A connected inverter should be judged at the exact model and installation level. An app-store listing shows that an application exists. It does not show that the logger is included, that a feature works on your model, or that an alert reaches you without setup.
This page compares the hardware and connectivity of five brands on a 5 kW single-phase inverter: Qbits, GoodWe, Growatt, Sungrow and Solis. For each, it names the exact model, the Wi-Fi or 4G logger options, the published data interval, what the datasheet says about gaps, and what to confirm before you pay. For the apps themselves, including setup, alerts, export and language, see the separate solar inverter app comparison.
Qbits Energy publishes this page and sells one of the five inverters. Qbits is held to the same source rule as the others: a fact counts only if a manufacturer document states it, and Qbits appears in the table with its own published fields. The brands are listed in no ranked order, and no scores or winners are given.
How we chose the five
- One class of inverter. A 5 kW, single-phase, grid-tied residential model, or the 5 kW member of a named range, so the comparison is like for like.
- Exact models. A brand-level claim such as “supports Wi-Fi” is not enough. We name the model and its logger.
- Official documents only. We used datasheets, manuals, product pages and store listings from the manufacturer, opened on 14 October 2026. Where a document was silent, the table says “not found”, which means we did not find it, not that it is absent.
- Not a market ranking. Other brands such as Deye or SMA also offer connected inverters. Omission is not disqualification.
The five exact models and their loggers, as of October 2026
| Brand and model | Inverter’s own communication | Plug-in logger or dongle options | Published interval and storage | App or portal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qbits QB 5KTLD (QB 4/5/6 KTLD range) | Wi-Fi; optional RS485 or GPRS (Qbits product data) | Logger part number not stated in public product data | Not found | Qbits inverter app |
| GoodWe GW5K-DNS-G40 (DNS G4, 3 to 6 kW) | USB module port; modules per GoodWe’s compatibility list | Ezlink3000 (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, optional LAN); 4G Kit-G20 (4G with Bluetooth, up to 4 devices) | Interval not found; Wi-Fi Kit-20 lists breakpoint retransmission | SEMS Portal and SEMS+ |
| Growatt MIN 5000TL-X | RS485 and USB standard; Wi-Fi, GPRS, RF and LAN optional | ShineWiFi-X (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi); Shine4G-X (standard SIM, 2G/3G/4G) | 5 minutes; memory for up to one month | ShinePhone and ShineServer |
| Sungrow SG5.0RS-L | One-click access to iSolarCloud per the product page | WiNet-S2 (2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and 10/100 Ethernet, IP66, 1 device) | “Data interval in seconds”; 10 second real-time refresh sample on the SG-RS-L page | iSolarCloud |
| Solis S6-GR1P5K-S | Wi-Fi or GPRS real-time monitoring per the India product page | S3-WiFi-ST (2.4 GHz); S3-GPRS-ST (cellular), up to 10 inverters per stick over RS485 | 5 minutes | SolisCloud |
Sources: Qbits QB 4/5/6 KTLD product page, GoodWe DNS G4 page, GoodWe compatibility list, Version 18, 30 September 2026, GoodWe Ezlink3000 datasheet, GoodWe 4G Kit-G20 page, Growatt MIN 2500 to 6000TL-X datasheet, Growatt ShineWiFi-X datasheet, Growatt Shine4G-X datasheet, Sungrow SG4.0/5.0/6.0RS-L page, Sungrow WiNet-S2 datasheet, Solis S6-GR1P(4-5)K-S page, Solis S3-GPRS/WiFi-ST datasheet.
The table compares communication documentation, not inverter quality, efficiency or service. A missing public answer may exist in an installer pack. Get it in the quote.
Qbits QB 5KTLD
The 5 kW member of the Qbits QB 4/5/6 KTLD range is a single-phase, dual-MPPT on-grid inverter with an IP66 enclosure. The product data lists “Wi-Fi; optional RS485 or GPRS” for communication and an LED display, with an optional LCD. Qbits links from its site to a Qbits inverter app on the Apple App Store and Google Play.
What the public documents do not say is which logger or Wi-Fi module sits inside the 5KTLD, whether it is included in a quote, what the data interval is, or how the app pairs with this model. The store listings do not name inverter models. That is a gap to close in writing, not a flaw: ask for the communication hardware by name and a demonstration on an installed 5KTLD.
For battery systems, the single-phase QBH 3 to 6 kW hybrid lists “Wi-Fi monitoring; verify battery interface”, and the latest Qbits app release notes mention hybrid inverter details, including battery and energy values and a plant energy-flow diagram. The Qbits datasheet page has the model documents.
Choose it when: the 5KTLD fits the electrical design and Qbits or the installer provides the logger, app pairing and owner view in writing.
Do not assume: that the app listing proves pairing with the exact model, or that optional RS485 or GPRS hardware is in the price.
GoodWe GW5K-DNS-G40
GoodWe’s current DNS G4 page lists the GW5K-DNS-G40 in a 3 to 6 kW, single-phase, two-MPPT range. The page does not itself describe Wi-Fi, so the communication facts come from GoodWe’s own compatibility list (Version 18, dated 30 September 2026). It marks DNS G4 as in mass production and, in its communication table, as compatible with three module types, which we read as a Wi-Fi/LAN kit, the Ezlink3000 and the 4G Kit-G20, with a firmware condition for the Ezlink module (V1.6.8 or above). Read the table yourself for your own variant, because the columns are dense and conditions vary by family.
The module datasheets are specific:
- Ezlink3000: USB connection, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Bluetooth 5.1, optional Ethernet up to 100 m, IP65, typical consumption 2 W or less.
- 4G Kit-G20: up to 4 connected devices, IP66, integrated 4G and Bluetooth, breakpoint retransmission, on-site APN customisation.
- Wi-Fi Kit-20 (a separate Wi-Fi-only kit; check the list for your variant): Wi-Fi at 2.4 GHz only, Bluetooth V4.2 for setup, breakpoint retransmission, 1 connected device, IP65, plug and play.
The Wi-Fi Kit-20 datasheet explains breakpoint retransmission as automatically disconnecting and reconnecting broken links to prevent data loss. Remote upgrade of inverter programs without a site visit is also listed.
Choose it when: you want documented Bluetooth local setup and a cellular option from the same maker, and the seller names the module and firmware in the quote.
Do not assume: that the quoted kit is the one on the compatibility list for DNS G4, or that GoodWe’s older DNS G3 module list applies, because that family is marked Phase Out.
Growatt MIN 5000TL-X
Growatt’s MIN 2500 to 6000TL-X datasheet lists the MIN 5000TL-X with two MPP trackers, IP65 protection and a display shown as OLED plus LED with Wi-Fi and app. For interfaces it marks RS485 and USB as standard, and Wi-Fi, GPRS, RF and LAN as optional. That wording matters: Wi-Fi is an optional accessory on this model, not a given.
The logger options are the ShineWiFi-X and the Shine4G-X:
- ShineWiFi-X: 802.11 b/g/n, 2.4 GHz band, USB to the inverter, 5 minute transmission interval, built-in memory for up to one month, 1.2 W rated power.
- Shine4G-X: 2G, 3G and 4G with a standard SIM card, USB, 5 minute interval, memory for up to one month, operating range -30 to +65 degrees C.
Both talk to ShineServer, and both are configured through the app. The setup guide for the ShineWiFi-X says the logger works on 2.4 GHz and dual-band routers but not on a single-band 5 GHz router, and it ties LED colours to states: flashing blue means connected to router and server, solid green means a failed connection, and flashing green means the router has no internet. The guide is dated 2020, so confirm against the current manual.
Choose it when: the quote names the ShineWiFi-X or Shine4G-X, you accept the web portal for reporting, and Growatt confirms the logger against your exact inverter.
Do not assume: that the MIN 5000TL-X ships with a logger. Optional means someone has to order it.
Sungrow SG5.0RS-L
Sungrow’s SG4.0/5.0/6.0RS-L page lists one-click access to iSolarCloud and real-time data with a 10 second refresh sample. It does not name the communication module. The logger in Sungrow’s range is the WiNet-S2: its datasheet lists 2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi, 10/100 Ethernet with a communication distance up to 100 m, IP66, one supported device, local and remote parameter setting and “data interval in seconds”.
Two points call for a written answer. First, Sungrow’s WiNet-S/S2 manual lists the SG3.0 to 10RS inverters and several hybrids as compatible, but it does not name the SG5.0RS-L in that table, so ask for the pairing to be confirmed. Second, the manual describes a Local Access mode where the phone joins the module’s own hotspot with no internet, which helps commissioning but not monitoring from away.
We did not find a 4G module for this model in the documents we checked. If your site has no broadband, ask Sungrow or the installer what cellular route, if any, exists.
Choose it when: the installer can show the exact module on the exact inverter, with the plant on your own iSolarCloud account.
Do not assume: that the module is in the box, or that a platform name proves the pairing.
Solis S6-GR1P5K-S
Solis lists the S6-GR1P5K-S in its S6-GR1P(4-5)K-S range, with Wi-Fi or GPRS real-time monitoring, 24 hour load consumption monitoring and IP66 protection. The model manual shows the Wi-Fi or GPRS stick as an optional communication device, and documents a local Bluetooth connection through SolisCloud, with the installer completing the first local login.
The sticks are documented in one datasheet: the S3-WiFi-ST uses 802.11 b/g/n at 2.4 GHz, and the S3-GPRS-ST uses 850/900/1800/1900 MHz. Both connect to the inverter over RS485 through a 4-pin interface, support up to 10 inverters per stick, collect data every 5 minutes and list IP65. The datasheet describes fault alarm and real-time monitoring, and a reset button to force a data send.
Choose it when: you want a documented Wi-Fi or GPRS stick with a published interval, and the quote names the stick, the part number and any SIM cost.
Do not assume: that the stick is included, or that every SolisCloud diagnostic feature appears on this model.
Alerts: what to demand and how to test it
Alert types are only useful if they arrive. The published delivery routes differ:
| Alert route | Qbits | GoodWe | Growatt | Sungrow | Solis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| App push | Not found | Notification setting in the SEMS Portal app manual | Not stated in documents checked | Yes, per Sungrow’s 2023 release note | Yes, with selectable urgency |
| Not found | Not stated for alarms | Yes, on ShineServer, with daily and monthly reports | Yes, per the release note | Yes | |
| SMS | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Yes |
| Alarm history | Alarm page in the app | Alarms tab with search | Not stated | Fault management | Search, filter, export |
Ask for the following to be shown on your own installed system, in this order:
- Inverter offline. Switch the router off and note whether and when a notification arrives.
- Grid fault. Ask the installer to use the manufacturer’s permitted test, not a real electrical fault.
- Fault with an explanation. An alert that says only “E045” with no text sends you to a manual. See whether the app explains it.
- A recipient who is not you. Add a second email or phone where the platform allows it.
- Delay. Time the gap between the event and the message. Platforms rarely publish this.
Offline behaviour, side by side
| Logger | What the document says |
|---|---|
| GoodWe Wi-Fi Kit-20 | Breakpoint retransmission to avoid data loss after a broken link |
| GoodWe 4G Kit-G20 | Breakpoint retransmission listed |
| Growatt ShineWiFi-X and Shine4G-X | Built-in memory for up to one month of data |
| Sungrow WiNet-S2 | No outage buffer stated; local hotspot mode works without internet for commissioning |
| Solis S3-WiFi-ST and S3-GPRS-ST | No outage buffer stated; data collected every 5 minutes |
| Qbits | Not found in the public product data |
What data your connected inverter should show
Use this as a checklist at handover. Items marked model-specific need a live demonstration, not a brochure.
If your roof has two orientations, per-MPPT data tells you whether one string is underperforming. The dual-MPPT comparison explains why that matters.
Cellular options for sites with weak broadband
Where home broadband is unreliable, a logger with its own SIM removes the router from the chain. The options documented above are the Qbits optional GPRS interface, the Growatt Shine4G-X, the Solis S3-GPRS-ST and the GoodWe 4G Kit-G20. Before choosing one, settle four things in writing.
Buying checklist: put these in the written quote
| Question | Acceptable evidence | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Logger or dongle part number | Named part on quote or packing list | Proves what hardware you are paying for |
| Included in the price? | Written inclusion | Avoids an accessory surprise at commissioning |
| Network used | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Ethernet or a named cellular option | Decides whether it works at the inverter location |
| What the owner account shows | Live demonstration on the exact model | Platform pages show features your model may not expose |
| Can the owner export data? | A demonstrated export file | Keeps a portable service record |
| Data retention | Written platform policy | Daily totals cannot replace a detailed fault history |
| Internet outage behaviour | Disconnect and reconnect test | Shows whether missed readings return |
| Account ownership and transfer | Owner login and transfer steps | Avoids dependence on the original installer |
| Who diagnoses an alert | Named entity, and whether a visit is chargeable | Decides what happens after the alarm |
| Data controller and hosting location | Privacy statement for the platform | Tells you where your site data sits and how to close the account |
Adding monitoring to an inverter you already own
Most of the loggers above are USB or RS485 plug-ins built for their own brand’s models. To add one:
- Find the inverter’s exact model and firmware on the nameplate or display.
- Look up that model in the manufacturer’s current compatibility list. GoodWe’s list carries firmware conditions, and Sungrow’s manual says to confirm firmware compatibility with the module before use.
- Order the listed logger part, not a look-alike from a marketplace.
- Register the plant in your own name and add the logger by its own serial number.
If the inverter has no supported logger, a new inverter is a clearer route than an unverified workaround.
Common mistakes
- Buying for the app and ignoring the logger. The plug-in stick is the link between inverter and cloud, so choose and test it first.
- Assuming Wi-Fi is built in. On several models it is an optional accessory.
- A 5 GHz-only router. Every Wi-Fi logger datasheet we checked lists 2.4 GHz. Use a dual-band router or a 2.4 GHz network.
- Leaving the plant in the installer’s account. Register it under your own email.
- Treating monitoring as proof of safety. It reports what connected sensors see. It does not replace earthing, insulation or connector checks.
- Taking the app total over the DISCOM meter. The meter governs billing.
If a system already installed has gone quiet, the Wi-Fi connection troubleshooting sequence is the next page to read.
Which hardware route suits which site
| Situation | What to look for |
|---|---|
| Stable home broadband, 2.4 GHz router | A plug-in Wi-Fi logger from the inverter’s own maker, named in the quote |
| Unreliable or no broadband | A cellular logger, band check and a written SIM cost |
| Battery backup planned | A hybrid with a documented battery interface; see the hybrid inverter hub for the Qbits QBH families |
| Several owners or properties | Guest or multi-plant sharing on the platform |
| Need records for a lender or DISCOM | A platform that exports data, tested at handover |
| No local installer support | A written statement of who diagnoses an alert |
What we could not confirm
We could not find a published data interval for the GoodWe kits or for the Qbits product data, an outage buffer for the Sungrow and Solis loggers, a cellular module for the Sungrow model, or WhatsApp alert delivery for any of the five exact models. The Growatt MIN datasheet we used is a copy of Growatt’s own document hosted by a distributor. All documents were opened on 14 October 2026, and manufacturers change them without notice. For the apps, see the app comparison, and for the Qbits model documents see the datasheet page.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QB 1.5/2.0/2.7/3.0/3.3/3.6/4.0KTLS
- Power
- 1.5–4 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS
- Power
- 4.2–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 5/6/8/10/12/15/17KTLC
- Power
- 5–17 kW
- Phase
- Three-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
Frequently Asked Questions
What is WiFi solar monitoring for inverters?
Can I monitor my solar inverter on WhatsApp?
What is the best solar monitoring app in India?
Does solar monitoring work without internet?
Can I add WiFi monitoring to an existing solar inverter?
What data should I be able to see from my solar inverter?
How much yield loss does poor monitoring cause?
Do rural solar installations in India need 4G monitoring?
Qbits Editorial
The Qbits Energy editorial team writes about solar inverters, battery storage, and the hardware powering India's energy transition.