Skip to content
Comparison

Growatt vs Solis: Which Should You Choose in 2026?

Growatt vs Solis head-to-head for India 2026: warranty, MPPT range, app monitoring, ALMM compliance, service network, and quote comparison, matched on published datasheets for residential buyers.

Nirav Dhanani
Nirav Dhanani CEO
June 5, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 17 min read

Qbits warranty and service terms: Qbits’ public datasheets describe an expandable warranty but do not define the base term, remedy, registration deadline, service response time, or exclusions. Obtain the current written terms for the exact model and sale before relying on a headline claim.

ALMM and inverter compliance: MNRE’s current ALMM page publishes solar PV module and cell lists, not an inverter list. Verify the inverter’s exact model documents and applicable scheme or DISCOM requirements separately.

Short version. Growatt and Solis both sell residential and commercial string inverters through Indian distributors. The useful comparison is model against model: put the two datasheets next to your array design, then compare the written warranty terms and the service route for your pincode. This page does that for the 5 kW single-phase class using each manufacturer’s own datasheet, and it ends with a plain “which to choose when” guide. It does not score or rank the brands.

How this comparison works

This page does not give either brand a score or a ranking. A numeric rating out of 10 or a total out of 60 would rest on judgements about service reach, firmware and price that no public source supports, and it would imply a precision the evidence cannot deliver.

What replaces it is a factual table of published specifications for matched models, the warranty and service terms as the manufacturers publish them, and a set of decision rules that say which facts matter for which buyer. Where a fact cannot be verified from a manufacturer’s own document, this page says so instead of estimating it.

Who the two companies are, and how to reach them in India

Growatt is Shenzhen Growatt New Energy Co., Ltd., a Shenzhen-based manufacturer. Its India contact page lists Growatt New Projects Pvt Ltd at Banjara Hills, Hyderabad, with a toll-free line (1800 120 600 600), service email service.in@growatt.com and sales email info@growatt.com. The page lists no separate service centres.

Solis inverters are made by Ginlong Technologies. Solis’s global contact page lists an India office at Goodwill BizHub, Turbhe, Navi Mumbai (Minivel Service LLP), with a service phone of +91 90906 09037, service email inservice@solisinverters.com and sales email indiasales@ginlong.com.

Both listings were read on 14 October 2026 and can change. An entity and an email address are a way to open a claim. They do not tell you who would drive to your site, so ask the installer or distributor for the named service partner for your pincode. The Growatt India review covers the Growatt line in more detail.

Matched 5 kW single-phase specification comparison

The table compares the 5 kW model from each family, using the manufacturers’ own datasheets as of 14 October 2026. Both are single-phase, dual-MPPT, transformerless string inverters. Regional versions of a datasheet differ, so confirm the figures against the version that ships with your unit.

Matched 5 kW single-phase specifications, Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2 and Solis S6-GR1P5K-S, from manufacturer datasheets read 14 October 2026
ItemGrowatt MIN 5000TL-X2Solis S6-GR1P5K-S (India datasheet)
MPPT trackers / strings per tracker2 / 12 / 2
MPPT voltage range40 to 550 V90 to 550 V
Start-up voltage50 V100 V
Maximum DC voltage550 V550 V
Maximum input current per tracker16 A16 A
Rated AC output5,000 W5,000 W
Maximum apparent power5,000 VA5 kVA
Grid voltage230 V (160 to 300 V)1/N/PE, 220/230 V (range not stated)
Current THDbelow 3%below 3%
Power factoradjustable, 0.8 leading to 0.8 laggingabove 0.99, adjustable 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging
Maximum / European efficiency98.4% / 97.5%97.7% / 97.1%
EnclosureIP66IP66
Weight10.8 kg9 kg
Operating temperature-30 to +60 °C-25 to +60 °C
DC switch / DC surge protectionDC switch, Type II DC SPDIntegrated DC switch, surge protection
AFCI (DC arc-fault protection)OptionalIntegrated, activation required
Warranty line on the datasheet5 years standard, 10 years optionalNot stated on the datasheet
Safety and grid standards printedIEC 62116, IEC 61727 among othersIEC 62109-1/-2, IEC 62116, IS 16169 / IS 16221 (BIS)

Sources: Growatt MIN 2500~6000TL-X2 datasheet; Solis S6-GR1P(2.5-6)K-S India datasheet, version 1.2, April 2023.

Reading the table

Voltage window. The Growatt datasheet lists a lower MPPT window edge of 40 V and a start-up voltage of 50 V. The Solis datasheet lists 90 V and 100 V for the 4.6 to 6 kW models. A lower edge matters on short strings or in low light, because the inverter can start earlier and keep tracking at lower string voltage. It is a design constraint, not a quality grade, so check your string’s hot-day maximum-power voltage against the lower limit and its cold-morning open-circuit voltage against the 550 V maximum, which is the same for both.

Strings per tracker. The Solis datasheet lists two strings per tracker (four in total), and the Growatt datasheet lists one string per tracker. On a roof with two separate orientations one string each is enough. If you want to parallel two strings on one tracker, the 16 A current limit per tracker still applies to both brands, so check the sum against it. The dual MPPT guide and the string-sizing calculator cover the arithmetic.

Efficiency. The Growatt datasheet lists 98.4% maximum and 97.5% European efficiency, and the Solis datasheet lists 97.7% and 97.1%. Both numbers are measured at stated conditions. A difference of around a percentage point in weighted efficiency is small next to the effect of shading, string design and clipping, so do not let it decide the purchase on its own.

Power factor and THD. Both state current THD below 3% and an adjustable power factor range of 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging. The THD and power factor entries explain what those figures mean and what they do not.

Compliance lines. The Solis India datasheet prints IS 16169 and IS 16221 (BIS) references. The Growatt X2 datasheet’s certificate line lists IEC 62116 and IEC 61727 among other international standards and no Indian standard numbers. That does not show that either product lacks Indian registration. It means you should ask each seller for the BIS registration and certificate for the exact model, and not rely on a datasheet line.

Export limiting. The Solis datasheet lists integrated zero-export power control as a feature. Growatt’s earlier MIN 2500~6000TL-X datasheet listed export control, while the X2 headline features do not mention it. If you need export limiting, confirm support and the required meter or sensor in writing for the exact model. The zero export entry explains how the control works.

If you need battery backup: a Growatt hybrid example

The two models above are on-grid and do not provide backup. For context on how different a hybrid datasheet looks, the Growatt SPH 5000TL BL-UP lists these figures (April 2026 datasheet): a 42 to 59 V low-voltage battery range supporting lithium or lead-acid, a 120 to 550 V MPPT range with two trackers at 13.5 A each, 5,000 W rated AC output, a 4,000 W backup rating with a switch time below 10 ms, 97.5% maximum efficiency, IP65 and a weight of 27 kg, with the same 5-year standard and 10-year optional warranty line. Source: Growatt SPH 3000-6000TL BL-UP datasheet. A hybrid from another brand may use a high-voltage battery instead, so the battery, the inverter and the firmware have to be approved together in writing. This page does not match a Solis hybrid model, because the Solis hybrid line varies by region and no India datasheet was checked for it.

Monitoring

Growatt’s monitoring runs through its own app and cloud platform, with Wi-Fi, 4G, LAN or RF accessories listed as options on the datasheet. Solis monitoring uses SolisCloud, and the datasheet lists RS485 and USB with optional Wi-Fi or GPRS. Rather than comparing the interface, settle these questions with whoever supplies the unit:

Warranty as published

Growatt and Solis warranty clauses as published, read 14 October 2026
ClauseGrowattSolis
Standard termThe MIN 5000TL-X2 datasheet lists 5 years standard and 10 years optional; the warranty page refers to a “5 years standard factory warranty” without a year count for every productThe global warranty page body does not state the years; they sit in an appendix and regional versions. The page offers periods of 6 to 10 years on a device form
Start of coverFrom the installation date on the installation certificate, and no more than six months after Growatt’s delivery dateFor an individual customer, from sale; otherwise the earlier of commissioning or six months after factory dispatch
RemedyService replace and service repairAt Ginlong’s choice: replacement, on-site repair or replacement by an accredited provider, or return to Ginlong; liability capped at the amount paid
ExtensionMust be applied for within two years of installationMust be applied for within 12 months of the warranty start, once only
Claim documentsSerial number, invoice or installation documents, claim form, model and fault descriptionDefect description, claim form, model and serial number, invoice, installation report
Notable exclusionsOpened seal, transport damage, incorrect installation, force majeure such as lightning and overvoltageImproper installation, unauthorised repair, force majeure, uncertified equipment, purchase from an unauthorised reseller
FreightGrowatt pays freight within the original country or region for warranted productsNot stated on the page

Sources: Growatt warranty page and Solis product warranty page, read 14 October 2026. Solis’s document names a South Asia regional version, and neither page is an India-specific contract. Ask the seller for the document that actually applies to your sale.

Two practical points follow. The clock can start before you switch the inverter on, as the tip above says. And “replacement” in a clause is only as good as who pays for removal, transport and refit, so ask who bears those costs.

ALMM and certification

For subsidy and DISCOM purposes, ask for the exact model’s BIS registration and test reports, and read the scheme and DISCOM conditions separately. IEC 62109 is the safety standard to look for, with IS 16221 (Part 2) as the Indian counterpart and IS 16169, the Indian adoption of IEC 62116, covering islanding prevention. The certification guide walks through what to ask for.

Price

This page quotes no prices. Street prices vary by state, distributor, season and what the quote includes, and a number copied from another source would be out of date by the time you read it. To compare two offers fairly, check that both name the same array, mounting, cabling, protection devices, monitoring hardware, DISCOM application and commissioning, and that both list exclusions. Only then does a price difference say something about the inverters.

Which to choose when

These rules are starting points. Your district’s service route and your array design override them.

  • Short strings or a roof with low string voltage. The Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2 lists a lower MPPT window edge and start-up voltage than the Solis S6-GR1P5K-S. If your hot-day string voltage is close to the Solis 90 V lower edge, that favours the Growatt datasheet. Check your actual string design first.
  • Two strings you want to combine on one tracker. The Solis datasheet lists two strings per tracker. The Growatt datasheet lists one. Confirm current limits and connector arrangement on both before relying on this.
  • You need export limiting. Confirm support, and the sensor or meter the model needs, in writing for the exact model. The Solis datasheet lists it as a built-in feature.
  • You want the warranty term settled before you buy. Growatt’s datasheet states 5 years with a 10-year option. For Solis, ask for the document that applies to your sale and to the model’s region.
  • Battery backup. These two on-grid models do not provide backup. Compare hybrid models, and note that hybrid inverters differ in battery voltage class. For example, Growatt’s SPH 5000TL BL-UP lists a 42 to 59 V battery range and a 4,000 W backup rating, while other brands’ hybrids use high-voltage batteries. Battery compatibility is a property of an exact inverter, battery and firmware combination.
  • Commercial three-phase projects. Both brands sell three-phase string inverters, and the MPPT counts and voltage limits of a given kW size differ by model and regional variant. Use the same worksheet on the exact models, and confirm the exact DC limits on the India datasheet.
  • Remote or small-town site. Ask each brand’s seller for the named service partner for your pincode and what they stock. The brand’s national contact does not answer this.

Common mistakes

  • Treating a brand as a rating. Each brand sells several families, so compare model with model.
  • Comparing a peak efficiency figure and ignoring the voltage window.
  • Reading the warranty length and ignoring the start date, remedy and exclusions.
  • Assuming an inverter is “ALMM listed.”
  • Carrying a figure from one regional datasheet to a different variant.
  • Skipping the written service route for your pincode.

For wider diligence see how to evaluate solar inverter reliability, solar inverter buying mistakes and the on-grid inverter hub for the Qbits range.

Where Qbits fits as a third option

Qbits sells on-grid and hybrid string inverters through dealers, and its pricing is quote based. For the same 5 kW single-phase class, the published QB-5KTLD datasheet lists two MPPTs with one string each, an 80 to 550 V MPPT range, 50 V start-up, 550 V maximum DC input, 20 A per tracker, 5,000 W rated output with 5.5 kVA maximum, a 160 to 270 Vac adjustable grid range, current THD below 2% at rated power, 98.1% maximum efficiency and IP66. Its public datasheets do not define a base warranty term, so get the written warranty and service process for the exact model before comparing it with either brand.

  • Hybrid inverters: review the current QBH model documents and confirm the exact battery, firmware, PV, backup-output, transfer, communication, warranty and project requirements in writing.
  • String sizing calculator: check your panel configuration against the inverter you are considering.
  • Authorised service partners: search the current directory, then confirm partner status, location coverage, service scope, response process and fees in writing.

Contact Qbits with your array and phase for a model-specific comparison against any shortlisted brand.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for Indian homes, Growatt or Solis?
Neither wins on every row, and a brand cannot be ranked from a brochure. In the 5 kW single-phase class the published datasheets are close on rated output, tracker count, enclosure and THD. They differ on MPPT window (40 to 550 V on the Growatt MIN 5000TL-X2, 90 to 550 V on the Solis S6-GR1P5K-S), start-up voltage (50 V and 100 V) and efficiency figures. Choose by your string design, the written warranty and the service route for your pincode.
Does Solis have after-sales service in India?
Solis's global contact page lists an India office in Navi Mumbai (Minivel Service LLP) with a service phone and email. That shows who to contact to open a claim. It does not show who would visit your site, so ask the installer or distributor for the named service partner covering your pincode and whether they stock the replacement part.
Is Growatt ALMM listed in India 2026?
MNRE publishes ALMM List-I for solar PV modules and List-II for cells, and no list for inverters, so no Growatt inverter is "ALMM listed" in the way a module can be. For a PM Surya Ghar or other subsidised project, check the exact Growatt model's BIS registration and current certificates, and confirm the scheme and DISCOM requirements separately.
What is the warranty on Solis inverters in India?
The Solis global product warranty page does not state the years in its body text. They sit in a regional appendix, and the page names a South Asia version, with warranty periods of 6 to 10 years offered on a device form. A reseller's claim of a particular number is not a Solis document. Ask the seller for the warranty document that applies to your sale and check the start date, remedy and exclusions.
What is the warranty on Growatt inverters?
The Growatt MIN 2500~6000TL-X2 datasheet lists 5 years standard and 10 years optional. The warranty page runs the term from the installation date on the installation certificate, no more than six months after Growatt's delivery date, and limits the remedy to service replacement and service repair. A warranty set on the sales order overrides the standard term.
Which has a better monitoring app, Growatt or Solis?
Both brands run their own cloud platforms and publish a monitoring app, and the useful differences are practical ones: whether the model needs a separate logger or SIM, who owns the account, whether per-tracker data is shown and which faults send an alert. Settle those with the supplier for the exact model, because the platform can differ across product generations.
Is Solis or Growatt better for commercial solar projects?
Both brands sell three-phase string inverters, and MPPT counts and DC voltage limits differ by model and regional variant, so a brand-level answer would be a guess. Put the two exact models' India datasheets against the roof layout, then compare the written warranty, the service route and a quote on identical scope.
How does Qbits compare to Growatt and Solis for Indian homes?
Qbits sells on-grid inverters from 1.5 kW to 320 kW and hybrid models from 3 to 12 kW, so it competes with Growatt and Solis in the residential range. Choose by phase, DC string design, MPPT count and backup need, then check the current datasheet at /download-datasheets/ for the exact model. Qbits' public datasheets do not define a base warranty term, so get the written warranty and service process for the exact model before comparing it with Growatt or Solis.
Nirav Dhanani
Written by

Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy

Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.

Related Reading
Comparison 16 min

Sungrow vs Solis, India Comparison 2026

Sungrow vs Solis for India 2026: price, iSolarCloud vs SolisCloud, warranty, service centre density, and residential vs C&I fit, an honest editorial comparison.

Comparison 16 min

GoodWe vs Growatt, India Honest Comparison 2026

GoodWe vs Growatt for India 2026: matched 5 kW on-grid and hybrid datasheets, India contact points, monitoring, warranty as published and a decision guide by buyer need, with no scores.

Get Started

Continue researching your solar decision

Use the related guides and definitions to check the assumptions and requirements relevant to your project.