Waaree versus Adani is not a brand-name decision. It is an exact-module and document decision. A homeowner should prefer the quote that identifies the delivered model, provides its current datasheet and warranty terms, fits the available roof and inverter, and supplies the records required for the intended scheme or approval route.
There is no defensible universal winner from the public information available on 26 September and 14 October 2026. Waaree’s official store gives a clear retail identity and headline warranty labels for one 550 W module. Adani’s official download library provides more detailed electrical data and a separate warranty document for its compared 550 W module. The products are not construction-equivalent, so those differences do not prove that one brand will generate more energy, fail less often, or receive better service.
Panel prices and the ALMM check below were refreshed on 14 October 2026. Qbits publishes this comparison and sells solar inverters. It does not sell solar panels. No module was laboratory-tested or field-tested for this article.
Our comparison method comes before the verdict
We apply the same seven questions to both quotes:
- What is the full model code, not just the brand and wattage?
- Are the cell technology, module format, and glass or backsheet construction comparable?
- Does the exact-model datasheet state the dimensions, efficiency, voltage, and current?
- Does a governing warranty document explain remedies, exclusions, evidence, and claim timing?
- Can the installer show that the exact delivered model meets the rules for the intended subsidy or approval route?
- Does the module fit the roof layout and the selected inverter’s voltage and current limits?
- Who is responsible for design, installation workmanship, commissioning, and after-sales coordination?
Unknown fields stay unknown. A series name, marketplace listing, old brochure, or dealer message does not fill a gap in an exact-model document.
What the current official sources actually establish
The closest defensible public comparison we found uses two 550 W M10 PERC products. It is still not a like-for-like performance test because the constructions differ.
| Comparison field | Waaree official store listing | Adani official datasheet |
|---|---|---|
| Product identity | WSMD-550, pack of one | ASB-M10-144-550 |
| Rated front-side power | 550 Wp | 550 Wp |
| Cell description | M10 mono PERC, 144 cells, 10BB | M10 P-type PERC, 144 half-cut cells, multi-busbar |
| Construction | Glass to white backsheet | Bifacial dual glass |
| Published module efficiency | Not stated on the reviewed store page | 21.31% |
| Published dimensions | 2,272 x 1,133 mm on the store listing | 2,278 x 1,133 mm |
| Published weight | 27.5 kg on the store listing | 31.3 kg |
| Published electrical data | Not stated on the reviewed store page | Vmp 42.09 V, Imp 13.07 A, Voc 49.67 V, Isc 13.85 A |
| Product-warranty label | 12 years | 12 years |
| Power or performance-warranty label | 27 years | 30 years, subject to the warranty document |
Sources: Waaree’s current 550 W product page and Adani’s current ELAN SHINE PERC M10 datasheet. Adani’s file name says shine-topcon, but the PDF itself identifies the product as P-type PERC. That naming mismatch is another reason to open the document instead of trusting a URL label.
This table is useful for document quality, not a brand score. Waaree now lists size and weight for WSMD-550, but those retail fields are not a substitute for its exact engineering datasheet. Adani publishes electrical fields needed for an initial compatibility check; the reviewed Waaree page does not, so the buyer needs the exact WSMD-550 datasheet before design approval.
Price per watt: what dated listings show on 14 October 2026
Price is where this comparison most often goes wrong, because a headline per-watt number can hide four things: whether the module is DCR, whether GST is in the price, which wattage is quoted, and which channel is selling. The table keeps those columns visible. All figures below were read on the dates shown, and every one of them will move.
| Source and date | Module | Listed price | Per watt | Tax and DCR note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waaree store, 14 Oct 2026 | WSMD-550, 550 Wp mono PERC | ₹10,299 | ₹18.73 | ”Inclusive of all taxes”. No DCR label on the page. |
| Waaree store, 14 Oct 2026 | WSMD-540-DCR, 540 Wp mono PERC | ₹15,199 | ₹28.15 | ”Inclusive of all taxes”. Listed as DCR. |
| Bajaj Finserv price page, Oct 2026 | Adani Mono PERC 540 W | about ₹13,800 | ₹25.56 | Retail listing. DCR and tax treatment not stated. |
| Same page, Oct 2026 | Adani bifacial Mono PERC 550 W | about ₹14,500 | ₹26.36 | Retail listing. DCR and tax treatment not stated. |
| Same page, quoting Adani Solar’s list | Adani PERC 540 to 560 Wp, non-DCR | not given | ₹13.00 to ₹13.50 | Excluding GST. About ₹13.65 to ₹14.18 with 5% GST added. |
| Same page, quoting Adani Solar’s list | Adani PERC 540 to 560 Wp, DCR | not given | ₹23.35 to ₹23.86 | Excluding GST. About ₹24.52 to ₹25.05 with 5% GST added. |
| IndiaMART seller listings, page updated 13 Oct 2026 | Adani 545 to 550 W, DCR | not given | ₹25.50 | Seller ask. GST and delivery not stated. |
| IndiaMART seller listings, page updated 13 Oct 2026 | Waaree 540 W mono PERC, DCR compliant | not given | ₹25.20 | Seller ask. GST and delivery not stated. |
The with-GST figures for Adani’s list are our arithmetic: the listed per-watt figure times 1.05, using the 5% rate in force since 22 September 2025. Our GST on solar guide has the notification entry. We could not open an Adani-published price list, so the Adani list figures are as Bajaj Finserv states them, and marketplace asks carry no date of their own beyond the page’s update stamp.
Three honest readings follow. First, the DCR premium is much larger than any brand-to-brand difference. On Waaree’s own store the DCR module costs ₹9.42 per watt more than the 550 W module that carries no DCR label. On the Adani list figures the DCR premium is about ₹10.35 per watt before GST. Second, the Waaree store prices and the Adani list prices come from different channels, different wattages and different tax treatment. They cannot be ranked against each other. Third, the dated listings do not support a standing rule that either brand is cheaper. The module price you pay depends on DCR status, quantity, freight, and the installer’s margin.
For scale, ten Waaree WSMD-550 modules (5.5 kWp) at the store listing come to ₹1,02,990, and ten WSMD-540-DCR modules (5.4 kWp) come to ₹1,51,990, both before freight and every non-module item. If you are claiming PM Surya Ghar assistance, the DCR requirement decides which row applies to you. Our solar panel price guide lays out per-watt ranges by technology and wattage, and the 3 kW system price guide puts modules back inside a full installed cost.
Why the old 715 W versus 650 W shortcut is unsafe
High-power module families exist, and Waaree’s official sitemap lists an ELITE BiN-03 680-715 W datasheet route. When we checked, that link redirected to Waaree’s homepage instead of opening the document. We could not confirm the model’s dimensions, electrical values, revision, or warranty scope from that route.
Adani’s official download centre currently exposes several datasheets and certificates, but a download library is not evidence that its largest listed module is the right comparison for a residential quote.
That leaves two bad options: repeat attractive numbers without accessible source support, or preserve the uncertainty. We preserve it. A seller offering a high-power Waaree or Adani module should provide the exact current PDF tied to the model code on the invoice and module label.
Even when two power ratings are verified, headline watts cannot settle the purchase. A physically larger module can carry a higher wattage while using roof area no more efficiently. Its voltage and current can also change the permissible string layout. Compare watts, dimensions, efficiency, Voc, Isc, temperature coefficients, and inverter limits together.
The Waaree case: clear retail identity, incomplete design data
Waaree’s reviewed store page does several things well. It gives the WSMD-550 SKU, 550 Wp rating, M10 mono PERC technology, 144-cell format, 10BB description, glass-to-white-backsheet construction, and headline warranty labels on one current first-party page.
That is enough to distinguish the product from a generic “Waaree 550 W” offer. The store also lists 227.20 cm height, 113.30 cm width, and 27.50 kg weight. Those listing values help with an initial roof-space check, but they are not enough to approve a system design. The reviewed page does not give module efficiency, Voc, Vmp, Isc, Imp, temperature coefficients, maximum system voltage, or maximum series-fuse rating.
If this module is in your quote, ask the seller for the manufacturer datasheet whose model code matches WSMD-550, plus the governing warranty terms. Do not substitute a datasheet for another Waaree 550 W family merely because the wattage matches.
Waaree deserves credit for making the retail product identity and warranty labels easy to find. The unresolved question is whether the seller can connect that listing to the complete, current engineering and warranty documents for the units delivered to your roof.
The Adani case: deeper specifications, still not a complete purchase file
Adani’s reviewed datasheet provides more design detail for the ASB-M10-144-550. It states 550 Wp front-side power, 21.31% module efficiency, 2,278 x 1,133 mm dimensions, 31.3 kg weight, and the four main STC electrical values. It also identifies a bifacial dual-glass construction.
Those fields make an initial roof-layout and inverter check possible. They do not prove actual generation on your site. Bifacial rear-side contribution depends on installation geometry and the reflectance beneath the module; the datasheet itself says rear-side gain depends on albedo and bifaciality.
Adani also publishes a separate module warranty card. It describes 12 years of product coverage for the listed M10-144 families and separate 25-year or 30-year performance paths by construction and cell technology. It also lists exclusions and claim evidence. That is more informative than a duration badge, but the buyer still needs to confirm that the document version and covered model match the supplied modules.
Adani deserves credit for a well-organised download library and a more detailed exact-product sheet. The unresolved questions are exact-document applicability, current certification or scheme status, delivered-model identity, and the local seller or installer’s responsibilities.
Warranty years are the start of the comparison
A 30-year power label is not automatically better than a 27-year label. The two may protect different things and offer different remedies.
Separate these questions:
Both brands publish a governing document, and we read both on 14 October 2026. Waaree’s Limited Warranty Statement (document WEL/E&PD/WS/PERC/05/19.01.2024) lists the WSMD-XXX half-cut M10 series. Adani’s module warranty card covers the ASM-M10 and ASB-M10 families. Here are the terms as printed, for the two constructions in this comparison.
| Term | Waaree WSMD (glass to white backsheet) | Adani ASB-M10 (bifacial Mono PERC) |
|---|---|---|
| Product warranty | 12 years | 12 years |
| Power warranty term | 27 years | 30 years |
| Year-one output floor | 98% of peak power at STC | 98.00% of nominal power at STC |
| Decline after year one | At most 0.55% a year | At most 0.45% a year |
| Output floor at end of term | 83.70% at year 27 | 84.95% at year 30 |
| Remedy for a product defect | Repair, replace, refund after 5% a year depreciation, or supplementary modules, at Waaree’s discretion | Repair or replace, or refund the depreciated price, at the maker’s sole discretion |
| Warranty start date | Earlier of the purchase date or 180 days after dispatch from the factory | Tax invoice date of purchase from the maker |
| Labour, removal and shipping | Excluded: on-site labour, installation, removal, reinstallation and shipping costs are not covered | For a replacement, the maker bears reasonable insurance and transport charges as set out in its document |
| Bifacial rear side | Power warranty covers front-side output only | Power warranty covers front-side output only |
Two cautions on reading the table. The two modules are not construction-equivalent, so a longer term is not a like-for-like win, and each document carries its own exclusions and claim steps. Adani’s card also asks that transit damage be logged within 48 hours of delivery and that serial numbers stay intact. Read the full document that matches the series on your invoice. We did not locate a separate Waaree warranty document for a module code outside the series listed in its statement.
The installation workmanship promise is separate from the module manufacturer’s promise. Put both responsibilities in the contract. Our product versus installation warranty guide explains why the distinction matters.
DCR, ALMM, and PM Surya Ghar: verify the exact model
A brand name does not prove eligibility for a subsidy or procurement rule. Neither does a statement that a panel is “made in India”.
MNRE maintains the Approved List of Models and Manufacturers and publishes scheme guidance separately. Lists, scheme conditions, manufacturer names, facilities, and eligible models can change. Use the version current at procurement and commissioning, and match the exact model identity rather than a similar series name.
We checked the latest module list on MNRE’s ALMM page on 14 October 2026. It is the List-I update dated 16 September 2026. Both comparison models appear in it by exact name. WSMD-550 is listed under Waaree Energies Limited, with a listed efficiency of 21.36%. ASB-M10-144-550 is listed under Mundra Solar Energy Limited, an Adani Solar manufacturing entity named in its warranty card, with a listed efficiency of 21.42%. Adani’s datasheet states 21.31% for the 550 W module, so a listing value and a datasheet value are not the same document and should not be swapped. MNRE’s page also carries List-II for cells, whose 12th revision is dated 8 October 2026, and the timing notices for List-II change often, so read the current one.
For a PM Surya Ghar purchase, ask the registered vendor to show:
Keep copies before installation. The practical vendor-verification sequence is covered in our PM Surya Ghar vendor guide.
Roof fit and inverter fit are separate checks
The module choice affects usable roof area, mounting layout, string voltage, and input current. The inverter choice determines the permitted DC voltage window, maximum input current, MPPT arrangement, AC output, phase, and monitoring path.
For each shortlisted module, the designer should calculate cold-weather open-circuit voltage and operating voltage using the exact datasheet coefficients and the site’s design temperatures. The resulting string must remain within the exact inverter’s published limits. Current must also remain within the input and short-circuit-current limits stated for that model.
Do not copy a string length from another 550 W panel. Two modules with the same nameplate wattage can have different voltage, current, and temperature behaviour. Our solar inverter sizing guide explains the inputs, but the final design remains model-specific.
After choosing a panel on its own evidence, you can compare Qbits inverter families as a separate shortlist. That page is not proof that a Qbits inverter is compatible with either module; the exact panel and inverter datasheets still have to be checked together.
The inverter and ecosystem question
Waaree’s online store lists on-grid and hybrid inverters and solar kits next to its modules. Adani Solar’s product pages list module lines only. With Adani modules, the inverter is bought from another maker. With Waaree modules, you can buy a one-brand kit or mix brands. Neither route removes the compatibility calculation.
A single-brand kit is a convenience for buying and for service coordination. It is not evidence that the electrical match is better. Even inside one brand, the string length must still be checked against the exact inverter datasheet and the site’s coldest morning.
Use the string sizing calculator for the real design, check the model on the datasheet library, and see the on-grid inverter range for the families Qbits publishes. Qbits does not sell panels, and this is an inverter-side check, not a recommendation of either panel brand.
A quote-comparison sheet you can actually use
Ask both sellers to complete the same rows. Blank cells are not automatic disqualifiers, but they are unresolved purchasing risks.
| Required quote field | Waaree quote | Adani quote |
|---|---|---|
| Full module model code | ||
| Datasheet title, revision, and date | ||
| Cell technology and module construction | ||
| Dimensions and weight | ||
| Module efficiency | ||
| Voc, Vmp, Isc, and Imp | ||
| Temperature coefficients | ||
| Maximum system voltage and series-fuse rating | ||
| Governing product-warranty document | ||
| Governing performance-warranty document | ||
| Applicable scheme or approval evidence | ||
| Delivered serial-number record | ||
| Installer workmanship terms | ||
| Inverter compatibility calculation | ||
| Price including GST, structure, protection, installation, and commissioning |
Compare the completed document sets, not sales adjectives. A lower quote may exclude structure, protection, approvals, or after-sales work. A higher quote may still be weak if its model and warranty references are vague. For price boundaries, use our solar panel price guide without treating its market examples as a live quote.
Conditional verdicts
Continue with the Waaree quote when the seller provides the exact datasheet and governing warranty for the delivered model, the missing electrical fields fit the inverter design, and the required scheme records match the model. The official retail identity is clear; the missing engineering document is the key gap to close before payment.
Continue with the Adani quote when the ASB-M10-144 construction suits the roof and mounting design, its electrical values fit the inverter, and the seller binds the current datasheet and warranty document to the delivered units. Adani’s published file set is deeper, but a deeper file is no guarantee of better field performance or local service.
Continue with neither quote yet when it says only “550 W Waaree” or “550 W Adani”, mixes specifications from different series, promises subsidy eligibility without exact-model evidence, or cannot assign responsibility for warranty and installation work.
The bottom line
There is no responsible one-word answer to Waaree versus Adani solar panels. The reviewed Waaree page is stronger on clear retail identity. The reviewed Adani set is stronger on publicly accessible technical and warranty detail. Their 550 W products use different constructions, and neither source proves generation, reliability, service quality, or scheme eligibility for a specific purchase.
Put the exact model code, datasheet revision, warranty document, official eligibility evidence, serial-number trail, roof layout, and inverter calculation beside each quote. The better choice is the supplier who closes those gaps in writing for the equipment that will actually be installed.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is better, Waaree or Adani solar panels?
Can I compare two panels using wattage alone?
Do Waaree and Adani offer the same type of 550 W panel?
Does a brand name prove PM Surya Ghar eligibility?
Which warranty is longer, Waaree or Adani?
Does Qbits sell Waaree or Adani solar panels?
What is the price difference between Waaree and Adani solar panels in 2026?
Do Waaree and Adani sell their own inverters?
Nirav Dhanani CEO, Qbits Energy
Co-founder & CEO driving Qbits Energy's product strategy and growth across India.