that page.
The worksheet that settles it
Use the same sheet for both quotes. Fill the right-hand column from the datasheet and the written terms, and leave a cell blank if the document does not state it.
| Requirement | Sungrow quote | Growatt quote | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model and type | Exact SKU | Exact SKU | On-grid, hybrid or off-grid function |
| Phase and rated AC output | Datasheet value | Datasheet value | Matches sanctioned connection and load |
| PV input | MPPT count, voltage window, current per tracker | Same fields | Against your proposed array and string plan |
| Battery support, if required | Approved pack list and backup rating | Same fields | Model and firmware combinations, in writing |
| Monitoring | Logger supplied, platform, account ownership | Same fields | Network requirement and who owns the data |
| Warranty | Written India terms, remedy, cost liability | Same fields | Not the headline duration alone |
| Service | Claim route for your district | Same fields | Named location, not a national figure |
| Price | Itemised installed quote | Itemised installed quote | Identical inclusions, tax and installation scope |
For a roof with more than one orientation, count independent MPP trackers rather than DC connectors. The single versus dual MPPT guide explains why that distinction matters, and the sizing guide covers the string checks that constrain both candidates equally. Ask each installer to document string allocation and current per tracker against the model they are proposing. If only one of them does, that tells you something useful about the quotes as well as the inverters.
When a battery is involved, match nominal and operating voltage across the full state-of-charge range, maximum charge and discharge current in both directions, continuous backup output, surge capability with its duration, and transfer behaviour. A CAN or RS485 connector on both devices does not establish approved battery-management operation. Those are interface standards describing wiring and signalling, not proof that two products exchange meaningful instructions. The hybrid buying guide sets out the common evaluation framework.
Monitoring
Sungrow’s residential datasheets describe one-click access to the iSolarCloud platform, ten-second real-time data refresh, remote firmware updates on the India RS-L datasheet and, on the global RS datasheet, online IV-curve scan. Growatt lists its own monitoring platform with ShineWiFi-X, Shine4G-X, ShineLan-X and ShineLink-X accessories. Rather than comparing interfaces, settle the practical questions for whichever model you pick:
- Does the model need a separate logger, dongle or SIM to report at all?
- Who owns the plant account, and how is it transferred if you change installers?
- Is per-tracker data visible, or only plant totals?
- Which faults raise an alert, and does it reach you or only the dealer?
- How long is history retained?
Warranty compared as terms
Ask each authorised seller for the written warranty document rather than a duration quoted in conversation. Read the remedy, whether labour and transport are covered, the registration requirement and the exclusions. What the two manufacturers publish, read on 14 October 2026:
| Clause | Sungrow | Growatt |
|---|---|---|
| Standard term | The India product page states none. Sungrow’s APAC warranty terms list 5 years for string inverters sold through dealers and distributors, no more than 6 years since the production date | The datasheets list 5 years standard, 10 years optional; the page refers to a “5 years standard factory warranty” |
| Start of cover | First installation date | Installation date on the certificate, no more than six months after delivery |
| Remedy | Repair or replace, at Sungrow’s choice | Service replace and service repair |
| Extension | Up to a total of 25 years for specific product ranges, bought at original purchase or within the first year | Within two years of installation |
| Coastal and environmental clauses | Distance-based limits: 2 years within 2 to 5 km without a C5 enclosure, voided within 2 km, 2 years within 500 m with a C5 enclosure; salt-mist corrosion beyond the design specification is excluded | Not stated on the page; incorrect installation, overvoltage and force majeure are excluded |
| Scope of the document | Asia Pacific region except mainland China | All regions except mainland China, depending on the country of sale; India is not mentioned |
Sources: Sungrow warranty terms and the Growatt warranty page. Neither is an India-specific contract. Sungrow’s India warranty link leads to a country selector without terms, so obtain the document that applies to your sale.
Service in India
Both manufacturers list an India route for claims and neither list tells you who visits your site. Growatt’s contact page lists Growatt New Projects Pvt Ltd in Hyderabad with a toll-free line and a service email. Sungrow’s India product page shows no India phone, email or address and links to a distributor finder and a home-support page. Ask each authorised seller:
The answers matter more than any national centre count. The warranty claim guide covers the evidence a claim needs.
ALMM and certification
MNRE’s current ALMM page publishes PV module and cell lists, not an inverter list, so it cannot rank inverter brands. The India Sungrow datasheet prints IS 16169 and IS 16221 (BIS) in its compliance line, while the Growatt MIN X2 datasheet lists IEC 62116 and IEC 61727 and no Indian standard numbers, and the Growatt MID X2 datasheet lists BIS. Treat a printed line as a pointer. Ask each seller for the BIS registration and certificates for the exact model, and confirm the scheme and DISCOM requirements separately. See the certification guide.
Which to choose when
These are starting points. Your string design, warranty documents and local service route override them.
- Long strings or a cold-climate site. The SG5.0RS-L lists 600 V maximum DC against the MIN 5000TL-X2’s 550 V. Check your own cold-morning open-circuit voltage first.
- Exposed or coastal roof. The Growatt single-phase and three-phase models above list IP66 and the Sungrow models list IP65. For a coastal site also read Sungrow’s distance clause and the corrosion rating, and ask Growatt for its written position on the same site.
- Battery backup. Decide the battery class first. Low-voltage (Growatt SPH) and high-voltage (Sungrow SH, Growatt MOD XH) systems are different projects.
- Commercial three-phase. The 20 kW pair is evenly matched on the datasheet. Decide on string layout, service route for the site and the warranty remedy.
- A fixed warranty period you need in writing. Growatt’s datasheets state a 5 or 10 year line. Sungrow’s term sits in its warranty terms, and the India document should be requested from the seller.
Making two quotes comparable
Most brand comparisons are decided by a price difference that is not real, because the two offers cover different work. Before comparing totals, confirm both quotes state the same array: identical module model, count and layout. Confirm both assume the same mounting structure and cable runs, since a longer AC run changes both cost and voltage rise. Confirm both include or both exclude the DISCOM application, meter charges, protection equipment, monitoring hardware and commissioning. Then check what each one excludes. Only once the scope matches does the remaining difference say anything about the inverters. This page quotes no prices because a figure from another market or month would mislead.
Scheme and utility requirements
Use the exact inverter certificates and grid interface documentation applicable to your project. Check current utility and scheme conditions with the installer, and confirm which party is responsible for satisfying them. Where a requirement is not met, the practical question is who bears the cost of correcting it, and that is a contract question rather than a product one. For the on-grid category, the on-grid inverter range and the hybrid inverter range list the Qbits families if you want a third datasheet on the same worksheet.
If Qbits is also on the shortlist
Use the same worksheet, applied the same way. The product library and datasheets identify the exact families, and a written quote and service terms are still required for a fair comparison. For the 5 kW single-phase class, the Qbits QB-5KTLD datasheet lists two MPPTs, an 80 to 550 V window, 20 A per tracker, 5.5 kVA maximum output, 160 to 270 Vac adjustable grid range, current THD below 2%, 98.1% maximum efficiency and IP66.
Qbits publishes an expandable warranty, and its public datasheets do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions, so obtain the current written warranty for the exact quoted model. Compare that against the competing written terms on remedy and cost liability rather than on duration alone.
Contact Qbits with the competing SKUs and project details for a like for like comparison.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Sungrow always better than Growatt?
How do the Sungrow SG5.0RS-L and Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2 compare?
Which brand supports my battery?
Does ALMM status rank inverter brands?
Is a higher peak efficiency figure worth paying for?
What do the Sungrow and Growatt warranties say?
Which has better service in India?
Should I just buy whichever is cheaper?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.