Skip to content
Comparison

Best Bank for Solar Loan 2026, IREDA vs SBI vs HDFC

Solar loan comparison for India, 2026: what SBI, IREDA and HDFC Bank each publish on their own pages (SBI 5.75% to 7.90% for PM Surya Ghar, IREDA no household loan, HDFC Personal Loan from 9.99%), listed alphabetically and not ranked.

Akash Hirapara
Akash Hirapara CFO
June 5, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 18 min read

ALMM and inverter compliance: MNRE’s current ALMM page publishes solar PV module and cell lists, not an inverter list. Verify the inverter’s exact model documents and applicable scheme or DISCOM requirements separately.

Solar financing in India has matured considerably. Five years ago, homeowners largely paid cash for rooftop solar or settled for informal dealer instalment schemes. Today, banks, IREDA and NBFCs offer formal solar finance, and the PM Surya Ghar programme makes a central subsidy of up to ₹78,000 available to eligible households.

The problem is comparison. Lender websites quote ranges, rates float against benchmarks, and processing fees sit in fine print. This guide compares what each lender’s own page shows, read on 14 October 2026, and lists the lenders alphabetically. It is not a ranking: the right loan depends on your loan size, credit profile and documents.

Direct answer. On each lender’s own page (read 14 October 2026): SBI lists 5.75% per annum up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% per annum above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh for PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar; IREDA lists no household loan; HDFC Bank lists no solar-specific loan and advertises its Personal Loan from 9.99%. Use the 5-Factor Solar Loan Scorecard below to weigh rate, tenure, fees, subsidy compatibility and eligibility ease for your own situation.

This post covers the lenders in alphabetical order and is not a ranking.

What each lender’s own page shows for rooftop solar loans (read 14 October 2026; rates change, so confirm before applying)
LenderProduct on its own pagePublished rate and terms
HDFC BankNo solar-specific loan; the Personal Loan is the routePersonal Loan advertised from 9.99% p.a. (calculator range 9.99% to 24%), tenure 1 to 7 years; HDFC Bank
IREDANo household loan; rooftop solar scheme is for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowersNo household rate; rates are set by borrower grade in IREDA’s interest-rate matrix; IREDA schemes page
SBISBI Surya Ghar loan (PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar, up to 10 kW)5.75% p.a. up to ₹2 lakh; 7.90% p.a. above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh; floating, EBLR-linked; rates as on 15 December 2025, page updated 13 February 2026; up to 120 months including a 6-month moratorium; processing fee nil; SBI

The 5-Factor Solar Loan Scorecard

Before comparing lenders, it helps to know which dimensions decide the right loan for a given buyer.

The 5-Factor Solar Loan Scorecard

  1. Interest rate: The most visible factor. Rates float, so note the benchmark, the reset frequency and the date of the quote. A difference of one percentage point on ₹3,00,000 over 10 years is roughly ₹16,000 to ₹19,000 in total interest at these rates (calculate your own case with the formula below).
  2. Tenure available: A longer tenor lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  3. Processing fee and hidden charges: Ask for the fee schedule, including insurance and prepayment terms.
  4. Subsidy compatibility: The subsidy is credited after commissioning, so ask how a lump-sum prepayment is applied.
  5. Eligibility ease: Check the minimum CIBIL score, income, documents and whether the loan needs an intermediary.

Write down each lender’s written offer against these five factors and compare them for your own profile. This guide does not assign numeric scores because no published source supports them.

Lender-by-Lender Analysis (Alphabetical, Not Ranked)

HDFC Bank

HDFC Bank’s pages (read 14 October 2026) show no solar-specific or Green Home Loan product. Its Personal Loan is advertised from 9.99% per annum, with the EMI calculator running from 9.99% to 24% and tenures of 1 to 7 years.

Points in its favour:

  • Existing customers may find the process familiar, and the bank has a wide branch and app presence.
  • A personal loan does not need the property to be mortgaged.

Limitations:

  • No solar-specific product on its pages, so the rate you are offered depends on your profile.
  • The advertised starting rate is higher than SBI’s published PM Surya Ghar rates.

Best for: An existing HDFC customer who needs unsecured credit and accepts a higher rate. Read the HDFC solar loan guide for the full Decision Tree.

IREDA

IREDA (Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency) is the government’s specialised renewable energy financier. Its loan-schemes page (read 14 October 2026) lists 22 schemes, including a rooftop solar PV scheme for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers. None is a household product, and rates are set by borrower grade in its interest-rate matrix, so there is no household rate to quote.

Points in its favour:

  • Dedicated renewable energy lending with published scheme documents.

Limitations:

  • Not a lender to individual homeowners on its published schemes.

Best for: Businesses and institutions financing a rooftop plant. Read the IREDA solar loan guide for what it does and does not offer.

SBI

SBI’s PM Surya Ghar loan page (read 14 October 2026) lists 5.75% per annum up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% per annum above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh, floating and linked to EBLR, as on 15 December 2025. The terms: rooftop solar up to 10 kW, 10% margin, up to 120 months including a 6-month moratorium, nil processing fee and no prepayment penalty. Up to ₹2 lakh there is no minimum CIBIL score or income; above ₹2 lakh the page requires CIBIL 650+, net annual income of ₹3 lakh+, PAN and asset insurance.

Points in its favour:

  • A published rate and published terms for PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar.
  • Wide branch network and a loan application that starts on the national portal.

Limitations:

  • Rates float with EBLR and change after the date printed on the page.
  • The higher slab and conditions above ₹2 lakh.

Best for: Homeowners financing a PM Surya Ghar rooftop system of up to 10 kW. Read the SBI solar loan guide. SBI’s separate Surya Shakti solar finance is a business loan for SMEs, businesses and housing societies, not a homeowner product.

Other Banks (Bank of Baroda, Canara Bank, Punjab National Bank, Indian Bank)

These banks also lend for PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar. We did not read a rate page for them on 14 October 2026, so no rate, tenor or fee is quoted here. Use each bank’s own PM Surya Ghar loan page, and compare the offer in writing against the figures above.

MSME and Business Loans

For commercial installations (shops, restaurants, clinics, small factories), a business term loan is the usual route, and credit-guarantee-backed options may exist at your bank. SBI’s Surya Shakti solar finance is one published example (page read 14 October 2026): it is for SMEs and business enterprises, up to ₹10 crore for captive use, tenor up to 10 years, 20% minimum margin, and a 0.75% processing fee plus GST, with MSMEs priced on the External Benchmark Rate and non-MSMEs on the 6-month MCLR. Business loans can be paired with accelerated depreciation (40% in Year 1 under the Income Tax Act); see the solar depreciation tax benefits guide.

Comparison Table: Published Rates and Terms

Lenders in alphabetical order, with the rate and terms each publishes (read 14 October 2026; not ranked)
LenderPublished rateTenureProcessing feeHousehold solar product
HDFC Bank (Personal Loan)From 9.99% (range 9.99% to 24%)1 to 7 yearsNot stated in the part readNo solar-specific product
IREDANo household rateSee scheme documentSee scheme documentNo
SBI (Surya Ghar loan)5.75% up to ₹2 lakh; 7.90% above ₹2 lakh to ₹6 lakhUp to 120 months including moratoriumNilYes
SBI (Surya Shakti, business)No fixed rate; MSME on External Benchmark Rate, non-MSME on 6-month MCLRUp to 10 years (captive)0.75% plus GSTNo (SMEs and businesses)

Rates float; verify with each lender before applying. Sources: HDFC Bank, IREDA, SBI Surya Ghar, SBI Surya Shakti, all read 14 October 2026.

EMI Comparison: ₹3 Lakh Solar Loan

The table fixes the loan amount at ₹3,00,000 to give a concrete monthly cost comparison between the two lenders that publish a rate for it.

Monthly EMI, total repayment and total interest on a ₹3,00,000 loan, SBI’s published 7.90% slab against HDFC’s advertised starting rate (calculated here)
Lender and rateTenureMonthly EMITotal RepaymentTotal Interest
HDFC Personal Loan, 9.99%5 years₹6,373₹3,82,358₹82,358
HDFC Personal Loan, 9.99%7 years₹4,979₹4,18,220₹1,18,220
SBI, 7.90%5 years₹6,069₹3,64,114₹64,114
SBI, 7.90%7 years₹4,661₹3,91,518₹91,518
₹050,0001,00,0001,50,000SBI, 7.90%, 5 years₹64,114HDFC Personal, 9.99%,5 years₹82,358SBI, 7.90%, 7 years₹91,518HDFC Personal, 9.99%,7 years₹1,18,220₹050,0001,00,0001,50,000SBI, 7.90%,5 years₹64,114HDFC Personal,9.99%, 5 years₹82,358SBI, 7.90%,7 years₹91,518HDFC Personal,9.99%, 7 years₹1,18,220
Total interest paid on a ₹3,00,000 loan, by lender and tenure
ItemValue (₹)
SBI, 7.90%, 5 years₹64,114
HDFC Personal, 9.99%, 5 years₹82,358
SBI, 7.90%, 7 years₹91,518
HDFC Personal, 9.99%, 7 years₹1,18,220
Total interest paid on a ₹3,00,000 loan, by lender and tenureSource: Calculated in this article with the standard EMI formula: SBI at 7.90% (SBI Surya Ghar loan page, rates as on 15 December 2025) and HDFC Personal Loan at 9.99% (advertised starting rate, HDFC Bank personal loan page); both read 14 October 2026Lower is better. A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest, and the rate you are offered depends on your profile.

IREDA is not in the table because it publishes no household rate. For ₹2,00,000 or less, SBI’s page lists 5.75%, which on ₹2,00,000 over 5 years costs about ₹30,601 in interest, against about ₹54,905 at 9.99%. Compare the EMI with your own bill saving, using your own tariff and generation, and use a solar financial modeling tool for a year-by-year cash-flow view.

Which Solar Loan Fits Your Profile?

Where to start by borrower profile (alphabetical by lender; read the lender’s own page before applying)
ProfileWhere to startWhy
Existing HDFC customer wanting unsecured creditHDFC Bank Personal LoanNo solar-specific product; compare the written offer with SBI’s
Business or institution financing a rooftop plantIREDA’s scheme document, SBI Surya Shakti and your own bankPublished business schemes
Homeowner, PM Surya Ghar rooftop up to 10 kWSBI Surya Ghar loanPublished rate and terms on its page
Homeowner with another bank relationshipThat bank’s own PM Surya Ghar loan pageNo rate is quoted here for banks whose pages were not read

Common Mistakes When Choosing a Solar Loan

  • Applying to the first bank you meet without comparing: on ₹2,00,000 over 5 years, the published SBI rate costs about ₹24,300 less interest than 9.99% (both calculated).
  • Not checking subsidy handling: the subsidy is credited after commissioning, so ask how a lump-sum prepayment is applied. Some buy-now-pay-later products may not suit the DISCOM’s invoice requirements.
  • Ignoring the tenor effect: a shorter tenor reduces total interest but raises the EMI. If the EMI exceeds your bill saving, the system is cash-flow negative until the loan is repaid.
  • Choosing an unempanelled vendor to save on cost: this blocks the PM Surya Ghar subsidy. Comparing quotes from established solar EPC and turnkey installation providers, who are typically already empanelled, avoids the trap.
  • Accepting a rate without a date: floating rates change. Ask for the sanction letter showing the rate, benchmark and reset terms.

For a broader comparison of all financing options including RESCO and zero-cost models, read the inverter financing options in India overview.

How to Apply for the Right Solar Loan: Step-by-Step

  1. Determine system size: get a rooftop assessment from an empanelled installer. System cost, subsidy amount and net loan requirement depend on this number.
  2. Check PM Surya Ghar eligibility: visit the PM Surya Ghar portal and confirm your DISCOM is participating.
  3. Compare rates: use the table above and request written offers from SBI (via the portal or branch), HDFC Bank (if you are a customer) and any other bank whose own page you read.
  4. Run the 5-Factor Scorecard: compare the written offers on rate, tenure, fees, subsidy handling and eligibility ease.
  5. Gather documents: KYC, income proof where required, DISCOM approval and the installer quotation naming ALMM-listed modules and the exact inverter model.
  6. Apply and follow up: ask the lender for its current processing timeline in writing; this guide quotes none because no published source gives one.
  7. Use the subsidy for prepayment: once the subsidy lands, prepay principal if your lender allows it without a charge.

For homeowners on EMI specifically, read the solar on EMI guide for instalment structure analysis and the PM Surya Ghar subsidy amount breakdown for how the central subsidy is calculated by system size.

Where Qbits Fits

Qbits is an inverter manufacturer; it does not lend, install systems or approve subsidy. The loan only pays off if the system it finances performs for the full tenor, so the inverter’s written warranty and service route matter.

  • Hybrid Inverters: Review current QBH model documents and confirm the exact battery, firmware, PV, backup-output, transfer, communication, warranty and project requirements in writing.
  • String Sizing Calculator: confirm panel-string compatibility before the installer finalises the bill of materials and quotation.
  • Authorised Service Partners: Search the current directory, then confirm partner status, service scope, coverage, response process and commercial terms for the location.

Contact Qbits with questions about an inverter model named in a quote. Installers can apply through become our partner. Verify module and cell ALMM status, scheme eligibility, DISCOM acceptance and loan terms with the responsible official parties; Qbits does not control subsidy or lender approval.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Which bank offers the lowest interest rate on solar loans in India in 2026?
Of the lenders whose own pages we read on 14 October 2026, SBI publishes the lowest rate for homeowners: 5.75% per annum for PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar loans up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh, floating and EBLR-linked (rates as on 15 December 2025). HDFC Bank's Personal Loan is advertised from 9.99%, and IREDA publishes no household rate. We read no rate page for other banks, so no rate is quoted for them. Rates float, so confirm the current figure with each lender.
Can I take a solar loan from IREDA as an individual homeowner?
IREDA's loan-schemes page (read 14 October 2026) lists a rooftop solar PV scheme for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers and no household scheme, so an individual homeowner is not its target and there is no household rate to quote. Homeowners use bank loans under PM Surya Ghar; SBI's own page describes one. If a vendor claims an 'IREDA loan' for your home, ask for the lender's written sanction terms and check them on the lender's own page.
What is the maximum tenure for a solar loan from SBI?
SBI's PM Surya Ghar loan page (read 14 October 2026) lists a tenor of up to 120 months including a 6-month moratorium, with no prepayment penalty. HDFC Bank's Personal Loan calculator runs from 1 to 7 years. IREDA's scheme tenures are in its scheme document for business borrowers. A longer tenor lowers the EMI but raises total interest, so compare both.
Are MSME loans an option for commercial solar installations?
Yes, businesses can finance rooftop solar through bank term loans, and SBI's Surya Shakti solar finance is one example: it is for SMEs and business enterprises, with up to ₹10 crore for captive use, tenor up to 10 years, a 20% minimum margin and a 0.75% processing fee plus GST (SBI's page, read 14 October 2026). SBI prices MSMEs on the External Benchmark Rate and non-MSMEs on the 6-month MCLR, so no fixed rate is quoted. Ask your bank whether a credit guarantee scheme can cover your loan, and compare against a RESCO or OPEX model.
What is the processing fee for solar loans in India?
It varies by lender and product. SBI's PM Surya Ghar loan page lists a nil processing fee, while its Surya Shakti business loan lists 0.75% plus GST (read 14 October 2026). HDFC Bank's personal loan page did not state a standard processing fee in the part we read, so ask for it in writing. IREDA's fees for business loans are in its scheme document. Always ask for the fee schedule before you sign.
Does PM Surya Ghar subsidy affect loan eligibility or amount?
The subsidy is credited after commissioning and DISCOM verification (₹30,000 for 1 kW, ₹60,000 for 2 kW, ₹78,000 for 3 kW and above), so a bank normally lends against the full quotation first and you then use the subsidy to prepay principal. Ask your lender how the loan amount is set and how a prepayment is applied. SBI's PM Surya Ghar loan page lists a 10% upfront margin and no prepayment penalty.
Which solar loan is best for a 10 kW commercial installation?
A 10 kW commercial rooftop is usually financed as a business loan, not a homeowner loan. IREDA's rooftop solar scheme is for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers, so read its scheme document; SBI's Surya Shakti is another published business product (page read 14 October 2026). Compare the written offers from your bank, IREDA and an NBFC, and weigh a RESCO or OPEX model against a capex loan. This guide quotes no rate for products whose own pages were not read.
Is a solar loan interest-free available from any Indian government scheme?
We found no interest-free solar loan from a mainstream lender. Some states have offered interest subsidy under specific state programmes, so check your state nodal agency or DISCOM for current schemes. The PM Surya Ghar subsidy reduces the capital cost but does not subsidise interest.
Akash Hirapara
Written by

Akash Hirapara CFO, Qbits Energy

CFO overseeing solar financing, procurement, and channel partner enablement at Qbits.

Related Reading
Policy 16 min

HDFC Solar Loan India 2026: Rates & Eligibility

HDFC Bank's pages show no solar-specific loan: its Personal Loan is advertised from 9.99%, against SBI's published 5.75% to 7.90% for PM Surya Ghar rooftop loans. Compare rates, eligibility and subsidy integration before applying.

Policy 16 min

Solar Loan from SBI, Eligibility and Rates

SBI's own PM Surya Ghar loan page lists 5.75% up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh, with up to 120 months. Here is what you need to qualify and how to apply; Surya Shakti is a separate business loan.

Buying Guide 12 min

Inverter Financing Options in India

The financing routes for a solar inverter or system in India: cash, EMI loans, CAPEX vs OPEX, leasing, subsidies and lender products, with sourced SBI and HDFC terms and the tax-shield arithmetic.

Get Started

Continue researching your solar decision

Use the related guides and definitions to check the assumptions and requirements relevant to your project.