Search for the longest solar inverter warranty in India and you get a duration contest: 5 years, 7 years, 10 years, 12 years. The number is the easiest thing for a brand to print and the least useful thing for a buyer to compare. Two inverters advertising the same decade of cover can hand you very different protection, because the duration is one clause in a contract and the other clauses do the real work.
This guide compares what Indian inverter brands actually publish, and then compares the terms that decide whether those years mean anything. That includes when the clock starts, whether a factory dispatch cap quietly eats part of it, how coastal distance changes cover, who pays freight and labour on an approved claim, whether reconditioned parts are allowed, whether a replacement unit restarts the term, and which extensions lapse if you miss a registration window.
You will also get a worked example showing how a 10-year headline can deliver less cover than a 7-year one, the difference between a manufacturer warranty and the PM Surya Ghar 5-year maintenance contract, and what to ask for before you pay. Qbits publishes this page, so the same test is applied to Qbits terms as to everyone else’s, including the point where the public documentation stops.
Short version. On terms you can verify from a document, Havells and UTL lead at 10 years on specific lines, Polycab prints 7, and the imported string brands cluster at 5. Qbits publishes this page and is deliberately absent from the ranking, because its public datasheets describe an expandable warranty without fixing a base term. Duration alone does not decide value in any case. Start date, dispatch caps, coastal exclusions, freight and labour liability change the real cover more than the headline does.
Why the longest warranty is the wrong question
A warranty is a contract for a remedy, not a promise of uptime. The question that matters is not how many years are printed, but what the manufacturer owes you, from when, under what conditions, and at whose cost. Rank the documents on those four answers and the duration contest usually reorders itself.
Three failure modes explain most buyer disappointment. The first is a start date that is not your start date. Cover measured from invoice or factory dispatch begins before your system produces anything. The second is a remedy that is weaker than the marketing implies. Repair or parts supply is a different promise from full unit replacement, and only one of them gets your array exporting again quickly. The third is cost leakage inside an approved claim, where the product is free and the logistics are not.
None of that is hidden. It sits in ordinary contract language that brands publish and buyers skip. The rest of this guide reads that language brand by brand. If you want the clause anatomy on its own, the warranty terms guide covers it in more depth.
Published inverter warranty terms in India, brand by brand
Here is what the brands sold into India publish, as of their current documents. Read the conditions column before the duration column, because the conditions are what differ.
| Brand | Published standard term | Start date and caps | Notable published condition | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qbits | Not defined in public material | Not defined on the public datasheets | Datasheets describe an expandable warranty without defining the base term, remedy, registration deadline or exclusions, so the written terms must be obtained for the exact model | Qbits product pages, which carry this note publicly |
| Havells | 10 years standard on grid-tie | Not stated on datasheet | Printed on every Enviro GTi datasheet; dealers report it is not consumer extendable | Havells solar solutions, 2026 |
| UTL (Fujiyama) | 10 years on-site on the F Series on-grid line; 3 years on PCU home units | Not stated | Term varies by SKU and by seller, so confirm against the specific model | UTL solar inverter store, 2026 |
| Polycab | 7 years printed in the 2025 catalogue; 5 years on the 350 kW UT series | Not stated | The catalogue term and the web store’s 5/8-year filters do not match, which is a documentation question to resolve in writing | Polycab Solar Catalogue (2025) |
| Growatt | 5 years standard factory warranty, named in passing; the page defers to a product table, the sales order and the warranty card | From the installation-certificate date, and no more than six months after delivery from Growatt | The six-month installation window means aged stock arrives with less usable cover. Growatt publishes no year-cap measured from dispatch | Growatt warranty procedure, 2026 |
| GoodWe | 5 years, listed explicitly by series (DNS, XS, SDT, ES, ET) | Not stated per series | The promoted 10-year hybrid extension requires a GoodWe Lynx battery and a live SEMS monitoring upload | GOODWE Limited Warranty for Inverter System, global revision (2026) |
| Deye | 5 years | From date of purchase | Reconditioned parts permitted; a replacement unit inherits only the remaining term | Ningbo Deye hybrid inverter warranty document (2025) |
| Solis | 5 years on grid-tie and RHI or RAI hybrid; accessories 2 years | Not stated | Claims require the completed claim form, the invoice and the installation report | Solis product warranty terms, 2026 |
| Sungrow | Regional; see the APAC document for the term applying to India | Not stated | Cover drops to 2 years for sites 2 km to 5 km from the coastline, and is void inside 2 km without a C5 enclosure specification | Sungrow APAC warranty terms, 2026 |
| Luminous | 2 years base on many NXG models, some at 3 years | Not stated | Extended plans are sold separately rather than included | Luminous solar inverters, 2026 |
| Microtek | 2 years on the MPPT Solar PCU line | Not stated | Quoted for units such as the 2KVA/24V model; confirm per SKU | Microtek product documentation, 2026 |
Two patterns are worth naming. The Indian electrical majors and the domestic backup brands sit at the extremes, with Havells and UTL long and Microtek and Luminous short. The imported string specialists sit tightly at 5 years and compete on conditions instead. A fuller brand-level view, including service reach and product depth, sits in the 2026 brand comparison.
Note also how many cells read “not stated”. That is the honest state of public warranty documentation in this category, and it is the reason the verification step later in this guide exists.
The start date clause: install date, invoice, or factory dispatch
The start date is the single clause most likely to shorten your cover without anyone lying to you. Terms in this category start from one of four events: factory dispatch, invoice date, date of purchase, or installation and commissioning. Only the last one matches the period you actually own a working system, and it is not the most common.
Deye’s hybrid warranty runs from date of purchase. Growatt’s runs from installation, subject to a cap measured from factory dispatch. The gap between those two structures is where an Indian buyer loses time, because imported stock passes through shipping, customs clearance, a distributor warehouse and then a dealer shelf.
A delivery-linked clause works like a ceiling. You get the shorter of the two clocks. Growatt publishes a term running from the installation certificate and requires installation no more than six months after delivery, so the clause allows about 6 months of legitimate supply-chain time and stops counting beyond it.
Practical consequence: the manufacturing or dispatch date on the rating label is commercial information, not trivia. Ask for it before accepting a unit, and refuse stock that has aged past the allowance. If a dealer is discounting a specific serial batch, that is often why.
Worked example: when a 10-year term delivers less than a 7-year term
This is arithmetic on hypothetical dates, not field data from an installation. The dispatch-cap mechanism it models is a real published term; the dates are chosen to show how the clause behaves.
Formula for effective cover, measured from commissioning:
Brand A: minimum of (10 years, 5.5 years minus 0.92 years) = 4.58 years, ending around 1 September 2030.
Brand B: minimum of (7 years, no cap) = 7.00 years, ending 1 February 2033.
Brand B delivers about 2 years and 5 months more cover than Brand A, while advertising 3 fewer years. The headline was wrong by roughly 5.4 years in the other direction.
Two lessons follow. First, always convert a headline into a calendar end date using the clause that actually governs. Second, shelf time is the only variable here you can control at purchase, and you control it by asking for the dispatch date.
Coastal derogations and distance-from-sea clauses
If your site is near the sea, the geographic clause outranks the duration clause. Salt-laden air drives corrosion on enclosures, PCB tracks and terminal blocks faster than inland air, and manufacturers price that risk by restricting cover rather than by refusing sales.
Sungrow’s APAC warranty terms are the clearest published example. Cover falls to 2 years for installations between 2 km and 5 km from the coastline, and is void inside 2 km unless the enclosure is specified to C5 corrosivity (Sungrow, 2026). Those bands are contract terms, disclosed in advance.
For an Indian buyer that reshapes the shortlist across Gujarat, Maharashtra’s Konkan belt, coastal Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha. A 5-year term with no distance clause can beat a longer term that stops at your pin code.
The environmental engineering behind these clauses, including ingress protection grades and conformal coating, is covered in the coastal inverter specification guide.
Exclusions, freight, labour, and what a replacement unit inherits
An approved claim is not the same as a free claim. Most Indian inverter warranties cover the product and exclude the work around it. Removal, refitting, recommissioning, courier or transport charges, travel, and access equipment such as scaffolding usually sit with the owner or the installer.
Exclusions are the second cost centre. The recurring list across published documents covers unauthorised opening or repair, incorrect installation, missing or inadequate earthing, surge and lightning damage, water ingress through a badly fitted cable gland, rodent damage, and operation outside the printed grid or ambient temperature limits. Most of those are installation or environmental events rather than product defects, which is why manufacturers ask for installation photographs.
Claim evidence is a third gate. Solis requires the completed claim form, the invoice and the installation report (Solis, 2026). A site with no filed commissioning report stalls at that step regardless of how long the term is.
Then there is what you receive. The Ningbo Deye hybrid inverter warranty document (2025) permits reconditioned parts and states that a replacement unit carries only the remaining term of the original. Under that structure, a unit replaced in year 4 of a 5-year term leaves you with roughly 1 year of cover, not a fresh 5.
Transferability is the clause buyers discover last and need most. If you sell the property, the warranty travels only if the document says it does, and some require the new owner to be registered within a window. Ask for the transfer procedure in writing while you still hold the invoice.
Preventive upkeep sits outside all of this, which is what an annual maintenance contract is for, and residual risk such as fire, theft and storm damage belongs to solar insurance rather than to any warranty.
Conditional extensions, and whether an extended warranty is worth buying
That is not unique to one brand. The general pattern is that the long number depends on a registration inside a deadline, a specific companion product, or continuous data upload. Treat each as an ongoing obligation you have to maintain, not a box ticked at commissioning.
For paid extensions, price the decision rather than accepting it. Compare the extension fee against the like-for-like replacement cost of the unit plus a service visit, and against the cost of preventive maintenance over the same years. An extension is usually worth buying when four things hold:
- It extends the same remedy. An extension that downgrades full replacement to repair is a different product.
- It covers logistics and labour, or the exclusion is priced into your decision.
- The site is harsh, meaning coastal, high dust, or high ambient temperature, so failure probability is genuinely elevated.
- The replacement cost of the unit is large relative to the fee, which is the usual case in commercial three-phase sizes rather than small residential ones.
It is usually not worth buying when the extension must be claimed through a channel with no service presence near you, or when the registration window has already closed. On that last point, check the deadline on the day of commissioning, not later.
The PM Surya Ghar 5-year maintenance contract is not a manufacturer warranty
Readers conflate these two constantly, and the conflation costs people cover.
| PM Surya Ghar 5-year CMC | Manufacturer inverter warranty | |
|---|---|---|
| Who owes it | The registered vendor or installer | The inverter manufacturer |
| Scope | Maintenance of the installed system | Defects in the specific unit |
| Duration | 5 years from commissioning, per the MNRE operational guidelines | Varies by brand, 2 to 12 years on published terms |
| Typical remedy | Service visits and upkeep | Repair, parts, or unit replacement |
| Survives installer exit | Hard to enforce in practice | Yes, the obligation stays with the manufacturer |
| Escalation | Scheme grievance route, 30-day clock per the MNRE guidelines | The manufacturer’s service channel, then consumer law |
Two scheme facts are worth carrying. The MNRE operational guidelines run a 15-day clock after DISCOM approval and a 30-day clock governing grievances, and MNRE operates a grievance call centre on 15555 in 12 languages. Also correct a common myth while you are here: MNRE publishes no ALMM list for inverters. ALMM List-I covers modules and List-II covers cells, so an “inverter must be ALMM listed” claim in a sales pitch is not a scheme requirement.
Choosing an installer partly on their ability to honour a 5-year CMC is reasonable. The empanelled vendor guide covers how that registration works. Where product and installation responsibility split is set out in the installation versus product warranty comparison.
How to verify a warranty document before you pay
A warranty you have not read is a warranty you cannot rely on. The brochure, the specification sheet and the website banner are marketing artefacts. The warranty document is the contract, and it is the only thing a claim is assessed against. Run this sequence before the payment, not after the fault.
If a clause is absent from the document, record it as unknown rather than assuming the favourable reading. Do not convert a verbal assurance from a dealer into a scored benefit in your comparison. A short document with clear terms beats a long headline with undefined logistics.
What Qbits publishes, held to the same test
Qbits publishes this page, so its own warranty position gets the same scrutiny applied to everyone else above. Here is the position, stated precisely.
Qbits publishes an expandable warranty whose base term, remedy, registration deadline and exclusions are not defined in its public datasheets, a note that appears on every Qbits product page. That is a documentary gap rather than a short term, but for a buyer comparing offers the practical effect is the same: there is nothing here to weigh against a Havells or UTL document until you obtain the written terms for your exact model. No current written service level sets a dispatch time either, so ask what happens once a claim is approved and get the answer in writing.
The product pages direct buyers to request the current written terms for the exact model. That is a gap in the public documentation, and it means a Qbits buyer needs to do exactly what this guide asks of a Sungrow or Growatt buyer: obtain the current written warranty for the exact quoted model before purchase.
Qbits sells through a dealer channel and a published service-partner locator. On certification, MNRE publishes ALMM lists for modules and cells and no list for inverters, so ask the seller for the exact model’s BIS registration and current certificates, and for PM Surya Ghar confirm the requirements with your DISCOM.
On hardware, the TLS, TLD, TLC and QBH series all list IP66 protection in the product data, and efficiency varies by model, so quote the figure for the SKU you are considering rather than the range topper. The range itself spans single-phase on-grid from 1.5 kW, three-phase to 320 kW, and hybrid inverter models from 3 kW to 12 kW. Specifications by series are listed on the products pages, and the service network is searchable through the authorised service partner directory.
The fair reading is this. A brand that cannot show you a dated, model specific warranty document has not yet made an offer you can compare, and that applies to the publisher of this page as much as to anyone else. Ask for the document first, then rank.
If a claim is refused, escalate on paper
A refusal is not the end of the process, but a verbal refusal cannot be escalated. The first move is always to convert it into writing.
- Request the refusal in writing, naming the specific clause relied on and the diagnosis it rests on.
- Check the clause against your document, the version that applied at the date of sale rather than the current website text.
- Escalate inside the service structure, through the distributor named on your invoice and then an authorised service partner, keeping every ticket number and date.
- Use the scheme grievance route if the system carried a government subsidy, noting the 30-day grievance clock in the MNRE operational guidelines and the 15555 call centre.
- Consider consumer law if that fails. The Consumer Protection Act, 2019 allows a complaint for a defect in goods or a deficiency in service, filed within 2 years of the cause of action, through the e-Daakhil portal.
Most refusals turn on evidence rather than on bad faith: a missing commissioning report, an unreadable serial number, an unregistered unit, or an exclusion that genuinely applies. The full evidence sequence, from first fault to dispatched replacement, is in the warranty claim checklist.
The Bottom Line
The longest warranty in India, on published duration, is 10 years from Havells and from UTL on its F Series line. Qbits is left out of that ranking because its base term is not published. That ranking is a starting point and not an answer. Growatt’s six-month installation window, Sungrow’s coastal bands, Deye’s remaining-term replacement rule and GoodWe’s conditional hybrid extension all change what a year of cover is worth, and every one of them is a disclosed contract term rather than a trick.
Rank the documents, not the numbers. Then keep the paperwork that makes a claim assessable.
- Convert every headline into a calendar end date using the start-date clause and the dispatch date on the rating label, before you sign anything.
- Read the freight, labour, exclusion and transferability clauses, and price what an approved claim would still cost you at your site.
- Ask Qbits or an authorised partner for the current written warranty for the exact model you are quoting, and raise your site conditions at the same time through the contact form.
Qbits inverters for this guide
Specs below come from each model's datasheet. Confirm the exact model and current written terms with Qbits before you buy.
QB 1.5/2.0/2.7/3.0/3.3/3.6/4.0KTLS
- Power
- 1.5–4 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 4.2/4.6/5/5.4/6KTLS
- Power
- 4.2–6 kW
- Phase
- Single-phase
- MPPT
- Single-MPPT
QB 5/6/8/10/12/15/17KTLC
- Power
- 5–17 kW
- Phase
- Three-phase
- MPPT
- Dual-MPPT
Frequently Asked Questions
Which solar inverter has the longest warranty in India?
Why is the longest warranty not automatically the best warranty?
What is a factory dispatch cap on an inverter warranty?
Do solar inverter warranties cover coastal installations in India?
Does a replacement inverter come with a fresh warranty period?
Is the PM Surya Ghar 5-year maintenance contract the same as a warranty?
Are extended solar inverter warranties worth buying?
What should I ask for before buying on the strength of a warranty?
Qbits Editorial
The Qbits Energy editorial team writes about solar inverters, battery storage, and the hardware powering India's energy transition.