Skip to content
Policy

IREDA Solar Loan: Interest Rate, Eligibility and EMI

IREDA does not publish a household solar loan; this guide shows what IREDA's own page lists, what SBI's PM Surya Ghar loan page states (5.75% and 7.90%), how the subsidy and EMI fit together, and what HDFC offers.

Akash Hirapara
Akash Hirapara CFO
June 5, 2026 Updated October 14, 2026 18 min read

ALMM and inverter compliance: MNRE’s current ALMM page publishes solar PV module and cell lists, not an inverter list. Verify the inverter’s exact model documents and applicable scheme or DISCOM requirements separately.

Your electricity bill crosses ₹8,000 a month, your neighbour just went solar, and you have spent three evenings reading about PM Surya Ghar. The subsidy numbers look attractive (₹78,000 for a 3 kW system), but the rest of the cost still needs to come from somewhere. Many homeowners search for an “IREDA solar loan” at this point, so this guide starts with what IREDA actually publishes and then shows the loans that homeowners can actually take. For the wider picture, see the solar loan guide in Hindi.

Direct answer. IREDA does not publish a loan product for households: its own loan-schemes page lists a rooftop solar scheme for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers only (read 14 October 2026). A homeowner’s PM Surya Ghar loan comes from a bank. SBI’s own page lists 5.75% per annum up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% per annum above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh (rates as on 15 December 2025), and HDFC Bank shows no solar-specific loan, with its Personal Loan advertised from 9.99%.

What Is IREDA, and Does It Lend to Homeowners?

The Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency is the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy’s specialised financier for renewable energy projects. It is not a retail bank and has no household counter. Its loan-schemes page (read 14 October 2026) lists 22 financing schemes. One of them is the “Loan Scheme for Financing Rooftop Solar PV Grid Connected / Interactive Power Projects”, and the page names the eligible borrowers as industrial, commercial and institutional entities. None of the 22 schemes is described as a household product. IREDA’s interest rates are set by borrower grade in a published rate matrix, and no household rate appears there.

You may see an “IREDA Suryodaya” loan promoted online. We found no scheme of that name among IREDA’s published loan schemes, so treat any such advertised rate as unverified until you see it on IREDA’s or your bank’s own page.

What each lender’s own page shows for rooftop solar loans (read 14 October 2026; rates change, so confirm before applying)
LenderProduct on its own pagePublished rate and terms
HDFC BankNo solar-specific loan; the Personal Loan is the routePersonal Loan advertised from 9.99% p.a. (calculator range 9.99% to 24%), tenure 1 to 7 years; HDFC Bank
IREDANo household loan; rooftop solar scheme is for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowersNo household rate; rates are set by borrower grade in IREDA’s interest-rate matrix; IREDA schemes page
SBISBI Surya Ghar loan (PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar, up to 10 kW)5.75% p.a. up to ₹2 lakh; 7.90% p.a. above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh; floating, EBLR-linked; rates as on 15 December 2025, page updated 13 February 2026; up to 120 months including a 6-month moratorium; processing fee nil; SBI

Qbits does not set or approve loans; the table only shows what each lender publishes. Rates float with the benchmark and change over time, so a number read on 14 October 2026 may be different when you apply.

How the Household Loan Process Works

For a homeowner, the path to a loan runs through the PM Surya Ghar portal and a bank, not through IREDA:

  1. Register on the PM Surya Ghar portal (pmsuryaghar.gov.in) with your electricity connection details and apply for a rooftop system.
  2. Obtain DISCOM feasibility approval for the system size.
  3. Choose an empanelled installer and obtain an itemised written quotation that names ALMM-listed modules and the exact inverter model.
  4. Apply for the bank loan. SBI’s page directs applicants to register on the PM Surya Ghar portal first and then apply for the loan through jansamarth.in. Other banks have their own routes, so use the bank’s own page.
  5. Installation, inspection and subsidy. The installer commissions the system, the DISCOM inspects it, and the central subsidy is credited after verification. Apply the subsidy as a principal prepayment if your bank allows it.

This guide quotes no processing times for these stages. The time each step takes differs by DISCOM, bank and branch, and no published source gives a reliable range; ask your installer and your bank for their current timelines.

Eligibility: What SBI’s Page Requires

For the SBI Surya Ghar loan (read 14 October 2026) the page lists these conditions:

  • Applicant: an individual, with age limits stated on the page (65 for a single applicant, 75 for a joint application, with the loan closing before the co-borrower reaches 75).
  • Project: rooftop solar up to 10 kW, loan up to ₹6 lakh, with a 10% upfront margin on the project cost.
  • Up to ₹2 lakh: no minimum CIBIL score, no minimum income, PAN optional, asset insurance not mandatory.
  • Above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh: a minimum CIBIL score of 650, net annual income of at least ₹3 lakh, PAN mandatory and asset insurance mandatory at your cost. Loans with a history of default or write-off are ineligible.
  • Security: hypothecation of the assets.
  • Tenor: up to 120 months including a 6-month moratorium, with no prepayment penalty.
  • Processing fee: nil.

The PM Surya Ghar eligibility rules for the subsidy are separate from the bank’s lending rules, so you need to meet both.

Loan Types Compared

IREDA, SBI Surya Ghar and an HDFC Personal Loan compared on what each publishes (read 14 October 2026)
DimensionIREDASBI Surya Ghar loanHDFC Personal Loan
Who it is forIndustrial, commercial, institutional borrowersIndividuals, rooftop solar up to 10 kWIndividuals, any purpose
Interest rateNo household rate; rates set by borrower grade5.75% up to ₹2 lakh; 7.90% above ₹2 lakh to ₹6 lakhFrom 9.99%; calculator range 9.99% to 24%
TenureSee IREDA’s scheme documentUp to 120 months including moratorium1 to 7 years
SecuritySee IREDA’s scheme documentHypothecation of assetsNot stated on the page
Processing feeSee IREDA’s scheme documentNilNot stated on the page

What this means in practice. For a homeowner who qualifies for it, the published SBI rate is lower than the advertised starting rate of an HDFC Personal Loan. On a ₹2,00,000 loan over 5 years, that is about ₹30,601 in interest at 5.75% against about ₹54,905 at 9.99%, a difference of about ₹24,300 (both calculated here). A loan above ₹2 lakh moves to SBI’s 7.90% slab and carries the CIBIL and income conditions above. Whichever lender you choose, ask for the current rate in writing.

The Solar Finance Stack: Subsidy, Loan and Savings

Use this checklist to see how subsidy, loan and bill savings fit together for your own quote. The figures below are an assumed example, not a market price.

The Solar Finance Stack

Step 1, Take the gross cost from your itemised quote. Assume ₹2,00,000 for a 3 kW rooftop system. Use your own quote; this number is an assumption.

Step 2, Subtract the central subsidy. For 3 kW and above the central subsidy is ₹78,000 (₹30,000 per kW for the first 2 kW, then ₹18,000 for the third kW), credited after commissioning and DISCOM verification. Net cost after subsidy in this example: ₹1,22,000.

Step 3, Check state top-ups. Some states add their own support. Use the PM Surya Ghar subsidy amount guide and your state nodal agency for current figures; none is assumed here.

Step 4, Size the loan. The subsidy comes after commissioning, so the bank lends against the quotation first. With SBI’s 10% margin, the loan on a ₹2,00,000 quote is up to ₹1,80,000. At 5.75% for 10 years the EMI is about ₹1,976 (calculated).

Step 5, Estimate your own bill saving. Monthly units generated × your tariff, using your own bills. This guide quotes no generation or saving figure for your house.

Step 6, Compare. If your saving is higher than the EMI, the loan is cash-flow positive. If not, extend the tenure or prepay with the subsidy.

EMI Calculator: Example Loan Amounts on SBI’s Published Rates

Monthly EMI on SBI’s published rates for four example loan amounts (calculated here; example amounts are not system costs)
Loan amountSBI rate for that slab5-year EMI7-year EMI10-year EMITotal interest over 10 years
₹1,00,0005.75%₹1,922₹1,449₹1,098₹31,723
₹2,00,0005.75%₹3,843₹2,898₹2,195₹63,446
₹3,00,0007.90%₹6,069₹4,661₹3,624₹1,34,879
₹6,00,0007.90%₹12,137₹9,322₹7,248₹2,69,759
  • 5-year EMI
  • 10-year EMI
₹05,00010,00015,000₹1 lakh₹2 lakh₹3 lakh₹6 lakh₹1,922₹1,098₹3,843₹2,195₹6,069₹3,624₹12,137₹7,248₹05,00010,00015,000₹1 lakh₹2 lakh₹3 lakh₹6 lakh
Monthly EMI by loan amount and tenure on SBI's published slab rates
Item5-year EMI10-year EMI
₹1 lakh₹1,922₹1,098
₹2 lakh₹3,843₹2,195
₹3 lakh₹6,069₹3,624
₹6 lakh₹12,137₹7,248
Monthly EMI by loan amount and tenure on SBI's published slab ratesSource: Calculated in this article with the standard EMI formula at SBI's published rates (5.75% up to ₹2 lakh, 7.90% above ₹2 lakh to ₹6 lakh; SBI Surya Ghar loan page, rates as on 15 December 2025, read 14 October 2026)EMI only; rates float with EBLR, and the higher slab applies above ₹2 lakh.

Check whether the 7.90% slab applies to your whole loan or only to the part above ₹2 lakh; SBI’s page states the rate by loan-amount range, so ask the branch to confirm how it applies to your sanctioned amount. The subsidy is capped at ₹78,000 for 3 kW and above, so larger systems get proportionally less subsidy per kilowatt.

Documents You Need to Apply

For loans up to ₹2 lakh, SBI’s page keeps documentation light (KYC and a copy of the electricity bill). For larger loans, expect the bank to ask for more. Gather these before approaching a bank:

Identity and property:

  • Aadhaar and PAN: PAN is mandatory above ₹2 lakh at SBI.
  • Latest electricity bill in your name, which is also your PM Surya Ghar portal identifier.
  • Proof that you may install on the roof: ownership or the owner’s consent, as the bank requires.

Income (above ₹2 lakh):

  • Income proof: salary slips or income tax returns, as the bank specifies, to show the net annual income the page requires.

Solar project documents:

  • DISCOM feasibility approval for the proposed system size.
  • Itemised installer quotation naming ALMM-listed modules and the exact inverter model.

Credit documents:

  • CIBIL score: banks check it independently; knowing it beforehand sets expectations (650 minimum above ₹2 lakh at SBI).

Common Mistakes That Delay or Cost You

  • Searching for an IREDA household loan: IREDA publishes no such product. Spend the time on the bank route instead.
  • Approaching the bank before DISCOM feasibility: complete the PM Surya Ghar online application first so the paperwork matches.
  • Assuming the subsidy reduces the loan up front: it is credited after commissioning and verification. Plan to prepay principal with it.
  • Ignoring the slab: SBI’s 5.75% applies up to ₹2 lakh; above that the page lists 7.90% and extra conditions. Size the loan with that in mind.
  • Accepting a rate without the date: floating rates change. Ask for the written sanction letter showing the rate, the benchmark and how often it resets.
  • Skipping the written quotation details: the DISCOM and the bank both rely on the model numbers in the installer’s quote, so get the exact inverter and module models written down.

For the full range of financing options beyond banks (including EMI offers from distributors and NBFC products), the inverter financing options guide covers the spectrum, and the SBI solar loan guide goes deeper on the SBI product. For zero-down-payment routes, the solar on EMI guide covers credit card, RESCO and NBFC instalment options.

How Net Metering Affects the Loan Return

Net metering lets the DISCOM credit the units your system exports against the units you draw. The credit rate and settlement terms are set by your state commission and DISCOM, so they change from state to state. Do not assume a fixed credit rate or a fixed export share when you compare EMI with savings; use your DISCOM’s current net metering terms and your own consumption pattern. The DISCOM interconnection agreement carries the metering terms.

Prepayment and Tenure Optimisation

SBI’s page lists no prepayment penalty, which makes this worth planning for.

Strategy 1, Use the subsidy as a prepayment. Worked example (calculated here): a ₹2,00,000 loan at 5.75% over 10 years has an EMI of about ₹2,195. After 12 EMIs the outstanding principal is about ₹1,84,758. A ₹78,000 prepayment brings it to about ₹1,06,758. If you keep paying the same EMI, the loan closes in about 56 more months instead of 108, and you save about ₹37,000 in interest.

Strategy 2, Pick the tenure by cash flow. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest (₹63,446 over 10 years against ₹30,601 over 5 on ₹2,00,000 at 5.75%). If cash flow is tight in year one, take the longer tenure and prepay once the subsidy and savings arrive.

Strategy 3, Match tenure to your payback. The payback period depends on your quote, tariff and consumption. The solar inverter payback period guide shows how to calculate it with your own numbers.

Where Qbits Fits in the Solar Finance Picture

Qbits is an inverter manufacturer. It does not lend, install systems or approve subsidy; the loan, the subsidy and the installation belong to your bank, the DISCOM and your chosen installer. Qbits’ part is the inverter model named in your quotation.

  • Hybrid Inverters: Review current QBH model documents and confirm the exact battery, firmware, PV, backup-output, transfer, communication, warranty and project requirements in writing.
  • Authorised Service Partners: Search the current directory, then confirm partner status, service scope, coverage and response process for your location.

Contact Qbits with questions about an inverter model named in a quote. Installers who want to supply Qbits inverters can apply through become our partner.

Which Route Fits Which Homeowner?

Suggested starting point by homeowner profile (read the lender’s own page before applying)
ProfileWhere to startWhy
Loan of ₹2 lakh or less, PM Surya Ghar rooftop up to 10 kWSBI Surya Ghar loanPublished 5.75%, no minimum CIBIL score, nil processing fee on the page
Loan above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh with CIBIL 650+ and income of ₹3 lakh+SBI Surya Ghar loan, 7.90% slabPublished rate and conditions on SBI’s page
Business or institution financing a rooftop plantIREDA’s rooftop solar scheme document, and your bankIREDA’s published scheme is for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers
Existing HDFC customer wanting unsecured creditHDFC Personal Loan, from 9.99%No solar-specific product; check the offer and fees
Any other bankThat bank’s own PM Surya Ghar loan pageNo rate is quoted here for a bank whose page was not read

What the published SBI terms give you

  • A published rate for loans up to ₹2 lakh of 5.75% and above ₹2 lakh of 7.90% (as on 15 December 2025)
  • Up to 120 months, nil processing fee and no prepayment penalty on the page
  • No minimum CIBIL score for loans up to ₹2 lakh

What to watch

  • Rates are floating and change; the date on the page matters
  • Above ₹2 lakh: CIBIL 650+, income of ₹3 lakh+, PAN and mandatory asset insurance
  • The subsidy is credited after commissioning, not at loan disbursement

Sources (read 14 October 2026): SBI Surya Ghar loan page (rates as on 15 December 2025; page updated 13 February 2026); IREDA loan schemes; HDFC Bank personal loan.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an IREDA solar loan?
IREDA (Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency) is a government-owned specialised finance institution under the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy. Its loan-schemes page (read 14 October 2026) lists a rooftop solar PV scheme for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers and no scheme for households. Loans for homeowners under PM Surya Ghar come from banks, for example SBI. You may see an 'IREDA Suryodaya' household loan advertised; we found no scheme of that name among IREDA's published loan schemes.
What is the interest rate on IREDA solar loan?
IREDA does not publish a household solar loan rate. Its rates for project loans are set by borrower grade in its interest-rate matrix (the page was last updated 13 October 2026). For a homeowner, the relevant published bank rate is SBI's: 5.75% per annum for loans up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% per annum above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh, floating and linked to EBLR (SBI's own page, rates as on 15 December 2025, read 14 October 2026). Rates float, so confirm the current figure with SBI before applying.
Who is eligible for an IREDA solar loan?
IREDA's rooftop solar scheme is for industrial, commercial and institutional borrowers, so an individual homeowner is not its target. For the SBI Surya Ghar loan (read 14 October 2026): the loan is for individuals installing rooftop solar up to 10 kW, with a 10% upfront margin. Up to ₹2 lakh there is no minimum CIBIL score and no minimum income. Above ₹2 lakh and up to ₹6 lakh the page requires a CIBIL score of at least 650 and net annual income of at least ₹3 lakh, and PAN and asset insurance become mandatory. You should also register on the PM Surya Ghar portal and have DISCOM approval for the subsidy.
How do I apply for an IREDA solar loan?
A business or institution that wants an IREDA loan should read IREDA's rooftop solar scheme document and contact IREDA directly. A homeowner follows the PM Surya Ghar route: (1) register on pmsuryaghar.gov.in and apply for the rooftop system; (2) get an itemised quotation from an empanelled installer using ALMM-listed modules; (3) apply for the bank loan (SBI's page directs applicants to register on the PM Surya Ghar portal first and then apply for the loan through jansamarth.in); (4) the installer commissions the system and the DISCOM inspects it; (5) the subsidy is credited after verification. Confirm the current steps with your bank, because portal processes change.
Can I combine an IREDA loan with PM Surya Ghar subsidy?
The PM Surya Ghar central subsidy (₹30,000 for 1 kW, ₹60,000 for 2 kW and ₹78,000 for 3 kW and above, as listed on SBI's page) is paid after installation and DISCOM verification, so it is separate from the financing you choose. Because it arrives after commissioning, you normally need the loan for the full project cost first and then use the subsidy to prepay principal. Ask your bank in writing how a prepayment is applied and whether it carries a charge; SBI's page lists no prepayment penalty.
Which banks offer IREDA solar loans for homes?
IREDA's published schemes do not list partner banks for household loans, so there is no list of 'IREDA banks' to quote. Banks that lend to households for PM Surya Ghar rooftop solar include SBI, whose own page gives 5.75% per annum up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% per annum above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh (rates as on 15 December 2025, read 14 October 2026). HDFC Bank's pages show no solar-specific loan; its Personal Loan is advertised from 9.99% per annum. For any other bank, use that bank's own PM Surya Ghar loan page; we quote no rate we could not read.
What is the EMI on a 3 kW solar loan after PM Surya Ghar subsidy?
The EMI depends on the loan amount, not on the kilowatt size alone, and your quotation sets the amount. As a calculated example on SBI's published rates: a ₹2,00,000 loan at 5.75% costs ₹3,843 a month over 5 years, ₹2,898 over 7 years and ₹2,195 over 10 years; a ₹3,00,000 loan at 7.90% costs ₹6,069, ₹4,661 and ₹3,624 for the same tenures. Compare the EMI with your own electricity-bill saving, which depends on your tariff and consumption.
Does an IREDA solar loan require collateral?
For SBI's Surya Ghar loan the security is hypothecation of the solar assets. Up to ₹2 lakh there is no minimum CIBIL score, and PAN and asset insurance are optional; above ₹2 lakh, PAN and asset insurance are mandatory and a CIBIL score of 650 or more and net annual income of ₹3 lakh or more are required. The page states processing fee nil and no prepayment penalty (read 14 October 2026). For an IREDA business loan, the security terms are in IREDA's scheme document.
Akash Hirapara
Written by

Akash Hirapara CFO, Qbits Energy

CFO overseeing solar financing, procurement, and channel partner enablement at Qbits.

Related Reading
Policy 16 min

Solar Loan from SBI, Eligibility and Rates

SBI's own PM Surya Ghar loan page lists 5.75% up to ₹2 lakh and 7.90% above ₹2 lakh up to ₹6 lakh, with up to 120 months. Here is what you need to qualify and how to apply; Surya Shakti is a separate business loan.

Policy 22 min

Solar Inverter on EMI: 6 Finance Options

Solar on EMI in India has six routes: bank PM Surya Ghar loans, personal loans, IREDA (business only), NBFCs, no-cost credit card EMI and RESCO. SBI's own page lists 5.75% to 7.90%; worked EMI examples inside.

Buying Guide 12 min

Inverter Financing Options in India

The financing routes for a solar inverter or system in India: cash, EMI loans, CAPEX vs OPEX, leasing, subsidies and lender products, with sourced SBI and HDFC terms and the tax-shield arithmetic.

Get Started

Check the rule that applies to your project

Use the issuing authority and your DISCOM documents to confirm the current rule, eligibility and application process for your location.